Teach Me To Forget

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
417   0
Write Review
teach me.jpeg
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
December 02, 2016
ISBN
139781440594571
Buy This Book
      

This is the story of Ellery, a girl who learns how to live while waiting for the date she chose to die. Ellery's bought the gun, made arrangements for her funeral, and even picked the day. A Wednesday. Everything has fallen into place. Now all she has to do is die. When her plans go awry and the gun she was going to kill herself with breaks, she does the one thing she has control over--return it and get a new one. After tormenting the crusty customer service associate by trying to return the gun with the wrong receipt, Ellery gets caught by the security guard who also happens to be someone she knows--the annoyingly perfect Colter Sawyer from her English class. Colter quickly uncovers what she's hiding and is determined to change her mind. After confessing a closely held secret of his own, he promises not to tell hers. Ellery tries to fight her attraction to him as the shadows of her past cling tight around her, but when she's faced with another tragedy, she must decide whether she can learn to live with what she's done or follow through with her plan to die.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: February 02, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Important Topic

What Left Me Wanting More…
I really did not like Ellery very much. She seemed totally obsessed with her own pain and didn’t seem to notice anything that was going on around her. I didn’t really understand why Colter and her other friends would want to hang around her.
I also would have liked to have more of a back story on the relationship between Ellery and her father. It felt like there was more of a back story there that never materialized.
My Final Verdict…
I think this novel did a great job of realistically portraying what goes on in the head of someone with both survivor guilt and depression. Ellery acted in a way that many teenagers would have acted given her circumstances. The story also shows how those that are contemplating suicide manipulate and hurt the ones around them.
I did enjoy the overall story. I also thought, ‘Teach Me to Forget’ offers a unique perspective on a very important subject.

Good Points
‘Teach Me to Forget’, follows Ellery, a high school student who was recently involved in a car crash. That car crash fatally kills her little sister, Tate. After the accident Ellery suffers from deep depression. This depression leads her to constantly think about suicide. After one of her suicide attempts, she tries to return the gun to her local k-mart. Once there she is detained by the store security guard who happens to be a boy from one of her classes.

What I Loved…
‘Teach Me to Forget’ really gets inside Ellery’s head and demonstrates how painful and powerful both grief and depression can be. The story slowly (through flashbacks) tells the story of Ellery’s relationship with her sister. The story also tells what loosing Tate did to both Ellery and her family.
I did love the characters of Colter and Janie. I also thought the romance element between Colter and Ellery was both sweet and realistic.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pashmina
Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Blight
 
4.7
"BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan is the next young adult dystopian novel that will set your world on fire. Torrest Tempest..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."
Mask of Shadows
 
4.0
"MASK OF SHADOWS by Linsey Miller features Sal Leon, a genderfluid thief who wants nothing more than to exact revenge..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
"This story is told in first-person present-tense entirely from the POV of Madeline, who is turning eighteen in the first..."
The Museum of Heartbreak
 
4.7
"I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but..."
Loved (House of Night Other World series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Zoe and the Nerd Herd from the House of Night Series have returned for another adventure in LOVED. All of..."
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! Someone Else's Summer was an amazing and emotional novel. It had a well written plot and captivating..."
Eden Summer
 
4.3
"EDEN SUMMER by Liz Flanagan is a rollercoaster of a novel. In this contemporary young adult book, Jess’ best friend,..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
4.3
"Tashi has had a rough life. With the power of an inhabitor, someone who bonds with an animal, they have..."
The Hollow Girl
 
5.0
"Content Warning: As the author mentions in the forward, there is sexual assault in this book. Disclaimer: I..."
Ash And Quill: The Great Library
 
4.3
"ASH AND QUILL is the third installment of The Great Library Series. Jess and his group of friends live in..."
Just Friends
 
4.7
"Josh is into old movies, old music, and doesn't mind taking yoga classes with his best friend, Ramona. He also..."