The Hearts We Sold

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1089   1
Write Review
The Hearts We Sold
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 08, 2017
ISBN
978-0316314596
Buy This Book
      

A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a devil--her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life--she finds her trade may be more than she bargained for. And becoming "heartless" is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she ever could have imagined. With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something like love grows between them amidst an otherworldly ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: can she give James her heart when it's no longer hers to give? The Hearts We Sold is a Faustian tale for the modern age that will steal your heart and break it, and leave you begging for more.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: June 19, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Hearts We Sold

Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon only to 'lose' her heart. That's part of the demon's deal. He grants her the wish she wants and she hands over her heart. In exchange she has to help him stop creatures from escaping from voids that pop up in Seattle. Along the way she meets James and falls for him. Problem is can she feel anything for him if she's 'heartless'?

What worked: This is an intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin. Near perfect demons make deals with humans in exchange for body parts. The demons aren't all they seem to be. This is where the plot is unique and very engaging. Instead of the usual 'grotesque' body snatchers plot, there's paranormal horror meets Sci-fi.

Dee's plight with her family is sure to resonate with readers. I know it did with me. She's a survivor and does what she can to escape from her alcoholic parents. The reason behind her deal with a demon, to me, made sense. She wanted to stay in her exclusive boarding school in order to better herself and not be stuck with her abusive father. The ramifications of this deal though come at a terrible price. One she didn't bargain on.

I really liked the Sci-fi angle of this story. It's not at all one of those heaven and hell stories. There's more than a few 'ah, huh' moments throughout this story. Also I loved the final climax and resolution. **No spoilers but let's just say I was very satisfied with the conclusion.

Engaging paranormal horror tale where a girl makes a deal with a demon at a terrible cost. Insights into surviving and friendships. This is an unique twist on the whole fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin with a satisfying conclusion.

Good Points
1. Intriguing twist on demons and the fairy tale Rumpelstiltskin
2. Paranormal horror
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You/Poet: Learn the Art. Speak Your Truth. Share Your Voice.
Offering a variety of advice for tapping into your creative...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Are You Scared, Darth Vader?
Darth Vader isn't scared! Nothing can scare Lord Vader. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Star-Touched Stories
From New York Times bestselling author, Roshani Chokshi, comes Star-Touched...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
91HIpyhaW9L.jpg
The third book in the New York Times bestselling series...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
One Week of You
For Lizzy Winston, one week will change everything. Fifteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
She is from the past, locked inside a world...
 
4.0
 
4.6 (3)
Grenade
It's 1945, and the world is in the grip...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Lines We Cross
Michael likes to hang out with his friends and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Uncharted
Seventeen-year-old Annabeth prefers the fantasy of her books and...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Divide
Secrets have a way of coming out. Divided by...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Orphaned (Ape Quartet #4)
Before humans, and before human history, there were the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heirs of the Round Table: Reclaiming Camelot
Imagine discovering that your ancestors were part of King Arthur's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Nix
A visually stunning, middle-grade classic in the making about Wicked...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey of the Pale Bear
A runaway boy befriends a polar bear that’s being transported...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
When Wyatt gets framed for a friend’s crime, he thinks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Next stop...The Magic School Bus heads to the Galapagos to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Dare You to Lie
 
4.0
"DARE YOU TO LIE by Amber Lynn Natusch is a young adult suspense novel that follows Kylene after she moves..."
Star-Touched Stories
 
5.0
"STAR-TOUCHED STORIES brings you back into the world of STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN. For those who love the world Roshani Chokshi created,..."
Muse of Nightmares
 
5.0
"I honestly didn't think any book could top Strange the Dreamer, it was such a fantastic start to a new..."
Seize Today
 
4.3
"Seize Today is the thrilling conclusion to a fantastic dystopian series. I’ve been a huge fan of this series since..."
Orphaned (Ape Quartet #4)
 
4.7
"Snub is a young gorilla living in prehistoric times. She has a family that included Silverback, Brother, Wrinkle and Teased,..."
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
 
4.7
"Wyatt has a decent life, but when his dad takes off, it dissolves into chaos. His mother doesn't function well,..."
Grenade
 
4.7
"Hideki is a 13-year-old Okinawan and Ray is a United States Marine. Both are play important roles in the "Love..."
The Homework Strike
 
4.0
"'The Homework Strike' by Greg Pincus is a relevant and worthwhile story about the power of standing up and fighting..."
The Glass Arrow
 
4.7
"Original Review: http://www.literarychaos.com/ I was really cautious going into this book. I knew from the synopsis that it had..."
The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen #1)
 
N/A
"original review at: http://www.literarychaos.com/ In the spirit of honesty, I would never have picked this book up for myself...."
The Wood
 
3.7
"I bought this by impulse. Seeing as this book was primarily a cover-buy, I did not have many expectations..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"Elyse Schmidt has the biggest crush on Josh Harris, but he has no idea. When tragedy strikes on their plane..."
Girl At The Grave
 
4.0
"Valentine was only six years old when her murder was hung for murder. After the death, she's basically taken care..."
Going Places
 
4.0
"GOING PLACES by Kathryn Berla is a coming-of-age novel that follows Hudson Wheeler through his senior year of high school...."
Hearts Unbroken
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: When Louise’s boyfriend Cam first disparages Native people in front of her–specifically his brother’s Kickapoo spouse–he isn’t..."
What If It's Us
 
4.0
"I’ve read both Becky and Adam books and What If It’s Us is a combination of the very best of..."
The Disasters
 
3.3
"What worked: This is a high energy soap opera romp through space. Think Breakfast Club meets Firefly. There's action, suspense,..."
Lucky in Love
 
4.0
"'Lucky in Love' by Kasie West captures a not-too-familiar storyline, but injects it with all-too-understandable themes. When main character Maddie..."
The Goldfish Boy
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Matthew is reluctant to leave his house due to his fear of illness and germs, so he watches and..."
Pokeweed: An Illustrated Novella
 
5.0
"This book was released on September 20th, 2018 and received over ten reviews in its first 2 weeks."