One Paris Summer

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
605   0
Write Review
One Paris Summer
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 07, 2016
ISBN
978-0310755166
Buy This Book
      

Most teens dream of visiting the City of Lights, but it feels more like a nightmare for Sophie Brooks. She and her brother are sent to Paris to spend the summer with their father, who left home a year ago without any explanation. As if his sudden abandonment weren't betrayal enough, he's about to remarry, and they’re expected to play nice with his soon-to-be wife and stepdaughter. The stepdaughter, Camille, agrees to show them around the city, but she makes it clear that she will do everything in her power to make Sophie miserable. Sophie could deal with all the pain and humiliation if only she could practice piano. Her dream is to become a pianist, and she was supposed to spend the summer preparing for a scholarship competition. Even though her father moved to Paris to pursue his own dream, he clearly doesn't support hers. His promise to provide her with a piano goes unfulfilled. Still, no one is immune to Paris’s charm. After a few encounters with a gorgeous French boy, Sophie finds herself warming to the city, particularly when she discovers that he can help her practice piano. There’s just one hitch—he’s a friend of Camille’s, and Camille hates Sophie. While the summer Sophie dreaded promises to become best summer of her life, one person could ruin it all.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: May 14, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

An Adorable Book About First Love and Following Your Dreams

Comment beau! One Paris Summer is a lovely summer read perfect for fans of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith & Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.

The story follows 16 year old Sophie Brooks as she and her older brother are forced to spend the summer in Paris in order to attend their father's wedding. While anyone else would be thrilled at the idea of visiting Paris, Sophie is battling against her feelings of her father's abandonment little over a year ago, and can't quite come to terms that she's also meeting her new stepmother and stepsister.However, everything could have been better if only her father had kept his promise of getting her a piano to practice, for she is a talented pianist who hopes to gain a scholarship back home and needs all the practice she can get. But seeming as he is against of her following her own dreams, Sophie is left to deal with a terrible stepsister who might ruin all the things she loves (and comes to love).

What I Loved:

One Paris Summer has all the elements I love in a YA Contemporary Romance. It has great characters, a beautiful setting, talks about family relationships, and has a relatable main character that grows magnificently throughout the story.

One of its biggest highlights is that there's no evil stepmother in the story (evil stepsister is a whole other thing). Actually, Sophie develops a special mother-daughter bond with Eva that greatly proves how sometimes good things do come out of bad situations or circumstances. It also shows how people who you least expect might become precious later on in your life.

The romance in this book is enchantingly sweet. A first love in the City of Lights with a charming, handsome boy like Mathieu (very French) is the kind that will make readers swoon and run off to learn French like moi! There were a few times that his personality threw me off, but overall, he's a great love interest.

The plot is not something unheard of, yet it manages to stand out well on its own. I love how it tours you through Paris, visiting famous landmarks and also giving a taste of its delicious food.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The issue of Sophie's father running off to Paris (or any other city) without notice is a theme that always sets me on edge. I know these situations happen in real life, but it's something hard to accept when that particular parent doesn't give you enough reasons for his/her leaving, like Sophie's dad. That's why it comes off as unsettling to me when both parents force Sophie and Eric to spend the summer with him in another country AND to meet his new family.

Sophie surprised me by being mature with the whole situation. Yes, she was angry and highly against his father's actions, and yet she comes to forgive him quite easily. While that is wonderful, I wish she had demanded a better explanation from him and her mother to give me, the reader, the chance to also forgive both of them for their immature actions as parents.

Besides Sophie's father, I also had a bit of a hard time swallowing Camille, her terrible stepsister, and Dane, her brother's friend who gets to visit during their stay in Paris. Both are immature and nasty, without a single redeemable quality to them. I would have liked to at least see a sweeter side to Camille since the ending wasn't enough for me.

Final verdict:

One Paris Summer is a trés bien read set in the beautiful city of lights with an adorable romance that blooms in its pages. Although it's not perfect, it had me flipping pages non-stop because it's the kind of YA romance us readers like to fall in love with.

