The Diabolic (The Diabolic #1)

The Diabolic (The Diabolic #1)

Featured
 
3.3
 
5.0 (1)
804   0
Write Review
The Diabolic
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
November 01, 2016
ISBN
978-1481472678
Buy This Book
      

Nemesis is a Diabolic. Created to protect a galactic Senator's daughter, Sidonia. The girl who has grown up by her side and who is as much as sister as a master. There's no one Nemesis wouldn't kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the galactic court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Now one of the galaxy's most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corruption and Nemesis has to hide her true abilities or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns that there is something stronger than her deadly force: the one thing she's been told she doesn't have - humanity. And, amidst all the danger, action and intrigue, her humanity might be the only thing that can save her, Sidonia and the entire Empire...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Cunning and Deadly

The Diabolic follows Nemesis, a diabolic (a genetically engineered human made emotionless and deadly) who serves her mistress Sidonia. Ever since she was bonded to Sidonia, Nemesis' mission has been to protect her at all costs, even if that means killing a few dozen people (actually, that might be encouraged). So when danger arises and Sidonia is in the most danger possible, Nemesis trains to be like her so she may take her place and face the danger herself. The problems with this? 1) Sidonia finds out and strongly disagrees with such a course of action, 2) Nemesis goes anyway because the galactic court is nowhere near safe for Sidonia, and 3) Nemesis tends to only do things that would put Sidonia in danger once the act has begun because, well, she's not Sidonia and masquerading as a human being is hard when you were made to destroy everything in sight that endangers your master (or in this case, Nemesis because she must survive for Sidonia). All in all, this is a journey full of death (murder is popular), torture (why rush?), self-discovery (gotta learns something), romance (they like hearts, though usually when ripped out of the body...), and of course, political plots of demise and trickery.

CHARACTERS
Nemesis is a good character. She is brutal, passionate, determined, and honest (though she can lie very well if she wishes to). In the beginning she claims to hate what she is, but there are hints that she actually may not mind as she compliments herself at the same time. As time goes on within the novel and she walks around as Sidonia, she realizes how much she dislikes not being able to use her strength or intimidating stare. The more she pretends to be her mistress, the more she seems to become human. No matter what hardships Nemesis went through, she stood tall and imposing, deadly. She does have her moments of weakness however, and that makes her more human than anything else.

"He yelled out in horror, but he did not escape. I was too fast." (1%)

Sidonia is a character we really don't know much about. She is the sweetest, softest of everyone Nemesis meets, but how would she really react to what Nemesis sees? What makes her mad, sad, or happy? We know she and Nemesis have a bond, that they love each other, would die for each other, but where is all the proof, the examples? Who is she really?

Tyrus is a cunning, manipulative little heir. Stuck in a whirl of madness of his own making, how is he to come out unaffected? Crazy, unpredictable, a mastermind at deceit. Is he trustworthy? Nemesis sure thinks so. Tyrus is a pawn and the master all in one.

ROMANCE
Predictable. We saw it coming, we knew it would inevitably come to be. It was well executed in the beginning, engaging and quite interesting to read. And then it was as if the two characters were thrown at each other. Merely a little nudge to move the plot along that was more of a hurtle across a football field.

PLOT
I found this book to be an enjoyable read. I enjoyed the twists and overall plot of action and death. However, I feel like some plot points were added in merely to show us how cunning some characters are even though we already have an abundance of examples. I also feel like many of the deaths were there simply to prove to us that people are cruel and Nemesis' opponents are worthy of her yearning to end them, though all of this is proven without the excessive deaths and torture. This is easily overlooked for me because I enjoy murder and death and violence, and found that while some manipulations and deaths were unneeded, they were enjoyable to read about and gave the story more character rather than just romance and false humanity.

WRITING
The beginning started off cold and distant, as you would expect from a diabolic raised to have no emotions. But even as Nemesis seemed to grow used to conveying emotions, the writing never really grew with her. It stayed lacking in the emotionally connecting department and that made it less riveting. Many of the situations were simply a list of what happens that read dull and monotonously. This definitely helped us understand just how far Nemesis had to grow in order to get to where she is in the end of the book however. This allows us to better appreciate her character's growth.

"Donia might emerge from her chambers if she heard anything. I'd hate to murder her mother in front of her." (4%)

OVERALL
The Diabolic is engaging and not what you would expect from the synopsis. Mystery, murder, thrill, romance, complex diabolical plans, this books has it all.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Great

I really enjoyed this novel. It was interesting and compelling. The plot and the details from the space ships to the fight scenes were spot on and felt so real! I really liked all the science fiction facts and Nemesis. Tyrus and Nemesis were so right for each other and I even enjoyed the loyalty between Nemesis and Sidonia. Filled with action, betrayal and the fight for the throne, this is one novel not to be missed!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."
The Slithery Shakedown: The Nocturnals (Grow & Read Early Reader, Level 2)
 
3.5
"In this sequel to The Midnight Meeting, we rejoin Bismark the sugar glider, Tobin the pangolin and Dawn the fox...."
Beat Bugs: In My Life (I Can Read Level 1)
 
4.0
"Illustrated with stills from the television program with light colored font, children will enjoy identifying the characters they know from..."
Scroll of Kings (The Lost Books #1)
 
4.0
"Alex is struggling as the apprentice to an elderly librarian at a castle filled with old, musty diaries and laundry..."
 
5.0
"Tristan's family decides to move from New York City to a small town after his father loses his job and..."
Sparks!
 
4.5
"Canine configuration engage! August, a cat, has created a robotic dog that his friend Charlie helps him run. With the..."
A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)
 
4.0
"The children in the Killbots whose plane went down have suffered from having friends die, being stuck in all sorts..."
Marge in Charge and the Stolen Treasure (#2)
 
4.0
"Jemima and her little brother Jakey are being bedeviled by their baby cousin, Zara. Their Aunt Sally claims that her..."
Super Sweet Dreams (Puppy Princess #2)
 
4.0
"In this sequel to Party Time, Princess Rosie finds out that her best friend (and cat-in-waiting) Cleo's birthday is coming..."
How to Be a Supervillain: Born to Be Good (#2)
 
4.0
"Victor Spoil is back after defeating Dr. Deplorable in How to Be a Supervillian. He's still struggling with wanting to..."
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
 
4.0
"Lucy lives with her supportive grandmother, and frequently sees her uncle, who is young, fun, and a bit misguided. Lucy..."
Me, Frida, and the Secret of the Peacock Ring
 
5.0
"Paloma Marquez has to spend the summer in Mexico City with her mother, who has gotten a fellowship to study..."
The Parker Inheritance
 
4.0
"Candice's grandmother was a city official in the small town of Lambert before she fell into disrepute. She thought there..."
 
4.0
"In this level one beginning reader, Pete and his friends adventure into the back yard to look for bugs. They..."
My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble (I Can Read Level 2)
 
5.0
"This level two I Can Read book follows the exploits of Ryan, who loves all sports! He is on a..."
The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody
 
5.0
"Oliver is very interested in all of the details of the Civil War, so he's thrilled when his 7th grade..."
There Was an Old Pirate Who Swallowed a Map!
 
4.0
""There was an old pirate who swallowed a map. I don't know why she swallowed that map but it wasn't..."