One Half From The East

One Half From The East Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
123   0
Write Review
One Half From The East
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 06, 2016
ISBN
978-0062421906
Buy This Book
      

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A heart-wrenching look at Afghan culture through the eyes of a child

In present-day Afghanistan, after a season of misfortune, Obayda and her family must move to a small town to live under the care of her uncle and his family. In a bid for good luck, her mother decides her daughter Obayda will become her son, Obayd—a bacha posh. In the blink of an eye, Obayd becomes a boy with the kind of freedom she’s never experienced. It’s a heady thing for a girl who has been sheltered under a mantle of rules and traditions her whole life.

As Obayd’s tale unfolds, the author highlights gender inequalities among the Afghan cultures. Gender equality is something I’m passionate about so I was quick to pick this book up. (And it’s such a beautifully designed book!)

It is important to note that the intended audience is young readers, ages 8 to 12. As an adult reader, the story might not resonate as a powerful, gritty look at the subject matter. But for the intended age, the book is done quite well and is a great tool to help young girls see beyond their own cultures and appreciate the freedoms they have.

I was disappointed to see the story end without bringing closure to Rahima’s story. Her story ended so abruptly, like a thread of the main story that was just forgotten once the two bacha posh went their separate ways. However, I was happy to see that Rahima’s story continues in an earlier novel, “The Pearl That Broke Its Shell.”

“One Half From The East” is an eye-opening story that will surely foster a rich dialogue between parents/teachers and children on the subject of gender roles and inequality.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Zenn Diagram
Eva Walker is a seventeen-year-old math genius. And if that...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Agent of Chaos.jpg
How did Fox Mulder become a believer? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devilsadvocate.jpg
How did Dana Scully become a skeptic? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lostinthe Pacific.jpg
World War II, October 21, 1942. A B-17 bomber drones...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Nightmare
To be a normal teenage girl. To forget about the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I am sixteen years old and I will die on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can she bring these girls together? When she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Quinn can't feel physical pain. Born with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Laerka is a Southern Gothic tale of rescue. It features...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ronit and Jamil
Pamela L. Laskin’s beautiful and lyrical novel in verse delivers...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sealed with a Lie (Two Lies and a Spy #2)
In this sequel to the romantic spy-thriller Two Lies and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Ruby Circle
The epic conclusion to Richelle Mead’s bestselling Bloodlines...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let the Wind Rise (Sky Fall #3)
The breathtaking action and whirlwind adventure build to a climax...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Carve The Mark
On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hello, my name is Claire Annette. Like you, I want...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)