The Faerie Guardian

The Faerie Guardian

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1481   0
Write Review
The Faerie Guardian
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 27, 2012
ISBN
9780994667908

Protecting humans from dangerous magical creatures is all in a day’s work for a faerie training to be a guardian. Seventeen-year-old Violet Fairdale knows this better than anyone—she’s about to become the best guardian the Guild has seen in years. That is, until a cute human boy who can somehow see through her faerie glamor follows her into the Fae realm. Now she’s broken Guild Law, a crime that could lead to her expulsion. The last thing Vi wants to do is spend any more time with the boy who got her into this mess, but the Guild requires that she return Nate to his home and make him forget everything he’s discovered of the Fae realm. Easy, right? Not when you factor in evil faeries, long-lost family members, and inconvenient feelings of the romantic kind. Vi is about to find herself tangled up in a dangerous plot—and it’ll take all her training to get out alive.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Alluring Fae World

“Don’t stand on the mushrooms. They don’t like it.” In THE FAERIE GUARDIAN, Rachel Morgan creates an enchanting fae world that brings the words to life.

Violet is a Guardian fae who protects humans. But her newest assignment, Nate, doesn’t go over so well when he sees her. Humans aren’t supposed to see faeries, but Nate can see Violet and even follows her into the fae realm. Throw in that along with Violet’s immediate attraction towards him and Violet finds herself in trouble.

I loved Nate’s character and how he provides most of the comedic relief, which makes the story even more entertaining. Instead of being fearful of the fae world, Nate takes it all in stride with comments like “pinch me”. He uses jokes to deal with discovering a whole new world. But he has layers of his own that not even he knows about and Violet is the only one that can help him discover who he his. She is the only one who can find his birth Mom.

Violet's life takes a turn for the better with Nate's presence by experiencing her first love, but the good doesn’t last forever. Soon, Violet finds herself the target of an evil fae named Zell. He wants to use her ability for his own reasons. The ability to find anyone.

Final verdict: THE FAERIE GUARDIAN was an exciting read and any fans of fae books, like Sarah J. Maas, aren't going to want to miss this one. It's full of all types of mythical creatures like goblins, trolls, halflings, pixies, and many more. I’m off to eagerly begin the second in the series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Faeries, Halflings, Humans. Oh, My.

THE FAERIE GUARDIAN by Rachel Morgan is the first of a series. The story follows the lead character, Violet Fairdale, a faerie guardian in training. While she isn’t human, she behaves just like a normal teenager -- that is one who has supreme fighting skills and can pull weapons out of thin air. Violet deals with falling in love for the first time, learning when and how to wear a dress, a suspension from school, and the loss of friends and family members. With that being said, there is a genuine contemporary feel to this fantasy novel that blurs the lines of genre and makes the read a lot of fun.

Many elements of the faeries’ lives mirror that of people today in the real world. In the book, for example, the faeries do not have cell phones, but they are able to essentially text message each other on slabs of amber. The young faeries also use social media sites, as displayed in one of the bonus scenes, “Ryn.” Additionally, the way the characters talk and relate to one another feels very colloquial, as they use familiar phrases and words. Consequently, the fantastical elements, though present and uniquely intriguing, do not overwhelm the story. As a result, Creepy Hollow, Violet’s home, seems like it could realistically coexist with ours.

The read on a whole is very light and quick. I was never bored and because I really cared about the lead character, it was impossible to put the book down. The plot twist that happens during the second half of the novel also completely switched the dynamic between everyone and took me by surprise. I am very curious to see the ripple effects of this twist in the next two books and to see how these characters continue to change and interact given the new circumstances.

Overall, THE FAERIE GUARDIAN by Rachel Morgan is very clever, entertaining, and simply put, a good read.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."
Dance of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #1)
 
5.0
"Absolutely fantastic! "Dance of Thieves" is a really wonderful YA fantasy that takes place in the world of 'The Remnant..."