The Last of August

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
269   0
Write Review
The Last of August
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 14, 2017
ISBN
978-0062398949
Buy This Book
      

In the second brilliant, action-packed book in the Charlotte Holmes trilogy, Jamie and Charlotte are in a chase across Europe to untangle a web of shocking truths about the Holmes and Moriarty families. Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are looking for a winter break reprieve in Sussex after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But nothing about their time off is proving simple, including Holmes and Watson’s growing feelings for each other. When Charlotte’s beloved uncle Leander goes missing from the Holmes estate—after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring—the game is afoot once again, and Charlotte throws herself into a search for answers. So begins a dangerous race through the gritty underground scene in Berlin and glittering art houses in Prague, where Holmes and Watson discover that this complicated case might change everything they know about their families, themselves, and each other.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Keeps you on the edge of your seat

High school students Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson are at it again in the follow up to an amazing and brilliant new twist on the classic Holmes and Watson. THE LAST OF AUGUST picks up with Charlotte and Jamie on their break. When Charlotte’s Uncle Leander goes missing Charlotte is convinced that something’s wrong. With Jamie’s help, they travel around Europe trying to piece together Leander’s latest job and what went wrong.

What worked for me

One of my favorite things is watching crime shows and trying to figure out who did it. Being a Sherlock fan I have watched many different adaptations, and I love how familiar these characters are. Jamie and Charlotte feel like characters I’ve known for a long time but who I’m also meeting for the first time. From the very first page of A Study in Charlotte to the last page of THE LAST OF AUGUST I just fell in love with them. Charlotte who is just an amazing Holmes if I’ve ever seen one. Dynamic and powerful and someone you just do not want to mess with. To Jamie who is as lovable and faithful as anyone Watson I’ve known. The both of them together make a great team. With the banter that feels all to familiar, to their distinct voice, this is a series that Sherlock fans, and newbies alike will love.

The book is told from Jamie’s POV but each book gets a couple chapters told by Charlotte. To be honest, other than solving the crime, those were my favorite parts. I felt like we were very limited to the inner workings of Holmes. We see her from Jamie’s very skewed perspective. And I loved getting to know her voice more and more. I do hope that we get more of her in the third book.

While on the hunt for Leander, Charlotte and Jamie get a lot closer. Which causes more and more problems to come up. Then you throw in a person Charlotte is said to have loved and you have a whole heap of trouble. The first book focused more on the crime and less on the relationship, while this book focuses on the relationship and less on the crime. That said I would love to see how they balance their life with solving crimes, to their relationship. I am seriously rooting for these two!


I do want to take moment to say that Brittany does touch on some really tough topics. Rape, murder, substance abuse, etc. And while it is not graphic I do have to say that it is mentioned and it is something Charlotte is working on throughout the book.


What left me wanting more

Like I said I am so rooting for them, I just felt like they kept having the same fight but getting nowhere. I love the way they are together and their back and fourth is so much fun to read. I just wanted them to get through some of their issues. I just can’t wait to see how this relationship develops and grows in the third book. Regardless of whether they end up together or not. I love them as a partnership.

I’m not sure if I am alone on this one, or if I just missed it, but I really really want to know why Jamie’s mom doesn’t like the Holmes. It’s killing me not knowing why she wants Jamie to stay away from Charlotte. Am I the only one curious about this? Is it like Jamie says and his mom just doesn’t like their past? Or did something happen with Jamie’s dad and the Holmes? Is it just that they have money and they aren’t willing to help the Watson’s? Like I need to know! Please tell me more in the third book!


That being said overall I thought this was such a great follow up to A Study in Charlotte. And while I flew through the first book, this one took me a little bit to start up. It was slow going but once things started moving, I couldn’t put it down. I ended up staying awake till 3 in the morning and let me just say, It was so worth it. The different cities, the plans, the costumes are just part of why this is one of my favorite series and why it works so well. If you are anything like me and love mysteries or you’re a Sherlock fan or you’re a newbie, this is a series you will not want to miss picking up! It’s full of twist and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat and having you put on your deerstalker, ready to solve crimes.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

Silent
For fans of The Book Thief and Raiders of the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
House of Furies
An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfall
A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. Keep calm and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History of Hilary Hambrushina
Hilary has one goal for her first year in junior...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Posted.png
From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kat Richardson isn’t running away from grief; she’s just hiding...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wonder of Us
Riya and Abby are: Best friends. Complete opposites. Living...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Slope Rules
Fifteen-year old Cally accepted her fate as one of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex, Approximately
In this delightfully charming...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
31618483.jpg
A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Maybe, just maybe, if I can convince Dad that I’m...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)