11 Before 12

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
1261   0
Write Review
11 Before 12
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 01, 2017
ISBN
978-0062411747
Buy This Book
      
Fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass will love acclaimed author Lisa Greenwald’s new duology about two best friends who kick-start middle school with a bucket list of eleven things they need to do to become AMAZING before their joint twelfth birthday party.

The first day of middle school means trading in freeze tag at the pool for new schedules, fabulous outfits, and a fresh start. But for eleven-year-old Kaylan, the chaos of new locker combinations, cafeteria cliques, and potential first kisses is more than she can handle. She dreads the start of sixth grade and feels like she wants—no, needs—a winning game plan.

Luckily, Kaylan and her effortlessly chill BFF, Arianna, have a fool-proof plan for tackling transitions: a list of eleven things they need to do to totally transform themselves before they both turn twelve in November. But between making guy friends, getting detention (and makeovers!), helping humanity, and having super-candid conversations with their moms about their flaws, the first 100 days of school turn out worse than Kaylan ever imagined. Kaylan and Ari forget to focus on their friendship and soon their loyalty to the list—what was meant to help them keep it together—becomes the very thing tearing their lives apart.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Middle School Dilemmas

'11 Before 12' by Lisa Greenwald will put you right back in that time of your life when everything mattered too much and nothing at all mattered more than your best friend. Kaylan and Arianna find this to be true as they gear up for sixth grade. They are chock full of excitement as they decide to make a list of all of the tasks they want to complete before turning twelve in November. Having their birthdays one day apart has convinced them of the need to plan a joint twelfth birthday party to celebrate their friendship and the new age that will bring them what they consider so much more of out of life.

Instead they find that the list starts to tear them apart. While Kaylan wants to stay true to the list and everything they've planned for it, including doing it together, Arianna is more open to bringing other people in and allowing them to be part of what Kaylan considers a super-special best-friends-only listing of tasks for the girls to share. While they do a few items together, they also find that they are finishing some separately. It was nice to understand Kaylan's point of view throughout the whole story since it is really quite a spot-on indicator of how any girl in her position would feel, worried about losing her best friend, but hopeful that things will eventually work out. However, hearing Arianna's point of view a bit more throughout would have been helpful. As the novel progresses, we learn more about how she feels about it all, but a dual look at their lives may have enhanced the storytelling a bit. Yet, this was not really an issue.

From Kaylan's worry over which boy to kiss and how to make a guy friend to Arianna's new girlfriends, lunch table gossip abounds, and the two are left sitting on the sidelines of each other's lives, waiting to be filled in with the nitty gritty details. Any reader will feel smack dab back in the action of middle school, as Lisa Greenwald creates the questions of how Kaylan and Arianna will move forward, how their troubles will affect their futures, and how family can matter more than a sixth grader believes, especially when on the outs with your best friend forever. A definite must read for any young adult and middle grade novel lovers!

Good Points
Any reader will feel smack dab back in the action of middle school, as Lisa Greenwald creates the questions of how Kaylan and Arianna will move forward, how their troubles will affect their futures, and how family can matter more than a sixth grader believes, especially when on the outs with your best friend forever. A definite must read for any young adult and middle grade novel lovers!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

From Twinkle, Wtih Love
Aspiring filmmaker and wallflower Twinkle Mehra has stories she wants...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freshmen
A laugh-out-loud, realistic portrayal of a freshman year in college...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
In 1945, at the end of World War II, Adolf...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You May Now Kill the Bride
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible resentment...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die (Ruby Redfort #6)
Ruby Redfort: you can count on her when the ice...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Wish I Was a Gorilla
What if you wished you were a gorilla and then...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The New Kid
Middle school can be tough! Especially when Alex's best friend...
 
3.0
 
5.0 (1)
Margot and Mateo Save the World
When Margot Blumenthal removes a bright blue slug alien attached...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Acceptance The Jewel Trilogy Book one
When destiny and desire collide... In a community full...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Escape The Future
"AS POWERFUL AS CORMAC MCCARTHY... A TIMELY, TROUBLING, AND MEMORABLE...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Challenge Accepted
Emma Dawson and Logan Reynolds have been neighbors and...
 
4.2 (3)
 
0.0 (0)
The Planetsider
A story of self-discovery, belonging and hope. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Sea Takes Me
Two years later might as well be two lifetimes....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From You to Me
Amelia Peabody lives in a small town where nothing changes....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"According to legend, when the world was young, two gods...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Why Can't I Be You
Claire Ladd knows that this summer is going to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

White Knights
 
4.3
"Angel is a genius at school and also a talented hacker. She mostly uses her gift of coding to search..."
A Thousand Salt Kisses
 
2.0
""A Thousand Salt Kisses" is the story of a young woman named Crystal who meets (later discovered to be) a..."
A Mortal Song
 
3.0
"Sora has been raised by the kami in Mt. Fuji and enjoys her life with her parents and her best..."
Below Northern Lights
 
3.5
" Lucas Santiago is injured war veteran and as a result of his injuries, has ended up in..."
22 Scars
 
4.8
"Amy leads a tortured life. She has a monster for a father and a distant mother. Amy self-harms and has..."
Karina
 
5.0
"Karina is that rare book that both instructs and delights. In this captivating young adult novel, the reader sees the..."
Karina
 
5.0
" I want to re-read it already!"
Famous by Default
 
4.0
"Sivan has spent years bouncing around the foster care system, experiencing one traumatic emotional trial after another until she can..."
The Wing Collector
 
4.8
"Feedback The Wing Collector by Kristin Helving was a very enjoyable read! This was a very interesting approach to..."
Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2)
 
4.3
"Feedback Emerge: The Judgement was a great second entry to this series. I had some issues with the first..."
We Thought We Were Invincible
 
5.0
"The story: California “Callie” McCoy is a typical teenager in many ways: unsure of her future, struggles to fit..."
 
4.3
"Please feel free to leave a comment or question, I'll get right back to you with a response. thank you...."
The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."
Challenge Accepted
 
3.8
"CHALLENGE ACCEPTED alternates POV between the nerdy Emma and the popular Logan. After messing up Emma's chances at a summer..."
Soul Catchers
 
5.0
"When her mom is attacked by a wolf, Wren has no choice but to use her magic to try to..."