True North (True Born Trilogy)

True North (True Born Trilogy)

Featured
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
884   0
Write Review
True North (True Born Trilogy)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 04, 2017
ISBN
978-1633759152
Buy This Book
      

Abandoned by her family in Plague-ridden Dominion City, eighteen-year-old Lucy Fox has no choice but to rely upon the kindness of the True Borns, a renegade group of genetically enhanced humans, to save her twin sister, Margot. But Nolan Storm, their mysterious leader, has his own agenda. When Storm backtracks on his promise to rescue Margot, Lucy takes her fate into her own hands and sets off for Russia with her True Born bodyguard and maybe-something-more, the lethal yet beautiful Jared Price. In Russia, there's been whispered rumors of Plague Cure. While Lucy fights her magnetic attraction to Jared, anxious that his loyalty to Storm will hurt her chances of finding her sister, they quickly discover that not all is as it appears...and discovering the secrets contained in the Fox sisters' blood before they wind up dead is just the beginning. As they say in Dominion, sometimes it's not you...it's your DNA.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot 
 
3.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Gentics and Politics Run This Apocalyptic Era

When her parents take her sister to Russia, Lucy has nobody except the True Born Storm. Lucy agrees to be a pawn and allows Storm to use her to gather information. In return, he will keep her safe and help get her sister Margot back.

In a world where a plague is wiping people out and everyone is looking for a cure, Lucy doesn't know who to trust. There's something different about her and her sister and it puts the two of them in danger. Lucy feels lonely and lost without Margot, so when she realizes Storm isn't going to help her any time soon, Lucy takes matters into her own hands.

TRUE NORTH focuses on Lucy's journey to find her sister and bring her home. It's full of the same amount of politics and drama as the first one, but more secrets and answers are starting to emerge. I have to say there wasn't as much action in this one though. Lucy also discovers a man named Alastair who will help her get to Russia. He quickly became one of my favorite characters, especially since Jared, the romantic interest, isn't very likable. I hope to see a lot more of Alastair in the next one.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this one for fans of politics, genetics, and drama. The romance is a little lacking, but the secret-driven plot will hold your interest.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A solid second book in a trilogy

L.E. Sterling’s TRUE NORTH is the second in her True Born trilogy. The series takes place on a dystopian Earth where Dominion is the home of Lucy and Margot Fox—Upper Circle twins who somehow hold the key to stopping the plague that has decimated the world’s population and caused a societal structure that has definite “haves” and “have-nots.” TRUE NORTH picks up where the first book in the series, TRUE BORN, left off. Lucy and Margot have been separated—Margot has left Dominion with the girls’ parents, and Lucy has been left behind as the ward of Nolan Storm, the powerful leader of the True Borns. True Borns are genetically modified humans who do not contract the plague and serve in a variety of violent capacities.

TRUE NORTH focuses on Lucy’s search for her sister and offers plenty of background information to flesh out the first book in the series. Lucy is being protected by Jared Price, an incredibly attractive True Born who is fixated on her, and their relationship takes center stage through much of the book. While Lucy tries to pinpoint Margot’s location, she and Jared share many heated moments designed to make the reader swoon, and their romance has a bit of a TWILIGHT feel to it at times.

Though not particularly fast paced, TRUE NORTH keeps things moving at a decent clip, and the book will certainly entrance readers who enjoy tense love scenes. Lucy is a great character despite her weakness for Jared Price, but the one to watch in this novel—and hopefully the final book in the trilogy—is Alastair, the young man who helps Lucy for reasons that are not yet revealed. When book 3 comes out, he’s the reason I’ll be picking up a copy!

Overall, TRUE NORTH is a typical second book: it lacks a bit of excitement as it sets the stage for book 3, but it does the job of the middle child in a series: it sets everything up for the conclusion and leaves readers awaiting that final installment.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

Good Points
Interesting secondary characters

A nice addition to the genre
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Deadly Exodus
Their love is forbidden…their lives in danger… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front Cover
Join Clementine on a Winter Adventure in the Great Outdoors!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front cover
Growing up as a biracial child, Maggy Williams had three...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
hanna_final.jpg
Inspired by real Holocaust events, this poignant debut novel is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51MO7YjcihL.jpg
Twins Finn and Eric’s peaceful lives are turned upside down...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen
 
4.0
"Ernestine and her little brother Charleston are trying to bring on the zombie apocalypse. After doing a spell, they believe..."
Return of the Vinetropes
 
5.0
"What a unique and wonderful story told by a gifted writer! What I loved most is that there's something for..."
Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island (Emily Windsnap #7)
 
4.0
"Emily, her family, and her friends are off on a relaxing vacation. Emily promises her friend Shona and her boyfriend..."
The Tale of Angelino Brown
 
4.0
"When Bert discovers the tiny angel named Angelino in his pocket, he doesn't know what to think. Bert takes Angelino..."
The Journey of Little Charlie
 
5.0
"THE JOURNEY OF LITTLE CHARLIE features a boy named Charlie who is forced to grow up quickly. When Charlie's dad..."
Wonder
 
4.5
" Aiming on the younger end of the Middle Grade spectrum, Wonder is the story of a disfigured 5th grader..."
The Nutcracker Mice
 
4.0
"THE NUTCRACKER MICE is a very adorable retelling of the Russian Nutcracker, but from a smaller perspective. Esmeralda the mouse..."
Horizon
 
4.0
"When their plane crash lands, Caleb, Molly, Yoshi, Javi, Anna, Oliver, Kira, and Akiko find themselves stranded in a jungle...."
Tiny Little Rocket
 
5.0
"'Tiny Little Rocket' by Richard Collingridge immerses young readers into a journey through space. Through a front-row seat in the..."
When I Grow Up
 
4.5
"'When I Grow Up' by Tim Minchin, and illustrated by Steve Antony, is a fanciful story about the excitement of..."
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans
 
5.0
"SAMANTHA SPINNER AND THE SUPER SECRET PLANS takes you on a historical adventure as Sam and her brother Nipper search..."
Fairy Mom and Me
 
4.5
"Ella has the coolest mom ever because she's a fairy. Magic and all. The best part? Ella will be a..."
Time Tracers
 
5.0
"Taj is confused when he wakes up to what's supposed to be the first day of summer break, but instead,..."
Better Together (Heartwood Hotel, #3)
 
5.0
"When Mr. Heartwood takes a break, Mona the maid feels like she needs to step up to make sure nothing..."
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."