The Silent Songbird

The Silent Songbird

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
256   0
Write Review
The Silent Songbird
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
November 08, 2016
ISBN
9780718026318
Buy This Book
      
From New York Times bestselling author comes The Silent Songbird!

Evangeline is gifted with a heavenly voice, but she is trapped in a sinister betrothal until she embarks on a daring escape and meets brave Westley le Wyse. Can he help her discover the freedom to sing again?

Desperate to flee a political marriage to her cousin King Richard II’s closest advisor, Lord Shiveley—a man twice her age with shadowy motives—Evangeline runs away and joins a small band of servants journeying back to Glynval, their home village.

Pretending to be mute, she gets to know Westley le Wyse, their handsome young leader, who is intrigued by the beautiful servant girl. But when the truth comes out, it may shatter any hope that love could grow between them.

More than Evangeline’s future is at stake as she finds herself entangled in a web of intrigue that threatens England’s monarchy.Should she give herself up to protect the only person who cares about her? If she does, who will save the king from a plot to steal his throne?

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

New York Times bestselling author puts her spin on “The Little Mermaid”

Romantic Times Book Reviews
"Dickerson weaves a compelling tale that takes place long ago in England. Written in the third person omniscient point of view, we encounter lies, deceit, attempted murder, jealousy, rage, forgiveness, faith and hope. This book will have you jumping out of your seat with anticipation at times. Moderate to fast-paced, you will not want this book to end. Recommended for all, especially lovers of historical romance."

Good Points
The appeal of re-creating fairy tale characters, like those in television’s “One Upon a Time,” “Grimm” and “Beauty and The Beast” continues to grow in pop media--and in the literary world, too. That’s why New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson’s “The Silent Songbird,” an adaptation of “The Little Mermaid,” promises to be a hit when it releases Nov. 8.

Dickerson has received acclaim for her clever novels, having already crafted new narratives for “The Frog Prince,” “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs” and “Sleeping Beauty.” Her book, “The Beautiful Pretender,” was a mash-up of “The Princess and the Pea” and “Beauty and the Beast.”

Julie Lessman, award-winning author of “The Daughters of Boston,” called “The Beautiful Pretender” a “brilliant gem.”

“When it comes to happily-ever-afters, Melanie is the undisputed queen of fairy-tale romance,” said Lessman.

“The Silent Songbird,” takes the classic aquatic tale out of its under-the-sea setting and into a medieval world with fresh dilemmas and a winning cast of heroic characters.

Romantic Times Book Reviews touts, “the story will have you jumping out of their seat with anticipation at times. Moderate to fast-paced, you will not want this book to end. Recommended for all, especially lovers of historical romance.”

This book promises to be a favorite among fans of storybook and TV fairy re-tales alike.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

Silent
For fans of The Book Thief and Raiders of the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
House of Furies
An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfall
A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. Keep calm and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History of Hilary Hambrushina
Hilary has one goal for her first year in junior...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Posted.png
From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kat Richardson isn’t running away from grief; she’s just hiding...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wonder of Us
Riya and Abby are: Best friends. Complete opposites. Living...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Slope Rules
Fifteen-year old Cally accepted her fate as one of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex, Approximately
In this delightfully charming...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
31618483.jpg
A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Maybe, just maybe, if I can convince Dad that I’m...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)