Silent

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
1035   1
Write Review
Silent
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 07, 2017
ISBN
9781507201688

For fans of The Book Thief and Raiders of the Lost Ark, this thrilling new novel set during World War I features a girl who must pretend to be a male soldier to save her younger brothers. Adi is an outrider, rejected by both her British father’s and Indian mother’s cultures, so she is no stranger to trouble. But when a mysterious agitator called “Coal” kidnaps Adi’s twin brothers, Adi has to rely on herself to find them. With strength and cunning as fierce as any boy’s, she decides to cut her hair and put on a military uniform to slip unnoticed through the chaos of the early days of World War I. When Adi finds a pocket watch that could be the clue to her lost brothers, she must figure out a way to decode it—before time runs out.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: April 30, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Silent

SILENT by David Mellon is quite cinematic, which makes sense as the author has been a storyboard artist in the film and television industry for the last thirty-five years. All of the descriptions in this historical fantasy, whether they are people or places, are primarily visual, so much so that it is easy to picture the world Mellon has created. Even the page breaks he uses are reminiscent of a movie edit, where in the middle of a linear story, a flashback or additional information can be spliced in without an intro or an outro. The novel is split into three parts, similar to the typical three act structure of most screenplays. While some books could never be adapted easily into a film, SILENT is the perfect candidate.

Consequently, this novel is a great way to introduce young readers to the World War I era. Not only is SILENT accessible and easier to read thanks to its cinematic nature, but the fantastical element is also very entertaining. SILENT follows young Adi, who stumbles upon misfortune when a mysterious man named Coal kidnaps her two younger brothers. Coal gives Adi a gold watch that contains four riddles. Once Adi can solve all of them, she will be able to find out where her brothers are being kept. The only caveat is that her time to find them is limited and she is not allowed to speak or write. Between Adi’s quest, a royal family, and a landscape of foreign lands, SILENT has the recipe for a great novel.

I did, however, wish to have a more conclusive ending. I was waiting the entire book to find out exactly who Coal is, what motivates his behaviors, and why he has a bug collection. I was also curious why Halick’s behavior changes so drastically. Was that also Coal’s doing or did Halick suddenly develop morals? Finally, how will Adi survive now and where is her father? In other words, there are many unanswered questions, even more than the ones listed. Mellon alludes perhaps to a second book set during World War II, which hopefully would address these issues. In the meantime, I would not be surprised if Mellon puts on a director’s cap. SILENT is definitely a movie I would go see, let alone a novel that will be enjoyed by all who love history, romance, magic, and adventure.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Quinton Wyatt's summer break before high school should be nothing...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Delicate Wings
Mia Walters is optimistic that her final high school...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Only A Breath Apart
Bestselling author Katie McGarry’s trademark wrong-side-of-the-tracks romance is given...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is quite the different place after the loss...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Pretty in Punxsutawney
A Groundhog Day meets Pretty in Pink mashup from...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Through Fathoms Dark and Deep
What’s a pirate without her crew? Abandoned on an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
99 Lies (100 Hours, #2)
Getting kidnapped over spring break was definitely memorable. But...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ray Vs the Meaning of Life
Grandma’s Last Will and Testament names Ray to inherit...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
51uDXTa8hxL._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Celebrate the weird, wonderful, and the downright bizarre in this...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Next to Last Mistake
Tess Goodwin's life in rural Iowa is sheltered and uncomplicated....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
A moment of distraction has cost him his freedom...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
Dragons are just legends from the past... Felicia’s life...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Penderwicks at Last
The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Over Raging Tides
The pirate crew of the Lady Luck lives by...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Positively Izzy
Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Onyx and Ivory
They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Wings of Olympus
 
4.0
"WINGS OF OLYMPUS is a middle grade fantasy that those who love horses and Greek mythology won't want to miss...."
The Ark Plan (Edge of Extinction)
 
5.0
"Over all this is like a mix between The Hunger Games (tyrannical and evil government willing to kill children) and..."
Ocean Renegades! (Earth Before Us #2): Journey through the Paleozoic Era
 
4.0
"In OCEAN RENEGADES, Ronnie takes a trip into the Paleozoic Era with Miss Lernin. Here, she learns all there is..."
The Key to Everything
 
4.0
"Eleven-year-old Tash has been carted off to camp against her will, and she'll be there for a month while her..."
Shine of the Silver Dragon: A Branches Book (Dragon Masters #11)
 
5.0
"This one picks up where the last one ended. Maldred the evil sorcerer is back and wants to gain control..."
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
 
5.0
"Edward Tulane is a distinguished, but vain, china rabbit. Edward’s girl Abilene loves him and he loves her right back...."
The Competition Begins (Junior Ninja Champion #1)
 
4.0
"Ty Santiago's family runs a gym that has a ninja training obstacle course, so when there is a junior competition..."
UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
Watch Hollow
 
5.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker's father repairs clocks for a living, but the business isn't doing well. After the death of..."
Courageous
 
4.0
"Aidan lives in a fishing village in England. His one brother has died in the war, but George is still..."
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
 
5.0
"The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot..."
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
 
4.0
"Thorn, a baboon, Sky, an elephant, and Fearless, a lion, have been friends since childhood. Due to the evil influence..."
Tales from the Inner City
 
4.0
"In this heavily illustrated short story collection, Tan explores the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world. Using animals to..."
The Unteachables
 
5.0
"Mr. Kermit is entering his 30th year of teaching, and he's already put in for early retirement. He started his..."