Good Points
Sophie surprises with her maturity and keen sense of following her dreams.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dear Martin
ustyce McAllister is top of his class and set for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Come Home, Angus
Angus woke up mad and knew today was not his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rulers of the Playground
A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
Find rock-solid story ideas before you start writing ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl in the Tower
A remarkable young woman blazes her own trail, from the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Coming Up For Air
Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Landscape with Invisible Hand
National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson returns to future...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
26091228.jpg
Follow-up to the New York Times bestselling novel, Forget Tomorrow!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Me (Amateurs #2)
It was the perfect night for a party. That is,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding
Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his old...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fireblood
Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing
From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome Home
Welcome Home collects a number of adoption-themed fictional short...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Even the Darkest Stars
The first in a sweeping and action-packed debut fantasy...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper #2)
In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Come Home, Angus
 
5.0
"Most of us have days when we just get mad. We don’t know why. We don’t know who is to..."
Rulers of the Playground
 
4.5
"Jonah wants to rule the playground. And he’s a good ruler. Except when he’s not. The problem is that Lennox..."
Plant the Tiny Seed
 
4.5
" This book relies on the interactive nature of read-alouds for young children. Beginning with a single zinnia seed, the..."
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
 
3.5
"In JUNE SPARROW AND THE MILLION DOLLAR PENNY, June Sparrow is a very rich pre-teen living in New York City..."
The Many Worlds of Albie Bright
 
4.0
"Albie Bright’s mom has died after a long illness, and he’s heartbroken. While trying to sort out his feelings..."
Big and Little Are Best Friends
 
4.5
"Big and Little, an elephant and a mouse, are best friends. But their friendship isn't based on common interests. Big..."
How Oscar Indigo Broke the Universe (and Put It Back Together Again)
 
3.0
"Oscar Indigo is a bad baseball player, but he’s a very good teammate. And he’s committed to his role of..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Ultimate Jokes for Kids: 2-in-1 Collection of Awesome Jokes and Road Trip Jokes
 
4.5
"This durable hardback presents a sizable collection of perfectly clean kid’s jokes. There are anywhere from 3-6 jokes per page..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Road Trip Jokes for Kids
 
4.0
"A well-arranged, highly portable collection of kid-friendly jokes. This little paperback book of road trip ready humor is 128..."
Beyond the Doors
 
4.0
"When their dad falls into a coma and their mom is nowhere to be found, the Rothbaum siblings are forced..."
The Great Treehouse War
 
4.5
"THE GREAT TREEHOUSE WAR by Lisa Graff is the story of Winnie Malladi-Maraj and her nine friends. It’s told in..."
Felix Yz
 
5.0
"FELIX YZ by Lisa Bunker is a creative look at the difficulties of being in middle school, although the..."
Olive and the Backstage Ghost
 
5.0
"OLIVE AND THE BACKSTAGE GHOST is a middle grade horror/ghost story that is full of suspense. Olive loves to sing,..."
Not on Fifth Street
 
5.0
"Brothers Pete and Gus live with their family in Ironton, Ohio in 1937. Practical Pete, the younger brother, is the..."
Serafina and the Black Cloak
 
5.0
"Creak. Creak. Creak. The floor in the basement of the 1899 Biltmore Estate groaned as a golden-haired girl tiptoed towards..."
The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid
 
4.0
"In 1961, Charlie Fisher is a poor little rich kid whose mother has decided that she's tired of caring for..."
Going Wild #2: Predator vs. Prey
 
4.0
"After getting involved with Project Chimera in Going Wild, Charlie and her mother and brother Andy are struggling with the..."
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street
 
4.0
"The Vanderbeekers family of five children, parents, dog and rabbit have lived on two floors in a brownstone in Harlem...."
 
5.0
"Richard and his family live near Washington, D.C., where his father does something secretive for the government. They live in..."
The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade
 
5.0
"Maverick's mother has trouble keeping a job due to her alcohol consumption, which probably also influences her bad taste in..."