The Forbidden Wish

Featured
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
864   1
Write Review
The Forbidden Wish
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 23, 2016
ISBN
9781595147677
Buy This Book
      

She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world... When Aladdin discovers Zahra's jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn't seen in hundreds of years -- a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra's very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes. But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart? As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of Arabian Nights from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

A beautiful, exotic, and magical retelling.

A heart-wrenching tale of love and loss, THE FORBIDDEN WISH tells the story of Zahra, a powerful jinni, and Aladdin, a dashing thief. Their stories become intertwined when Aladdin fines Zahra's lamp and wishes them away from danger, back to his home city of Parthenia. Ruled by a sick King and his cruel Vizier, Parthenia longs for a revolution and freedom. Meanwhile, all Aladdin wants is revenge for the loss of his parents at the Vizier's hand. Using another wish, Aladdin finds himself a false prince in the palace, attempting to win the hand of the aloof princess Caspida. Can Zahra and Aladdin keep the mysteries surrounding them from unraveling, while navigating the strange feelings developing like wildfire between them?

Khoury outdoes herself this time with incredibly poetic writing, reminiscent of Laini Taylor's DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE series. The storytelling is fantastic, with strong characters and just enough action and suspense. I absolutely loved having the entire story from Zahra's unique perspective - you don't often get a YA book told from the view of a 4000 year old jinni! The dynamic between Zahra and Aladdin is delightful and fun, and their romance is challenging and rewarding.

VERDICT: Highly recommended for fans of fairy tale and classic retellings, THE FORBIDDEN WISH is an amazing stand-alone fantasy novel. With beautifully lyrical writing and an exotic, fantastical setting that will wrap readers up in a whole new world, Jessica Khoury's THE FORBIDDEN WISH is a masterful retelling of the classic Aladdin tale.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

An Imaginative Retelling

MY THOUGHTS
I've read all of Jessica Khoury's books, and enjoyed them, but this one is by far my favorite. Honestly, I loved this book! It's such a fantastic retelling and really, I loved everything about it! I'll try to write this review without flailing.

Zahra's been trapped in her lamp for hundreds of years, ever since she betrayed her best friend and an entire kingdom was lost because of it. Then she is awakened by Aladdin. She's awakened into a world where Jinni, like herself are considered monsters and she has to remain hidden. As she waits for Aladdin to make his wishes, she begins to fall for him, which becomes a problem. Not only because in order to be free, she has to betray him, but the last time she loved someone, an entire kingdom was destroyed.

This may be a retelling, but the story was still very imaginative. You can still see parts of the original tale, but Khoury really did build her own world and it was fantastic! I loved how the Jinn were represented and how there was a history included in the story. Honestly, I was so immersed in this story and this world that I couldn't put it down.

I loved Zahra and I loved her perspective. She interesting in general because she's a powerful Jinni that's hundreds of years old, but she's also tough and just downright amazing. She's also obviously troubled by her past and struggling with how much she wants to be freed, so she's not without her flaws, but she was still so strong and I felt like her character growth shone in this book.

I usually am annoyed with romances in most books. It's just so hard for me to actually like the romance in a book! But in this book, I loved it. I shipped it! There was no cheesiness, insta-love, and other common factors in YA. The romance was slow and felt real, as odd as that sounds for a fantasy book.

IN CONCLUSION
Overall, this was an amazing book! I thought it was an imaginative retelling and I absolutely couldn't put it down! I loved everything! The characters, the world, the writing, the romance, everything! I strongly recommend this book! And now I'm just going to cry a little because this book is a stand alone and, boy, do I want a sequel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pashmina
Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Curtain-Twitcher's Handbook
 
4.5
"Whipped through this one as it's a really chatty, easy read. After a while it's like listening to your best..."
Rebel's Blade
 
4.8
"A fantasy of the highest quality that checks every box and still pushes the bounds of originality. The..."
I Dream of Fire
 
4.3
"The story: Charlie Abbot lives in a dystopian world where “dreamers” are a precious national commodity. Dreamers, you see,..."
Undiscovered Country
 
3.8
"When I picked up Undiscovered Country I was hoping for the same sort of introspective journey as Wild or Eat,..."
Beneath The Skin
 
4.3
" Sidney Shaw has a terrible home life. Her former best friend now torments her. She covers up the pain..."
Orphan - Book 2 of the ORB trilogy
 
5.0
"Orphan may be ordered @: https://www.amazon.com/Orphan-Book-trilogy-Brad-Lockwood/dp/1548278157"
Kronnus 13
 
3.8
"The story: Zak Connors is a twelve-year-old boy who is not long for this world. A terrible virus has..."
Raise the Curtain
 
4.0
"Alexa loves theater, but her dad thinks it's a waste of time and wants her to focus on more important..."
Flicker
 
4.5
"'Flicker' by Melanie Hooyenga is a very gripping novel. The concept behind it - that the main character, Biz, has..."
Sarah
 
3.5
" I haven't read any horror novels but have a few on my TBR, so I thought this one would..."
Em & Em
 
4.0
" What I Loved 'Em & Em' was a sweet contemporary romance with a twist. There are back and forth..."
We Thought We Were Invincible
 
5.0
"I thoroughly enjoyed this contemporary offering from Lynn, as it is my favorite genre to read. In many ways, I..."
Curse of the Sphinx
 
4.0
"Curse of the Sphinx is a somewhat fast-paced story with one of my favorite types of mythology, starring the wonderful..."
Angels of Moirai, Book One (Angels of Moirai #1)
 
2.8
"Welcome to the new Twilight. *Sigh* Angels of Moirai had me at its summary since I'm one to fall..."
If We Were a Movie
 
4.5
"‘If We Were a Movie’ tells the story of ‘Nat’. ‘Nat’ is a triplet and struggles to have individuality from..."
 
3.5
"'Laerka' is a modern-day retelling of the fairytale 'The Little Mermaid'. Stella is a teenager in modern-day Savannah, Georgia...."
Waters of Salt and Sin
 
3.5
"The story: Kinneret Raza is a tough, adventurous, headstrong young woman with the misfortune of being on the lower rung..."
Magic Bound
 
5.0
"Love it!"
Like a Dream
 
5.0
"Amelia is a strong protagonist with great wit and charm. She does the best she can with what life has..."
The Eternity Road
 
3.0
"THE ETERNITY ROAD is full of action, secrets, vampires, love, and vampire hunters. THE ETERNITY ROAD follows Amanda who's..."