Their Fractured Light (Starbound #3)

Their Fractured Light (Starbound #3)

 
3.0
 
4.0 (1)
737   0
Write Review
Their Fractured Light (Starbound #3)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 01, 2015
ISBN
9781423171041
Buy This Book
      
A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. Some say Flynn’s a madman, others whisper about conspiracies. Nobody knows the truth. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life in front of the cameras, and a secret life away from the world’s gaze.

Now, in the center of the universe on the planet of Corinth, all four are about to collide with two new players, who will bring the fight against LaRoux Industries to a head. Gideon Marchant is an eighteen-year-old computer hacker—a whiz kid and an urban warrior. He’ll climb, abseil and worm his way past the best security measures to pull off onsite hacks that others don’t dare touch.

Sofia Quinn has a killer smile, and by the time you’re done noticing it, she’s got you offering up your wallet, your car, and anything else she desires. She holds LaRoux Industries responsible for the mysterious death of her father and is out for revenge at any cost.

When a LaRoux Industries security breach interrupts Gideon and Sofia’s separate attempts to infiltrate their headquarters, they’re forced to work together to escape. Each of them has their own reason for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries, and neither trusts the other. But working together might be the best chance they have to expose the secrets LRI is so desperate to hide.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Conclusion

THEIR FRACTURED LIGHT is the final installment in this series. Despite the fact that the book centers on a whole new couple (Gideon and Sofia), readers will have to read the previous two books in order to gain an understanding of what's going on. There is not a single way to get around it. Unless you have cheat cards of information.

Let's dig into the Big Bad of the trilogy. LaRoux Industries is run by a man who is Lilac LaRoux's father. He has his evilness decay, and it turns out that even big bad bosses turn into anti-climactic by the end of the book. But all is not totally lost, because there is an even Bigger Bad. Who is it? Well, it's a mystery until you reach 3/4 of the book. Still, for what it's worth, Mr. LaRoux remains a compelling villain with an aura of madness and sadness.

Sofia is back. She made her first appearance in the previous book, and I'm pleasantly surprised by her presence in the third book. It's a similar situation with Gideon Marchant, except that he is mentioned, not actually seen in previous books. Anyway, Sofia has grown since her last appearance. She is dangerous. She is awesome. She is a really good con artist with a vengeful streak. And I love it. She's such a dynamic character who forges her own path.

And there is Gideon. Gideon is the guy who isn't as great as Sofia (in my opinion). He is so awed by her that he practically will follow her anywhere at anytime. Their relationship has their ups and downs, and though they are both narrators, it is Gideon who I really get. (Like Gideon, I admire Sofia, but it is Gideon who is easier to empathize with.)

The plot is packed with action. Gideon and Sofia, once they meet, are running away from the evil corporation. They are betrayed and betrayed and found again and again until their paths finally cross with Lilac, Fynn, Tarver, and Jubilee. That is the moment when everything truly goes to the bottom, and a powerful storm destroys. It's great and scary, because will any of these characters survive? Who knows? (Okay, I know. But you get my point.)

The ending brings the entire trilogy to a close. It's a solid conclusion with most loose ends tied up. However, I do have to point out that some parts of it is anti-climactic, but the last book does work. (The Bigger Bad, unfortunately, has been shoved into the story at the wrong moment, but the situation does get concluded.)

Overall, THEIR FRACTURED LIGHT is a relatively strong ending to the trilogy. This series is for any Sci-Fi/Supernatural fans who love a romance on the side.

Rating: Three out of Five

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

satisfying conclusion

"Their Fractured Light" is a satisfying conclusion to the Starbound trilogy. Each book has followed a different couple along a common thread. I do think you need to have read the previous two books (or at least the first one) to understand what is going on in this finale. The first half of the book follows Sofia, a con-artist, and Gideon, a hacker, both bent on taking down LaRoux Industries for the deaths of loved ones. Running from the corporation, Sofia and Gideon must come together and rely on each other.

The second half of the book brings back the four main characters to combat the main storyline from the first two books. While it was great to see the characters from the earlier books again, this meant that the romance between Sofia and Gideon really took a backseat, and I felt like they didn't get as much as their due as the earlier couples. The first book remains my favorite with the great build, strong mysteries, and fantastic romance. The second one felt weaker in comparison, and this third one became more of an action book than having the strong storyline around the sci-fi/mystery/romance. That being said, it was still enjoyable and I think it did wrap up the trilogy really well.

Overall, this was a satisfying conclusion- it brought everything to a head and resolved it. I really enjoyed this YA sci-fi series and I do recommend for people who like YA sci-fi/romance.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."