Between Two Skies

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
1551   0
Write Review
Between Two Skies
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 25, 2017
ISBN
978-0763690342
Buy This Book
      
Hurricane Katrina sets a teenage girl adrift. But a new life and the promise of love emerges in this rich, highly readable debut.
Bayou Perdu, a tiny fishing town way, way down in Louisiana, is home to sixteen-year-old Evangeline Riley. She has her best friends, Kendra and Danielle; her wise, beloved Mamere; and back-to-back titles in the under-sixteen fishing rodeo. But, dearest to her heart, she has the peace that only comes when she takes her skiff out to where there is nothing but sky and air and water and wings. It s a small life, but it is Evangeline s. And then the storm comes, and everything changes. Amid the chaos and pain and destruction comes Tru a fellow refugee, a budding bluesman, a balm for Evangeline s aching heart. Told in a strong, steady voice, with a keen sense of place and a vivid cast of characters, here is a novel that asks compelling questions about class and politics, exile and belonging, and the pain of being cast out of your home. But above all, this remarkable debut tells a gently woven love story, difficult to put down, impossible to forget."

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fresh Topic

The history of the Cajun people is central to the theme of ‘Between Two Skies’. For that reason, I would like to briefly review their history .
I think most of us know that a sizable part of the population of southern Louisiana are Cajun. We all know that Cajun’s are of French descent and have their own food,culture,and even language. Even though the Louisiana Purchase and the French and Indian War are touched upon in American history classes, I don’t think most of us know what that has to do with how the Cajuns got to Louisiana.
Back in 1750 the English, France, and Spanish had all laid claim to parts of North America. The French colonies were collectively called ‘New France’. The part of history that I think is not generally well-known is that at this point ‘New France’ occupied a large area of eastern Canada and what is now the central part of the U.S.
Like the English, the French had separate North
American colonies. These colonies were Canada, Hudson’s Bay, Acadia ,Newfoundland (Plaisance), and Louisiana (this occupied a larger area then the present day state).


Then came the treaty of Utrecht. It was a series of peace treaties signed by Spain, Great Britain, France, Portugal, Savoy and the Dutch Republic to settle the War of Spanish Succession. In this treaty France gave the area of Acadia to the English (this today is the Maritime provinces, and parts of modern-day Quebec and Maine). The English agreed to allow the Acadians to stay. That is until the Acadians refused to sign an unconditional oath to Britain. As a result the British governor Charles Lawrence and the Nova Scotia Council ordered the Acadians to be expelled. They were sent to the British American colonies, England, and France. Families were often slit up and sent to separate destinations. A few ended just west of the Mississippi River in French colonized Louisiana. By 1764 many Acadians who were expelled to other areas began to resettle in Louisiana.
Through time the word Acadian became the word ‘Cajun’. Up until the early twentieth century the Cajun’s were somewhat isolated. This resulted in the Cajuns developing their own unique culture and dialect.
In 1847 Henry Wadsworth Longfellow published the epic poem Evangeline. ‘Evangeline’ told the story of the displaced Acadians. ‘Evangeline’ was extremely well received at the time and helped to bring awareness of the Expulsions of the Acadians.

Good Points
Evangeline of ‘Between Two Skies’ is named after the Evangeline of Wadsworth’s poem. ‘Between Two Skies’ begins in 2005 right before Hurricane Katrina hits the Gulf coast. The story then progresses to Evangeline’s life during and after the storm.
A story is often enjoyed more and is more meaningful when the reader can relate to the book’s characters.
Evangeline was one of those characters for me. This novel captures perfectly the underlying edge of living in a hurricane prone area during hurricane season. Something I’ve ever read in a novel before.Another element of the story that I connected with was Evangeline’s Cajun background. This is the first YA love I have read where the main character is an American of French decent. Even though my own maternal grandmother was of Québécois decent and not Cajun, Evangeline’s Mamére and her sayings reminded me a lot of my Mémé.
Beyond the connection that I had to Evangeline’s story, I found this to be one of the most well written and multi-layered YA books that I have ever read. I find many of YA novels have similar themes and characters. ‘Between Two Skies’ does not. It tells the story of an ordinary sixteen year old girl whose life is turned upside down when she is forced from her home. Just this makes an amazing story. ‘Between Two Skies’ is so much more though. It parallels this Evangeline’s story with the Evangeline of Longfellow’s poem. Both are driven from their homes under terrible circumstances but they each try to make the best of their circumstances.
There is some romance in this novel. At first I wasn’t sure it was a necessary part of the story. However, as the book went on, I realized the romance in the ‘Between Two Skies’ parallels the romance of the Evangeline in the Longfellow poem.
The imagery in this book is just amazing. For example there is a scene is the book where
Evangeline explains that when she is out in her boat that she is ‘Between Two Skies’. The real sky and the sky’s reflection in the water.
My Final Judgement
I really think this book is amazing. The prose is one of the best I have read in a long time. The storyline was complex and multi-dimensional. The story it’s self positive and inspiring. I can’t wait for Joanne O’Sullivan next novel. If this is here début novel, I can’t wait to see what she does next.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Switching Gears
 
3.7
"Lucas Nelson loved Emmy Martin, but he waited until a week before he died of cancer to tell her that...."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
We Are All That's Left
 
5.0
" Zara feels shut off from her Bosnian born mother. She knows that her mother survived some..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"Seriously, is it possible to read this book without crying? Asking for allllllll offffff myyyyyyy friiiiiiiiiends."
Frat Girl
 
4.0
"The writing style is what really stands out in this book-- SO easy to read, conversational, believable character interactions. It..."
Original Syn
 
5.0
"Got an ARC of this one and flew through it. So so good."
What I Leave Behind
 
5.0
"Will’s dad commits suicide. His childhood friend, Playa, is raped at a party. His mom works long over-night shifts as..."
All The Crooked Saints
 
3.7
"Trust me when I say no one was more stunned than me when I enjoyed All the Crooked Saints. ..."
Legacy of Kings
 
2.0
"Legacy of Kings was not a bad book per se, but I found it a confusing, frequently boring one. Perhaps..."
Dare Mighty Things
 
4.0
"Dare Mighty Things is an extraordinary debut that features an Indian-American asexual protagonist in the fight of her life for..."
Tempests and Slaughter
 
4.7
"I am a terrible fantasy fan. Why? Because I’ve never read a novel by Tamora Pierce. I am definitely..."
Nimona
 
5.0
"Oh my gosh!!!!!!! This is the cutest graphic novel I have read in a long time! Cute and entertaining and..."
The Night Circus
 
4.0
"The Night Circus was an enchanting, mind-boggling story that enraptured me. It was confusing, lovely, frightening, elusive, all at once...."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"If you’re looking for an action-packed novel with a fierce female main character who is multifaceted, and the text is..."
Life in Outer Space
 
5.0
"Life in Outer Space is one of the cutest and nerdiest books I’ve ever read. This contemporary quickly burrowed its..."
White Rabbit
 
4.7
"TW: sexual assault, rape, homophobia, descriptions of violence, murder, drug use. White Rabbit is going to be the..."
Queens of Geek
 
4.0
"Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde is the most adorkable novel I’ve read in a long while. The book is..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
3.0
"I’m in two minds about this novella. While there was a part of me that was intrigued by the general..."