The Hearts We Sold

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1209   1
Write Review
The Hearts We Sold
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 08, 2017
ISBN
978-0316314596
Buy This Book
      

A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a devil--her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life--she finds her trade may be more than she bargained for. And becoming "heartless" is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she ever could have imagined. With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something like love grows between them amidst an otherworldly ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: can she give James her heart when it's no longer hers to give? The Hearts We Sold is a Faustian tale for the modern age that will steal your heart and break it, and leave you begging for more.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: June 19, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Hearts We Sold

Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon only to 'lose' her heart. That's part of the demon's deal. He grants her the wish she wants and she hands over her heart. In exchange she has to help him stop creatures from escaping from voids that pop up in Seattle. Along the way she meets James and falls for him. Problem is can she feel anything for him if she's 'heartless'?

What worked: This is an intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin. Near perfect demons make deals with humans in exchange for body parts. The demons aren't all they seem to be. This is where the plot is unique and very engaging. Instead of the usual 'grotesque' body snatchers plot, there's paranormal horror meets Sci-fi.

Dee's plight with her family is sure to resonate with readers. I know it did with me. She's a survivor and does what she can to escape from her alcoholic parents. The reason behind her deal with a demon, to me, made sense. She wanted to stay in her exclusive boarding school in order to better herself and not be stuck with her abusive father. The ramifications of this deal though come at a terrible price. One she didn't bargain on.

I really liked the Sci-fi angle of this story. It's not at all one of those heaven and hell stories. There's more than a few 'ah, huh' moments throughout this story. Also I loved the final climax and resolution. **No spoilers but let's just say I was very satisfied with the conclusion.

Engaging paranormal horror tale where a girl makes a deal with a demon at a terrible cost. Insights into surviving and friendships. This is an unique twist on the whole fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin with a satisfying conclusion.

Good Points
1. Intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin
2. Paranormal horror
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

51uDXTa8hxL._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Celebrate the weird, wonderful, and the downright bizarre in this...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Next to Last Mistake
Tess Goodwin's life in rural Iowa is sheltered and uncomplicated....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretty in Punxsutawney
A Groundhog Day meets Pretty in Pink mashup from author...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
A moment of distraction has cost him his freedom...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
Dragons are just legends from the past... Felicia’s life...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Penderwicks at Last
The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Over Raging Tides
The pirate crew of the Lady Luck lives by...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Positively Izzy
Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Onyx and Ivory
They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dysasters
P.C. and Kristin Cast, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Fontre | Best Books for Young Adults | YA Fiction New Release | Julien Jamar
Cassai is taken by Devilan, knowing she will be forced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You'd Be Mine
Annie Mathers is America’s sweetheart and heir to a country...
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
99 Lies (100 Hours, #2)
Getting kidnapped over spring break was definitely memorable. But now...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Wings of Olympus
Take flight with Pippa and her winged horse in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"FIVE STARS for one of the most peculiar high school...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (13)
Ocean Renegades! (Earth Before Us #2): Journey through the Paleozoic Era
When Ronnie’s parents go on a business trip and leave...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
4.0
""Forest of a Thousand Lanterns" was a slow-building and dark YA fantasy. Xifeng has been raised by her cruel aunt..."
The Next to Last Mistake
 
5.0
"'The Next to Last Mistake' by Amalie Jahn will have readers considering their own lives through a bittersweet lens as..."
Pretty in Punxsutawney
 
4.7
"Thank you to Blink and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy for my honest review. As..."
Pretty in Punxsutawney
 
5.0
"Andie moves to Punxsutawney P.A. before the beginning of her senior year. When she falls asleep watching 'Pretty in Pink',..."
Rogue (Talon #2)
 
4.3
"More dragons, what more could you want? Julie has done it again, not only has she written another fantastic..."
The Dysasters
 
3.7
"THE DYSASTERS opens up with Foster and her stepmom Cora on the run and have been for a full year...."
You'd Be Mine
 
4.0
""You'd Be Mine" follows two young country music stars on their path to self-discovery, dealing with past family deaths, and..."
You'd Be Mine
 
4.0
"YOU’D BE MINE by Erin Hahn is a YA contemporary romance set in the confines of country music, road life,..."
99 Lies (100 Hours, #2)
 
4.3
"99 lies pick up exactly where the last book left off, post-kidnapping—at least for most of them. Genesis and Holden..."
Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss
 
4.0
"When Lacey scores a leading role in a zombie movie, she wants to give it her all. However, she struggles..."
Stolen Time
 
3.0
"STOLEN TIME by Danielle Rollins is the first book of a YA time travel trilogy. It begins when Ash, a..."
Their Fractured Light (Starbound #3)
 
4.0
""Their Fractured Light" is a satisfying conclusion to the Starbound trilogy. Each book has followed a different couple along a..."
Only A Breath Apart
 
4.0
"ONLY A BREATH APART alternates POV between Jesse and Scarlett. The two of them used to be best friends as..."
Give The Dark My Love
 
5.0
""Give the Dark My Love" is a dark but engaging YA fantasy. Told in alternating perspectives, we follow two characters-..."
Give The Dark My Love
 
5.0
"Seventeen-year-old Nedra Brysstain leaves her small village to study medicinal alchemy at the famous Yugen Academy. She wants to be..."
A Sky for Us Alone
 
3.3
"A SKY FOR US ALONE by Kristin Russell is a YA coming-of-age novel filled with mystery and heartache. It’s set..."
The Disturbed Girl's Dictionary
 
4.0
"The Disturbed Girl’s Dictionary is as disturbing as its name implies. While, in an effort to not trivialize or..."
Easy Prey
 
3.3
"Easy prey’s story is directly relevant to its title. It tells the story of how when you prey on others,..."
Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."