The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)

The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)

Featured
 
4.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
489   0
Write Review
The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 14, 2017
ISBN
9780062360272
Buy This Book
      
An epic fantasy inspired by the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale, about a bastard princess who must take on an evil fae to save her brother’s soul, from the New York Times bestselling author ofThe Shadow Queen. The world has turned upside down for Thad and Ari Glavan, the bastard twins of Súndraille’s king. Their mother was murdered. The royal family died mysteriously. And now Thad sits on the throne of a kingdom whose streets are suddenly overrun with violence that he can’t stop. Growing up ignored by the nobility, Ari never wanted to be a proper princess. And when Thad suddenly starts training Ari to take his place, she realizes that her brother’s ascension to the throne wasn’t fate. It was the work of a Wish Granter named Alistair Teague, who tricked Thad into wishing away both the safety of his people and his soul in exchange for the crown. So Ari recruits the help of Thad’s enigmatic new weapons master, Sebastian Vaughn, to teach her how to fight Teague. With secret ties to Teague’s criminal empire, Sebastian might just hold the key to discovering Alistair’s weaknesses, saving Ari’s brother—and herself. But Teague is ruthless and more than ready to destroy anyone who dares stand in his way—and now he has his sights set on the princess. And if Ari can’t outwit him, she’ll lose Sebastian, her brother...and her soul.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Spinning Gold

An uncommon fairytale retelling, with an equally uncommon heroine—ideal for fans of Once Upon A Time.

While tied to the first book in the Ravenspire series, The Wish Granter stands perfectly well on its own. It is told in a similar way--primarily dual POV in past-tense, with a smattering of the villain’s perspective threaded through. The resulting effect is consistent and cohesive. Some of the re-imagined elements (i.e. Hansel & Gretel: Monster Wranglers) posed intriguing worldbuilding questions that readers may look forward to being answered in future installments.

The Heroine:
Arianna Glavan never asked to be a princess. When the ruling mantle inexplicably falls to her and her twin brother Thad, she tries to make the best of their newfound responsibilities. But while the kingdom of Sundraille is their home, it doesn’t accept the illegitimate heirs with open arms. Their leadership turns out to be little more than a puppet dictatorship under the thumb of a drug-dealing Fae kingpin named Alistair Teague. Defying Teague means death, but submitting to him means the corrosive destruction of everything good in Sundraille.

Ari is an exceedingly pleasant departure from Redwine’s previous heroines. (As much as I enjoy a no-nonsense kick-butt warrior for a protagonist, it’s nice to see an author flex their range.) She is quick-witted, pithily sarcastic, deeply caring—immediately likeable. She also happens to be plus-sized, ethnically blended, and reeling from a lifetime of being the ignored bastard child of the king rather than a “true” royalty. Never mind the fact that she’d rather be baking up a storm than trying to run an ungrateful, disintegrating kingdom.

Thad: “But this is a boy, and you need to think of your reputation if you’re spending time alone with him—”

Ari: ”Learning how to put a man's eye out or take him down at the knees. Very romantic stuff, Thad. Very romantic. Oh, and we also hid a body together, so we're practically engaged.”


All hail Princess Sassy-Pants! (I’m looking at you, Disney.)

The Hero:
Sebastian is a sympathetic hero, escaping a dismally awful background in hopes of a better life away from the drugs, abuse, and organized crime that were seemingly his birthright. His new job at the palace lands him directly in the path of the unorthodox—and doggedly determined--princess. Her insistence on treating him as an equal is enough to gradually chip away at his damaged past and sense of inferiority. While the eventual romance that develops between them is the kind that springs forth from a desperate thrown-together situation, it’s all the more believable for it.

My primary qualm with this story was in wishing there was something even mildly redemptive about Sebastian’s mother. I could accept his father being an abusive, 1-dimensional villain... but I was hoping for more depth out of the drug-seeking woman he felt motivated to fund a better life for. (Even just a memory or two of a time when she’d been more maternal, or a theory as to what hurts from her past drove her to this lifestyle, would have probably sufficed.) As it was, I struggled to understand how Sebastian could have turned out as an even vaguely honorable and/or functional human being—given there was no hint of any positive adult influence in his upbringing.

