The Hearts We Sold

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
104   0
Write Review
The Hearts We Sold
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 08, 2017
ISBN
978-0316314596
Buy This Book
      
A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a devil--her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life--she finds her trade may be more than she bargained for. And becoming "heartless" is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she ever could have imagined.

With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something like love grows between them amidst an otherworldly ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: can she give James her heart when it's no longer hers to give?

The Hearts We Sold is a Faustian tale for the modern age that will steal your heart and break it, and leave you begging for more.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: June 19, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Hearts We Sold

Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon only to 'lose' her heart. That's part of the demon's deal. He grants her the wish she wants and she hands over her heart. In exchange she has to help him stop creatures from escaping from voids that pop up in Seattle. Along the way she meets James and falls for him. Problem is can she feel anything for him if she's 'heartless'?

What worked: This is an intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin. Near perfect demons make deals with humans in exchange for body parts. The demons aren't all they seem to be. This is where the plot is unique and very engaging. Instead of the usual 'grotesque' body snatchers plot, there's paranormal horror meets Sci-fi.

Dee's plight with her family is sure to resonate with readers. I know it did with me. She's a survivor and does what she can to escape from her alcoholic parents. The reason behind her deal with a demon, to me, made sense. She wanted to stay in her exclusive boarding school in order to better herself and not be stuck with her abusive father. The ramifications of this deal though come at a terrible price. One she didn't bargain on.

I really liked the Sci-fi angle of this story. It's not at all one of those heaven and hell stories. There's more than a few 'ah, huh' moments throughout this story. Also I loved the final climax and resolution. **No spoilers but let's just say I was very satisfied with the conclusion.

Engaging paranormal horror tale where a girl makes a deal with a demon at a terrible cost. Insights into surviving and friendships. This is an unique twist on the whole fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin with a satisfying conclusion.

Good Points
1. Intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin
2. Paranormal horror
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

  

   

   

   

   

   

 

   

   

  

  

   

   

   

   

   

    

    

  

Latest Book Listings Added

On The Spectrum
Growing up in the shadow of a famous mother, Clara...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex & Eliza: A Love Story
Their romance shaped a nation. The rest was history....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fashion Committee
Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Unforgettables
The summer vacation of The Unforgettables... Neighbors and best...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Deacon Locke Went to Prom
The love life of an awkward teen takes an...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
True North (True Born Trilogy)
Abandoned by her family in Plague-ridden Dominion City, eighteen-year-old...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Sandcastle Empire
When all hope is gone, how do you survive?...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
US In Progress: Short Stories About Young Latinos
Acclaimed author and Pura Belpré Award honoree Lulu Delacre’s beautifully...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The March Against Fear: The Last Great Walk of the Civil Rights Movement and the Emergence of Black Power
James Meredith's 1966 march in Mississippi began as one man's...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting
When middle schooler Kelly Ferguson’s Halloween plans switch from party-going...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shadow of a Doubt
Fyfe Flynn lives on a modest farm in the shadows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beast and Crown
Boot boy Ji is tired of scrubbing soles and untangling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
No More Goddesses
Jordan Lake discovers an ancient bracelet in her grandmother's house...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goddesses Can Wait (Myths & Mayhem) Volume 2
Jordan Lake, a fifteen-year-old Audrey Hepburn-olic who’s a magnet for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)