Beautiful Broken Girls

Beautiful Broken Girls

 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
274   0
Write Review
Beautiful Broken Girls
Author(s)
Age Range
16+
Release Date
February 21, 2017
ISBN
978-0374300593
Buy This Book
      
Remember the places you touched me.

Mira and Francesca Cillo were beautiful, overprotected by their father, and, frankly, odd. To the neighborhood boys they seemed untouchable. But one boy, Ben, touched seven parts of Mira: her palm, hair, chest, cheek, lips, throat, and heart. After the sisters drown themselves in the quarry lake, a post-mortem letter from Mira arrives in Ben's mailbox. The letter sends Ben on a quest to find notes in the places where they touched. Note by note, Ben discovers the mystical secret at the heart of Mira and Francesca's strange world, and he discovers that some things are better left untouched.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A dark and surprising treat!

* Reviewed for North of Normal Book Reviews

BEAUTIFUL BROKEN GIRLS by Kim Savage is a dark YA stand-alone mystery with some elements of suspense and fantasy.

Kim Savage is a new author to me. I first saw this book as a recommendation to other readers on one of the various Facebook book groups. The title and cover definitely intrigued me, and since I wanted to be surprised, I went into this book without reading the blurb or any reviews. I am so glad I made that decision!

Teenage sisters, Mia and Francesca Cillo, are beautiful, odd, and over protected by their widowed father. To the teenage boys, the girl’s traits make them seem alluring and untouchable like sirens. A boy named Ben Lattanzi however got to touch seven parts of Mia; her palm, hair, chest, cheek, lips, throat, and heart. After the sisters kill themselves by purposely drowning in the quarry lake, Ben receives a letter in the mail from Mia wherein she invites him to understand why the girls committed suicide. This sets Ben on a quest to the seven places he touched her. In each of those seven places, she has left him a message.

The book opens with one of the best lines I’ve ever read:

When they found Mia Cillo at the bottom of the quarry lake, her fingers were shot through the loose weave of her sister Francesca’s sweater at the neck.

It completely drew me in and told me everything I needed to know about the premise. This story is told in dual POV, from Ben and Mia. It made it really interesting because from Ben’s perspective you get both his present-day quest plus his memories of the girls. From Mia’s perspective you get obviously the past and the disturbing things in her and her sister’s lives that led up to their suicide.

I read this book in two days, devouring the “Who done it?” mystery steeped in Christian stigmata. I badly wanted to blame the girls’ suicide on someone else, and Ben’s perspective provided plenty of blame.

There really is no happy ending to this story, though it is satisfying in that the mystery is very nicely tied up, and the circumstances which drove the girls to their suicide are clear. Though I enjoyed this story as a whole, there were a few aspects that fell short for me. There were a few instances of dialogue that left me scratching my head, wondering who exactly the POV-character was speaking to and that became confusing. There was so many characters, from friends to co-workers, parents, bosses, and even a spiritual advisor, that I think the author could have done a better job at making it clearer to the reader who it was Mia and Ben were engaging with. The second problem for me was an unconnected element of the story. Ben was abused when he was a younger child. This abuse is brought up many times in the story but never really described, and in the end it really didn’t connect well with the main story line. I kept thinking the story would dig into his abuse and somehow Ben’s horrible experience was going to connect with the sisters. Ben being abused as a child could have been left out of this book altogether, and it would have had no impact on the story. That made it feel sort of gratuitous and unnecessary.

This book is so unique that I can’t really compare it to anything I’ve ever read. I think this book will appeal to both adult and YA fans of strange mysteries and suspense.

This novel earns 4 North of Normal Stars!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen
 
4.0
"Ernestine and her little brother Charleston are trying to bring on the zombie apocalypse. After doing a spell, they believe..."
Return of the Vinetropes
 
5.0
"What a unique and wonderful story told by a gifted writer! What I loved most is that there's something for..."
Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island (Emily Windsnap #7)
 
4.0
"Emily, her family, and her friends are off on a relaxing vacation. Emily promises her friend Shona and her boyfriend..."
The Tale of Angelino Brown
 
4.0
"When Bert discovers the tiny angel named Angelino in his pocket, he doesn't know what to think. Bert takes Angelino..."
The Journey of Little Charlie
 
5.0
"THE JOURNEY OF LITTLE CHARLIE features a boy named Charlie who is forced to grow up quickly. When Charlie's dad..."
Wonder
 
4.5
" Aiming on the younger end of the Middle Grade spectrum, Wonder is the story of a disfigured 5th grader..."
The Nutcracker Mice
 
4.0
"THE NUTCRACKER MICE is a very adorable retelling of the Russian Nutcracker, but from a smaller perspective. Esmeralda the mouse..."
Horizon
 
4.0
"When their plane crash lands, Caleb, Molly, Yoshi, Javi, Anna, Oliver, Kira, and Akiko find themselves stranded in a jungle...."
Tiny Little Rocket
 
5.0
"'Tiny Little Rocket' by Richard Collingridge immerses young readers into a journey through space. Through a front-row seat in the..."
When I Grow Up
 
4.5
"'When I Grow Up' by Tim Minchin, and illustrated by Steve Antony, is a fanciful story about the excitement of..."
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans
 
5.0
"SAMANTHA SPINNER AND THE SUPER SECRET PLANS takes you on a historical adventure as Sam and her brother Nipper search..."
Fairy Mom and Me
 
4.5
"Ella has the coolest mom ever because she's a fairy. Magic and all. The best part? Ella will be a..."
Time Tracers
 
5.0
"Taj is confused when he wakes up to what's supposed to be the first day of summer break, but instead,..."
Better Together (Heartwood Hotel, #3)
 
5.0
"When Mr. Heartwood takes a break, Mona the maid feels like she needs to step up to make sure nothing..."
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."