One Half From The East

One Half From The East Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
188   0
Write Review
One Half From The East
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 06, 2016
ISBN
978-0062421906
Buy This Book
      

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A heart-wrenching look at Afghan culture through the eyes of a child

In present-day Afghanistan, after a season of misfortune, Obayda and her family must move to a small town to live under the care of her uncle and his family. In a bid for good luck, her mother decides her daughter Obayda will become her son, Obayd—a bacha posh. In the blink of an eye, Obayd becomes a boy with the kind of freedom she’s never experienced. It’s a heady thing for a girl who has been sheltered under a mantle of rules and traditions her whole life.

As Obayd’s tale unfolds, the author highlights gender inequalities among the Afghan cultures. Gender equality is something I’m passionate about so I was quick to pick this book up. (And it’s such a beautifully designed book!)

It is important to note that the intended audience is young readers, ages 8 to 12. As an adult reader, the story might not resonate as a powerful, gritty look at the subject matter. But for the intended age, the book is done quite well and is a great tool to help young girls see beyond their own cultures and appreciate the freedoms they have.

I was disappointed to see the story end without bringing closure to Rahima’s story. Her story ended so abruptly, like a thread of the main story that was just forgotten once the two bacha posh went their separate ways. However, I was happy to see that Rahima’s story continues in an earlier novel, “The Pearl That Broke Its Shell.”

“One Half From The East” is an eye-opening story that will surely foster a rich dialogue between parents/teachers and children on the subject of gender roles and inequality.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

    

    

   

   

    

   

   

   

    

    

   

  

It's Live!! Book Trailer Reveal: The Princess and the Page by Christina Farley + Giveaway   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

Sci-Fi Junior High
Kelvin Klosmo isn't just the new kid at...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Insects: The Most Fun Bug Book Ever
Popular science writer Sneed B. Collard III gets creepy-crawly with...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
North of Happy
His whole life has been mapped out for him… ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dining with Dinosaurs: A Tasty Guide to Mesozoic Munching
Sure you know that T-Rex was the meat-eating king and...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Loveykins
Following a blustery night, Angela Bowling finds a baby bird...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
fortsolitude.jpg
Clark Kent is thrilled when he receives an invite to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Not a Chair!
Grab the best seat in the house with this funny,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A Good Idea
Can the right kind of boy get away with...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Diary of a Tokyo Teen
A book for comic lovers and Japanophiles of all...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2014 NATIONAL INDIE EXCELLENCE AWARD FINALIST! 2014 KINDLE BOOK...
 
4.7
 
4.8 (1)
Waking in Time
Still mourning the loss of her beloved grandmother and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
TheLastHarvest_.jpg
Kim Liggett draws on her childhood during the Satanic Panic...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Who Killed Christopher Goodman.jpg
Inspired by a tragic true event in his past, Allan...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give
Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Long May She Reign.jpg
The Girl of Fire and Thorns meets The Queen...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfall
A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this gripping...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)