Frozen Charlotte

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
753   0
Write Review
Frozen Charlotte
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 29, 2016
ISBN
9780545941082
Buy This Book
      

When her best friend dies under mysterious circumstances, Sophie sets off to stay with her cousins on the remote Isle of Skye. It's been years since she last saw them--brooding Cameron with his scarred hand; Piper, who seems too perfect to be real; and peculiar little Lilias with her fear of bones. Still, Sophie never expected the strange new rules the family now lives by: Make no mention of Cameron's accident. Never leave the front gate unlocked. Above all, don't speak of the girl who's no longer there, the sister whose death might have closer ties to Sophie's past--and more sinister consequences for her future--than she ever knew.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Don't play with the creepy dolls!

Sophie seems to have very bad luck when it comes to the supernatural, but she's never entirely sure that unexplained forces are to blame. Is it really the Ouija board app that causes her best friend Jay to drown? Wracked with grief and no small portion of guilt, Sophie is sent off to the wind swept Island of Skye to be with her cousins and uncle. This doesn't seem like a particularly good idea-- Cameron has had an accident that leaves him sensitive and withdrawn, and no one is allowed to talk about it. Lilias is obsessed with the dolls that belonged to her dead sister. Piper seems normal, but that may only be a front she uses so that she can manipulate everyone around her. When the dolls, a relic from the house's past use as a girls' school, start to come to life in extremely frightening ways, the adults seem to be completely clueless. Not only are the dolls a threat, but her cousins' dysfunctions rise to the surface as well. Can Sophie save herself from the mounting forces of evil?

Good Points
Sophie was a great character who was trying to make the best of a bad situation. She has fond memories of her cousins and time spent at their house, and is overwhelmed at how things have changed. She's trying very hard to get over the death of her friend, Jay, and her parents are being supportive and constructive-- her mother reassures her that the app couldn't have caused or even predicted Jay's death. The fact that she hears voices and gets panicked by them seems out of character for her, and therefore all the more frightening.

The cousins are also well portrayed. Does she have an emotional or mental problem? Is she really possessed by dolls? Is Piper good or evil? What's up with Cameron? He seems like a good guy most of the time, but when will his accident be explained? The delicious air of uncertainly makes this book even more harrowing. I'm not a fan of being scared, but Frozen Charlotte certainly achieves this affect in a subtle yet utterly spine chilling way.

Perfect for fans of Katie Alender, Monaghan's Mary series and Rachel Hawkins' Hex Hall books, Frozen Charlotte was a textbook Gothic novel. Desolate house, insane relatives, and creepy killer dolls that are possessed by pure evil, and spreading that evil to family members. Actually, DON'T recommend this to readers who don't like creepy dolls, because you will be responsible for their nightmares!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Children of Refuge
After Edwy is smuggled off to Refuge City to stay...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Smart Cookie
Sometimes you need to keep a few secrets. ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Brightly Burning
Stella Ainsley leaves poverty behind when she quits her engineering...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
All's Faire in Middle School
Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
No Sad Songs
Following a family tragedy, 18-year-old Gabe LoScuda suddenly finds...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground #1)
Turned into a vampire at the age of two,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The 11:11 Wish
Megan Meyers has a foolproof plan to reinvent herself...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonkyn
Marc used to think he was pretty ordinary, but...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fragile Facade (Blind Barriers Trilogy #1)
The Brightest Smiles Hide the Darkest Secrets.... When Raven...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
This Tiny Perfect World
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Silver Mask
A generation ago, Constantine Madden came close to achieving what...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tombs
New York, 1882. A dark, forbidding city, and no place...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Exile
Rosi must decide what she’s willing to risk to save...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Teeth of the Gods
Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Alfonso Jones
Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

By a Charm and a Curse
 
5.0
"Emmaline King is slowly adjusting to her new town. Nothing particularly exciting happens there, so when the Le Grand Carnival..."
Children of Refuge
 
4.3
"CHILDREN OF REFUGE is the second in a series by Margaret Peterson Haddix in which the main characters, Rosi and..."
Smart Cookie
 
4.7
"'Smart Cookie' by Elly Swartz was a predictable, yet cozy feeling story about growing up and all of the troubles..."
Brightly Burning
 
4.0
"Seventeen-year-old Stella Ainsley wants to leave the poverty of her spaceship behind. So she applies for a governess job on..."
No Sad Songs
 
4.0
"The first thing that popped into my mind when I read No Sad Song's synopsis was: this sounds familiar. It's..."
The 11:11 Wish
 
4.0
"'The 11:11 Wish' by Kim Tomsic basks in the power of the unthinkable, yet totally imaginable. Every young person (and..."
Dragonkyn
 
4.0
"When Marc hits puberty, something inside of him starts to change. The first thing he notices is that heat doesn't..."
Children of Exile
 
3.7
"Rosi is twelve-years-old and she and the other children of Fredtown were taken from an unsafe situation with their birth..."
I Am Alfonso Jones
 
5.0
"Alfonso Jones is a bright teen who is excited to try out for Hamlet at his school. When he and..."
Believarexic
 
3.3
"BELIEVAREXIC is the fictionalized memoir of author JJ Johnson's stay in an eating disorder unit (EDU) in the 80s. The..."
This Tiny Perfect World
 
3.0
"Things that worked: The small town setting. Although it felt restrictive to the main character, a small town story often..."
The Traitor Prince
 
4.3
"An adventurous, accessible YA fantasy—with likely appeal for fans of An Ember In The Ashes. Based loosely on an..."
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
 
5.0
"You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone was one of the last books I read in 2017 and I couldn't have..."
The Stars at Oktober Bend
 
5.0
"Alice Nightingale is broken. It's been three years since the horrific act that left her under the "spell of twelveness"--a..."
Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All
 
4.7
"This is a collection of short stories told from the point of view of the wives of King Henry VIII...."
The Bone Sparrow
 
5.0
"Subhi is a refugee. Born in an Australian permanent detention center after his mother and sister fled the violence of..."
Turtles All the Way Down
 
3.0
"This book, no matter how extremely well written, is not for me. I read fiction to escape from reality. Green..."
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
 
5.0
"I've never read something that was written as if it's for a movie screenplay! WHAT I LIKED ..."
The Traitor Prince
 
5.0
"THE TRAITOR PRINCE is the latest installment in C.J. Redwine’s series of companion novels set in the Ravenspire world, each..."
My Name is Victoria
 
3.3
"Intriguing 'what if' look into what might have happened if Sir John Conway's daughter wasn't an enemy, but dear friend..."