Nothing

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
682   0
Write Review
Nothing
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 05, 2017
ISBN
978-0062668233
Buy This Book
      

From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the author of the award-winning and bestselling Ivy + Bean books, this teen debut tells the story of Charlotte and Frankie, two high school students and best friends who don’t have magical powers, fight aliens, crash their cars, get pierced, or discover they are royal. They just go to school. And live at home. With their parents. A great read for fans of Becky Albertalli, Louise Rennison, and Adi Alsaid. Nothing ever happens to Charlotte and Frankie. Their lives are nothing like the lives of the girls they read about in their YA novels. They don’t have flowing red hair, and hot romantic encounters never happen—let alone meeting a true soul mate. They just go to high school and live at home with their parents, who are pretty normal, all things considered. But when Charlotte decides to write down everything that happens during their sophomore year—to prove that nothing happens and there is no plot or character development in real life—she’s surprised to find that being fifteen isn’t as boring as she thought. It’s weird, heartbreaking, silly, and complicated. And maybe, just perfect.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Figuring Out What Nothing Really Means

'Nothing' by Annie Barrows has an intriguing premise. The two girls in the story - Charlotte and Frankie - feel that nothing in their lives ever happens in the way that it does in young adult novels. To prove this, Charlotte begins writing their story. She calls it 'Nothing' and writes about their daily lives.

Despite all evidence to the contrary, life begins to change for them in ways that they didn't foresee. These changes are not necessarily the most obvious at times, but they show that anything can change in a moment and that the unexpected truly can make life worthwhile.

Even though the story was meant to show the normal, everyday lives of two average teenage girls, the story still had moments in which it could have been fleshed out further. For example, some of Charlotte and Frankie's friends were mentioned here and there, but no emotional connection ever seemed to stem from those mentions. It was realistic that they have other friends, but those friendships should have amounted to more, along with explanations as to the two guys they were semi-interested in at the beginning of the book. Showing how they dealt with those guys as they made plans to move forward with more "real" relationships would have strengthened the story all the more.

From unanticipated kisses to meeting penpals and helping friends and family find and hold on to love, the 'Nothing' girls have more going on than they would like, based on their thought that nothing ever happens. Yet it shows how writing down your everyday experiences, whether in book, journal, or some other form can encourage even those people most bored with life to come out of their shell and discover truths that they never saw coming.

Good Points
'Nothing' shows how writing down your everyday experiences, whether in book, journal, or some other form can encourage even those people most bored with life to come out of their shell and discover truths that they never saw coming.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Three Little Superpigs
After defeating the Big Bad Wolf, the Three Little Superpigs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twice Dead
Naya, the daughter of a sea merchant captain, nervously undertakes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I, Sofia-Elisabete, Love Child of Colonel Fitzwilliam: A Perfect World in the Moon
In 1815, a 5-year-old girl searches for Utopia in a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Agony House
Denise Farber has just moved back to New Orleans with...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Island of Monsters (Spirit Hunters #2)
The perfect spooky read for Halloween, this pulse-pounding adventure will...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four Three Two One
Golden “Go” Jennings wasn’t supposed to be on Bus 21...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Lines We Cross
Michael likes to hang out with his friends and play...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Max Tilt: 80 Days or Die
When thirteen-year-old Max Tilt stumbled across his great-great-great-grandfather Jules Verne’s...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Grand Escape: The Greatest Prison Breakout of the 20th Century
At the height of World War I, as battles raged...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Missing Pieces (Hello Neighbor #1)
Nicky Roth has always been a lonely kid. But that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Collectors
The Collectors sweeps readers into a hidden world where wishes...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Father's Words
Declan O’Brien always had a gentle word to share, odd...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sea Prayer
A short, powerful, illustrated book written by beloved novelist Khaled...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Deepest Roots
Contemporary with the slightest twist of magic, this stunning...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Faded
Biz didn’t think life could get worse after the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here to Stay
For most of high school, Bijan Majidi has flown...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Three Little Superpigs
 
4.0
"What happens after the Three Little Pigs put the Wolf in jail? Well, he plots his revenge of course! THE..."
The Island of Monsters (Spirit Hunters #2)
 
5.0
"Harper moved to Washington, D.C. with her family and found out about her paranormal abilities in Spirit Hunters. She has..."
Missing Pieces (Hello Neighbor #1)
 
4.0
"Nicky's family moves around a lot, and he gets tired of having to adjust to new towns, new schools, and..."
The Collectors
 
4.0
"Giovanni lives in New York City with his mother, who is an opera singer. His father was a set designer,..."
Max Tilt: 80 Days or Die
 
4.0
"After finding an enormous treasure with his cousin Alex, Max's family has built a big new house and is enjoying..."
Sea Prayer
 
5.0
"This fictional picture book, inspired by the tragic death of three-year-old Alan Kurdi's tragic death on a Turkish beach, follows..."
My Father's Words
 
4.0
"When Fiona and Finn's father, a psychologist, is killed in a car accident, the children and their mother (who is..."
The Steeplechase Secret (Free Rein)
 
4.0
"Zoe and her family have moved to Bright Field Stables from California. Her mother is from the small island in..."
Fuzzy Freaks Out (Class Pets #3)
 
4.0
"Fuzzy and the other pets in Miss Wills' class 5-B are getting ready for Halloween. Fuzzy in particular is trying..."
Grow Up, David
 
4.0
"GROW UP, DAVID is all about having a sibling. David's brother is the typical older brother who doesn't want David..."
Everlasting Nora
 
5.0
"Nora and her mother have been living in her father's family mausoleum after they lost their home, and her father,..."
Hurricane Katrina Rescue (Ranger in Time #8)
 
4.0
"Ranger, a failed rescue dog (squirrels are so distracting!), has a first aid kit that sends him through time to..."
Out of Left Field
 
5.0
"Ten-year-old Katy is a fantastic pitcher, so great that a local Little League coach encourages her to sign up for..."
Otherwise Known as Possum
 
4.0
"LizBetty Porter doesn't want to be called by her name-- she wants to be called Possum, which is what her..."
Air Raid Search and Rescue (Soldier Dogs #1)
 
4.5
" Marcus and his family have moved to the United Kingdom for his father's job, and are unfortunately..."
Otherwood
 
5.0
"Stuey, his mother, and his grandfather live in a large, old house that has been in the family for generations..."
Zach King: The Magical Mix-Up (Zach King #2)
 
4.0
" Now that Zach has lost his magical powers (he could travel from place to place through magical ball caps),..."
The Secret of the Crystal Fairies (Thea Stilton Special Edition #7): A Geronimo Stilton Adventure
 
4.0
"Even though Thea is off on an international scientific expedition to the Arctic, her five friends in the Seven Roses..."
Dog Man: Lord of the Fleas: From the Creator of Captain Underpants (Dog Man #5)
 
5.0
"Dog Man and Li'l Petey are back, making hydraulic roof ramps for their dog house with robot 80-HD and having..."
The Magician's Hat
 
5.0
"'The Magician's Hat' by Malcolm Mitchell, illustrated by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff, is destined to be one of your favorite children's books...."