I also would have loved to see more of that living Fae house that came into play at the halfway point. It is said that a location can be a secondary character if portrayed well, but this reader had never before seen the concept taken so literally!

On the whole, this book is likely to prove an endearing and memorable experience for any medium-fantasy or fairytale enthusiast.

Favorite Quote:
"Sometimes having courage means the hardest tasks fall onto your shoulders, and those leave the biggest scars.”

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A Terrific Fairy Tale

As THE WISH GRANTER begins, the King of Sundraille’s illegitimate children, Thaddeus and Arianna, are trying to escape being murdered by their father’s wife to ensure her children are the ones who will inherit her husband’s throne. As Ari sleeps nearby, Thad’s desperation summons Alistair Teague to his side. Teague is one of the powerful fae known as the Wish Granter, and he bargains for humans’ souls in exchange for their deepest desires. Thad wishes to keep his sister safe, and Teague convinces him that the best way to do that is by becoming king—and giving Teague free reign to conduct his illicit businesses within the kingdom of Sundraille. In exchange, Thad’s soul will be turned over to the Wish Granter ten years later.

In the pages that follow, Thad fades into the background as Ari discovers that her brother has bartered his soul and his kingdom to save her, and she is determined to save him in exchange. Ari’s intelligence and tenaciousness are well developed through the story, and her sass, loyalty, and enjoyment of food—both cooking it and eating it—make her lovable and relatable. Early in the book, Ari befriends the new weapons master, Sebastian, and his fighting skill and knowledge of Teague’s business enterprises complement Ari’s strengths as the two work together to save the realm.

Ari quickly became one of my favorite female protagonists in YA literature, and I was happy that the development of her relationship with Sebastian was written so thoughtfully. It was great to see Ari maintain her independence, resilience, and resourcefulness throughout the book while slowly entering into a friendship-turned-romance with Sebastian.

Redwine writes the action sequences clearly and well, and despite the many twists and turns in the plot, I was never lost. The book is inspired by Rumplestiltskin, and the author doesn’t flinch from adhering to the edgy side of the classic tales. Alistair Teague is a merciless character, and this book is a far cry from a Disney retelling—something I really appreciate.

I have CJ Redwine’s THE SHADOW QUEEN, the companion book to THE WISH GRANTER, on my to-read list. I’ll definitely be moving up to the top of the pile based on the strength of this book.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.

Good Points
Great writing

Wonderful, strong, female protagonist
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

 

   

    

    

   

 

   

   

   

    

Latest Book Listings Added

#famous
In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crazy Messy Beautiful
From National Book Award finalist Carrie Arcos--a fresh take on...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shakespeare Retold
A beautifully illustrated collection of prose retellings of seven Shakespeare...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
klutz-design-your-dream-room-cover.png
Design your room, your way! - Punch-out pieces...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fancy Nancy: Nancy Clancy Seeks a Fortune
Nancy Clancy learns all about starting a business and making...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Darth Vader: Sith Lord
Who is Darth Vader? How did the once great Jedi...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Runes (Book 1)
Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
FREEKS
Mara has become used to the extraordinary. Roaming from place...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy
Three kids. A hotel full of monsters. And a stolen...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Vigilante
A brutally honest, uncompromising story about a teen girl who...
 
2.7
 
0.0 (0)
Wanted, Book 1 of The Chase Ryder Series
The award-winning creator and screenwriter of ground-breaking BBC television show,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lost Girls
Yesterday, Rachel went to sleep listening to Taylor Swift, curled...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Alone (Generations #3)
In the final installment of an exhilarating sci-fi adventure trilogy...
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
The Unexpected Life of Oliver Cromwell Pitts
In the seaside town of Melcombe Regis, England, 1724, Oliver...
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Izzy Kline Has Butterflies
It's a new school year, and Izzy Kline is having...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The World's Greatest Detective
Caroline Carlson, author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)