One Half From The East

One Half From The East

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
555   0
Write Review
One Half From The East
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 06, 2016
ISBN
978-0062421906
Buy This Book
      

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A heart-wrenching look at Afghan culture through the eyes of a child

In present-day Afghanistan, after a season of misfortune, Obayda and her family must move to a small town to live under the care of her uncle and his family. In a bid for good luck, her mother decides her daughter Obayda will become her son, Obayd—a bacha posh. In the blink of an eye, Obayd becomes a boy with the kind of freedom she’s never experienced. It’s a heady thing for a girl who has been sheltered under a mantle of rules and traditions her whole life.

As Obayd’s tale unfolds, the author highlights gender inequalities among the Afghan cultures. Gender equality is something I’m passionate about so I was quick to pick this book up. (And it’s such a beautifully designed book!)

It is important to note that the intended audience is young readers, ages 8 to 12. As an adult reader, the story might not resonate as a powerful, gritty look at the subject matter. But for the intended age, the book is done quite well and is a great tool to help young girls see beyond their own cultures and appreciate the freedoms they have.

I was disappointed to see the story end without bringing closure to Rahima’s story. Her story ended so abruptly, like a thread of the main story that was just forgotten once the two bacha posh went their separate ways. However, I was happy to see that Rahima’s story continues in an earlier novel, “The Pearl That Broke Its Shell.”

“One Half From The East” is an eye-opening story that will surely foster a rich dialogue between parents/teachers and children on the subject of gender roles and inequality.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Brightly Burning
Stella Ainsley leaves poverty behind when she quits her engineering...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
All's Faire in Middle School
Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
No Sad Songs
Following a family tragedy, 18-year-old Gabe LoScuda suddenly finds...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground #1)
Turned into a vampire at the age of two,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The 11:11 Wish
Megan Meyers has a foolproof plan to reinvent herself...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonkyn
Marc used to think he was pretty ordinary, but...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fragile Facade (Blind Barriers Trilogy #1)
The Brightest Smiles Hide the Darkest Secrets.... When Raven...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
This Tiny Perfect World
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Silver Mask
A generation ago, Constantine Madden came close to achieving what...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tombs
New York, 1882. A dark, forbidding city, and no place...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Exile
Rosi must decide what she’s willing to risk to save...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Teeth of the Gods
Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Alfonso Jones
Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unearthed
From the New York Times best-selling author duo Amie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Boyfriend Agreement
Fake boyfriends are hard work. When 16-year-old Bella’s dream...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Brightly Burning
 
4.0
"Seventeen-year-old Stella Ainsley wants to leave the poverty of her spaceship behind. So she applies for a governess job on..."
No Sad Songs
 
4.0
"The first thing that popped into my mind when I read No Sad Song's synopsis was: this sounds familiar. It's..."
The 11:11 Wish
 
4.0
"'The 11:11 Wish' by Kim Tomsic basks in the power of the unthinkable, yet totally imaginable. Every young person (and..."
Dragonkyn
 
4.0
"When Marc hits puberty, something inside of him starts to change. The first thing he notices is that heat doesn't..."
Children of Exile
 
3.7
"Rosi is twelve-years-old and she and the other children of Fredtown were taken from an unsafe situation with their birth..."
I Am Alfonso Jones
 
5.0
"Alfonso Jones is a bright teen who is excited to try out for Hamlet at his school. When he and..."
Believarexic
 
3.3
"BELIEVAREXIC is the fictionalized memoir of author JJ Johnson's stay in an eating disorder unit (EDU) in the 80s. The..."
This Tiny Perfect World
 
3.0
"Things that worked: The small town setting. Although it felt restrictive to the main character, a small town story often..."
The Traitor Prince
 
4.3
"An adventurous, accessible YA fantasy—with likely appeal for fans of An Ember In The Ashes. Based loosely on an..."
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
 
5.0
"You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone was one of the last books I read in 2017 and I couldn't have..."
The Stars at Oktober Bend
 
5.0
"Alice Nightingale is broken. It's been three years since the horrific act that left her under the "spell of twelveness"--a..."
Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All
 
4.7
"This is a collection of short stories told from the point of view of the wives of King Henry VIII...."
The Bone Sparrow
 
5.0
"Subhi is a refugee. Born in an Australian permanent detention center after his mother and sister fled the violence of..."
Turtles All the Way Down
 
3.0
"This book, no matter how extremely well written, is not for me. I read fiction to escape from reality. Green..."
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
 
5.0
"I've never read something that was written as if it's for a movie screenplay! WHAT I LIKED ..."
The Traitor Prince
 
5.0
"THE TRAITOR PRINCE is the latest installment in C.J. Redwine’s series of companion novels set in the Ravenspire world, each..."
My Name is Victoria
 
3.3
"Intriguing 'what if' look into what might have happened if Sir John Conway's daughter wasn't an enemy, but dear friend..."
Caraval
 
4.7
"I had heard a lot of hype surrounding this book and was not disappointed. Can't wait for the next book,..."
Unearthed
 
3.3
"Indiana Jones meets Myst on an alien planet. There's lots of tension when scavenger Amelia meets disgraced professor's son Jules..."
The Dazzling Heights
 
4.0
"I really enjoyed The Thousandth Floor last year, it was one of the books that surprised me with how much..."