A Torch Against The Night

A Torch Against The Night

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.3 (1)
883   0
Write Review
A Torch Against The Night
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 30, 2016
ISBN
13: 9781101998878
Buy This Book
      

A Torch Against the Night takes readers into the heart of the Empire as Laia and Elias fight their way north to liberate Laia’s brother from the horrors of Kauf Prison. Hunted by Empire soldiers, manipulated by the Commandant, and haunted by their pasts, Laia and Elias must outfox their enemies and confront the treacherousness of their own hearts. In the city of Serra, Helene Aquilla finds herself bound to the will of the Empire’s twisted new leader, Marcus. When her loyalty is questioned, Helene finds herself taking on a mission to prove herself—a mission that might destroy her, instead.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Great follow up!

Oh boy! This book was a great ride! The story picks up immediately after the events of Ember, which was a relief because the first book ended in a cliffhanger.

For this book, we get three POVs, now including Helene which is really amazing because I like her equally as the main characters. Another thing I like about the characters is that they have equal exposure, and the conflict that arises between them, against them, and the Empire brings so much depth to their character’s story arc and development. I really enjoyed Helene’s chapters and she’s one of the most interesting characters I’ve ever read.

As usual, Tahir’s writing style is excellent and the story was gracefully executed. It’s fast paced, yet consistent and the character’s voices are distinct. I think the romance was explored more here, compared to Ember and I like it that it’s slow-burned, which of course led me to feeling warm and fuzzy at times. I like the little cute banter Laia and Elias have sometimes, but at the same time I enjoy Helene having feelings towards Elias too, which leaves her character in such complex situation, and in a good way, it’s cool to see it unfold.

I remember in the first book, I had a little problem with the world-building but I think I got settled more because of this book, since I’m already familiar with the setting of the book. Basically, I can imagine them clearly now.

Overall, I love this book more than I did Ember and it’s such a joy to see the writing and the story elevate more. I think I just had a little problem with Laia’s character, like I felt she got a little too naive at times, which is okay for a character but I’d say she needs to be better. I’m sort of guessing that I’m liking Helene’s character compared to her, but I think that’s because Helene’s story got explored further in this. Anyway, this is a solid sequel and I cannot wait to read the next ones!

Good Points
amazing character development, kickass main characters, action-packed
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Another Winner

While to me, this installment was not as good as Ember was, it's still a great read! I loved getting Helene's point of view. I freaking love her! She's my favorite character in this whole series. She just outshines everyone else. She is so kickass and I just love her.

This one also moves a little slower till we get towards the middle then it freaking takes off and doesn't let you go! That ending is so mind blowing that it's worth getting through the little bit of slowness in the middle. Trust me.

Though after that ending, I went insane... two years. Two years for the next book. I can't even fathom that kind of wait. I'm going to die waiting that long! How can this be?! I would sell my right leg for a a way to time travel just skip ahead and get the book. Then I'd come back, after getting a few other books of course.

I love this audiobook, the narrators are superb at their job! Every single one of them. I was nervous going into a new POV, worried the voice wouldn't fit. I was nervous for no reason. They bring the story to life in ways that I'd miss otherwise.

*SPOILERS BELOW THIS WARNING*

The stakes are just as high in this one as in Ember. Elias is so close to death that I could feel it coming. There was no way he wasn't going to die, too much buildup and it was heart breaking to see. It was like a dentist appointment, you know you have to go and that it's going to happen, but you dread it anyway. I did like the twist that with his story, I thought it was fitting and I was just glad that he hasn't left the story because I need him in my life. I will kindly doctor sick Elias any time at all!

Laia... she is the reason that this story gets a star knocked off. How she flip flopped between Elias and Keenan so much. She even sleeps with Keenan when she really wants Elias but he's told her no because he's dying... just ugh no. Laia why?! You were getting stronger, smarter and I really loved you. Then you had to go off and sleep with the bad guy? Good job.

I never liked Keenan now I know why.

Helene's part I did love the best, I cried when her family was killed. I felt for her so much. She was just doing what was right and almost everyone she loved was killed. I still can't fully process it all. It was heartbreaking but the ending made up for it. Helene is totally going to get revenge and I hope she kills them all. They don't deserve her. She is a diamond in the rough for sure.

Lastly, the book can't get here fast enough. It's a great story, brutal and harsh with not much sweetness but it's a hard hitter and doesn't let up. A thrill ride!

As long as you fight the darkness you stand in the light.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."