Even the Darkest Stars

Even the Darkest Stars

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
489   0
Write Review
Even the Darkest Stars
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 05, 2017
ISBN
B01N0PZ0LA
Buy This Book
      

The first in a sweeping and action-packed debut fantasy duology loosely inspired by the early climbers of Mt. Everest—perfect for fans of Cindy Pon and Alison Goodman. Kamzin has always dreamed of becoming one of the Emperor’s royal explorers, the elite climbers tasked with mapping the wintry, mountainous Empire and spying on its enemies. She knows she could be the best in the world, if only someone would give her a chance. But everything changes when the mysterious and eccentric River Shara, the greatest explorer ever known, arrives in her village and demands to hire Kamzin—not her older sister Lusha, as everyone had expected—for his next expedition. This is Kamzin’s chance to prove herself—even though River’s mission to retrieve a rare talisman for the emperor means climbing Raksha, the tallest and deadliest mountain in the Aryas. Then Lusha sets off on her own mission to Raksha with a rival explorer who is determined to best River, and Kamzin must decide what’s most important to her: protecting her sister from the countless perils of the climb or beating her to the summit. The challenges of climbing Raksha are unlike anything Kamzin expected—or prepared for—with avalanches, ice chasms, ghosts, and even worse at every turn. And as dark secrets are revealed, Kamzin must unravel the truth of their mission and of her companions—while surviving the deadliest climb she has ever faced.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Engaging premise and strong protagonist

Kamzin dreams of being an explorer, climbing mountains, and finding adventures. When a twist of fate allows her to journey with River, one of the Emperor’s royal explorers, to climb the mountain in the Aryas. But danger awaits their group at every turn, and Kamzin’s sister, Lusha, is rushing to climb the mountain herself separately. Nature, relationships, and secrets divide them all, and survival has never been more uncertain.

EVEN THE DARKEST STARS holds an interesting premise of mountain exploration in a magical world. Kamzin and the other characters are at the heart of the novel with some of the fantasy elements taking a backseat, which isn’t always common in fantasy stories. Kamzin is wonderfully ambitious with clear goals, and I love how she develops through the story as she becomes closer to her dreams and faces different obstacles than she expected.

Unfortunately, while Kamzin’s character is excellent, the pacing is on the slow end, and the love triangle is a typical dynamic. There were times I struggled to keep going. However, when there is high action, it is done very well and often unveils secrets and emotions from the characters. The love triangle follows a usual good guy/close friend versus exciting new guy scenario. While that is not my favorite, those who do enjoy love triangles will likely still enjoy the romantic elements.

Though there are weaker parts to the story, EVEN THE DARKEST STARS offers a well-developed and ambitious main character and a survivalist adventure with a good hook.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Mother Cary's Butter Knife (Shadows & Light)
The smallest of three brothers, Keenan Mowat had a priceless...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
Did you know that the earth is covered in three...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The November Girl
I am Anda, and the lake is my mother....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Approximately Yours (North Pole, Minnesota)
Danny Garland is so out of Holly’s league. And...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Penny Lost
Penelope Grace, usually forgotten under the shadow of her...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Eveline
Sixteen-year-old Ivy Higgins is the only student at Carmel...
 
4.7
 
5.0 (2)
Good and Gone
When Lexi Green’s older brother, Charlie, starts plotting a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Glow
When thrift-store aficionado Julie discovers a series of antique paintings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Secrets
After an abrupt move across the country to San Francisco,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her music...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
White Rabbit
Caleb Roehrig, author of Last Seen Leaving, delivers another spellbinding...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Temptation of Adam
Adam Hawthorne is fine. Yeah, his mother left, his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Undiscovered Country
In the aftermath of her mother's death, Cat recklessly...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
Being a member of the Elite Hunter Command imperils...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Felipe Femur
 
5.0
"While this book in occupied by a cast of monsters, it is far from scary. It is also not solely..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
5.0
"I am so pleased by The Crystal of Atum. I love Aki and the Spheres of Time series. This book..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
4.8
"This is Aki’s third trip with the Sphere of Time. As usual, he ends up nowhere near the spot where..."
City of Grit and Gold
 
4.3
"'City of Grit and Gold' by Maud Macrory Powell offers a glimpse into the lives of those who came from..."
Good Boy, Achilles!
 
5.0
"Very nice book."
The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis
 
3.5
"'The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis' by Hannah Hoffman is more than your run-of-the-mill fantasy story. When Billy..."
Keys To The Sun
 
3.8
"‘Keys to the Sun’ tells the adventures of two brothers, Lucas and Parker Chase. They are in New Orléans to..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Cheating Death:  Book 3
 
3.5
"Jarod's tenure as Lord Greenwood gets even more complicated when he and Tommy figure out that each object has information..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Mischief Before Mastery:  Book 2
 
3.5
"Since Jarod was made Lord Kentwood, his extended family is being kept at the mansion for fear that someone will..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series: Priceless Inheritance:  Book 1
 
3.3
"Jarod's dysfunctional family is gathered for the reading of his grandfather's will. Jarod misses his grandfather, but the other are..."
The Crystal Of Nammu. Aki and the Spheres of Time #2
 
4.8
"I had great expectations for the second installment of the series Aki and the Spheres of Time and I enjoy..."
The Crystal Of Yggdrasil. Aki and the Spheres of Time #1
 
4.6
"An amazing surprise. Finished in almost one sitting. This should give an idea about how surprising it was. This is..."
The Crystal Of Nammu. Aki and the Spheres of Time #2
 
4.8
"This book is very entertaining with engaging characters and surprises at every turn. It was action packed, lots of fun,..."
 
5.0
"This book is nothing short of phenomenal. It truly feels like 4 books in one. It is the kind of..."
The Crystal Of Yggdrasil. Aki and the Spheres of Time #1
 
5.0
"Aki knows he has the strange ability to communicate with animals by reading their minds, but he is about to..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Vessel Of Safety:  Book 6
 
5.0
"Reader review of the series from Amazon: "By Pratt on December 2, 2015 I have read all..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  The Protected:  Book 5
 
5.0
"Reader review on the series from Amazon: "By Thatch on February 4, 2016 Wonderful read..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Solomon's Ring:  Book 4
 
5.0
"Reader Review on the series from Amazon: "By R.B. on May 22, 2014 I loved this..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Mischief Before Mastery:  Book 2
 
5.0
"Reader review from Amazon: "Spitzenberger on August 3, 2016 I have read the book #1- #2- #3-..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Cheating Death:  Book 3
 
5.0
"Actual Review from Amazon.com reader: "Cathleen C. Spitzenberger on August 3, 2016 I have read book #1- #2-..."