Sanctuary Bay

Featured
 
3.0
 
5.0 (1)
901   1
Write Review
index.jpg
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 19, 2016
ISBN
9781250051363
Buy This Book
      

When Sarah Merson receives the opportunity of a lifetime to attend the most elite prep school in the country-Sanctuary Bay Academy-it seems almost too good to be true. But, after years of bouncing from foster home to foster home, escaping to its tranquil setting, nestled deep in Swans Island, couldn't sound more appealing. Swiftly thrown into a world of privilege and secrets, Sarah quickly realizes finding herself noticed by class charmer, Nate, as well as her roommate's dangerously attentive boyfriend, Ethan, are the least of her worries. When her roommate suddenly goes missing, she finds herself in a race against time, not only to find her, but to save herself and discover the dark truth behind Sanctuary Bay's glossy reputation. In this genre-bending YA thriller, Sanctuary Bay by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz, Sarah's new school may seem like an idyllic temple of learning, but as she unearths years of terrifying history and manipulation, she discovers this "school" is something much more sinister.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A thrilling mystery that takes readers to a mysterious school

Sarah Merson is used to a world of Goodwill and foster homes, and the new, prestigious school she’s been accepted to, Sanctuary Bay, is a world she’s never experienced before with its privilege, secrets, and isolation. As Sarah dives deeper into the school’s mystery ways, her roommate goes missing, and no one is prepared for the truth.

What I Loved:

Sarah is a wonderfully rounded character, though her development leaves something to be desired. She is aware of her own history and strongly carries the weight with her every day. She isn’t afraid to speak out against unfair privilege, and her sense of justice is incredible. The mystery of Sanctuary Bay is thrilling, and even as the clues added up, there is no clear guessing at how it will be all end.

What Left Me Wanting More:

While both potential love interests, Nate and Ethan, seem swoony, her relationship to both boys feels awkward and does not mesh as well into the story as it could have. There isn’t a strong sense of connection between Sarah and either boy, and at several times, the romance feels more distracting to the story than weaving into it. However, readers who enjoy a momentary pause for a little romance may still enjoy Ethan and Nate as the mystery plot thickens.

While the mystery behind Sanctuary Bay does get wrapped up at the end, the answers are almost a little less satisfying than they are built up to be. However, readers who dislike ambiguous endings will enjoy the resolution.

Final Verdict:

While the ending and characterization fall a bit short, SANCTUARY BAY is a thrilling mystery that will leave readers skeptical of all isolated schools and secret societies who emphasize group activities to the extreme.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Exhilarating

Sanctuary Bay was a title I was really excited to read and I admit that I hate that I pushed this to the back of my queue due to the release date (I had received an invite to read this last year). As someone just getting into the thriller genre, I wanted to add something new to the list. Before reading, I decided to read through a few of the negative reviews this book was getting. One of the main issues that I noticed was that some people were confused. This made me pay extra attention to this book to see where one could start getting confused, but let's start with the things that I really liked.

The main character, Sarah, is what I would understand to be a "nobody" (please mark the quotes because it is not meant to insult anyone living in her reality); she doesn't have a family or a home and she's shipped off to some school she never applied to. It happens to be one of the best schools with the ability to bring on success in her future -- something she really wanted to accomplish for herself, which I admire completely. Her drive after the crap life she'd been living is something to desire, really. Sarah's memory is also something to desire... just not in the way she experiences it, but it gives her an edge and proves to be an amazing quality to have in the story (sometimes).

Each of Sarah's friends were well done, giving great support to someone who lived in a way completely opposite of what their lives supposedly were. Though I'm sick of the whole absolutely hot, gorgeous, perfect girls when it comes to schools, they didn't continue to follow the bitchy, bully types, and instead became immediate friends with Sarah.

My favorite of the story is the mystery and suspense behind everything. The more things that happened, the more excited I got... Especially because I come up with my own logical conclusions only to find they were either right or wrong (and wrong conclusions made me want to read more to find the truth). With that said, a majority of negative reviews that claimed confusion could have aroused from when the mysteries started to become revealed, though I never found myself confused once. Let's start with what I didn't like (really, it's only one thing), which contains a spoiler.

The fact that Sarah made some bad decisions when she is actually extremely smart irked me a bit. I mean, if I was told in order to join a society, I'd have to drink blood, my ass would have been GONE. Who, in their right mind, would do something like that? I get that because of Sarah's past, she is inclined and, really, susceptible to doing crazy things in order to have people like her, but man, that's too far for me.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and didn't want to put it down. It was exhilarating, full of mystery, and just downright engaging. I actually lost track of time yesterday reading this and fell behind on chores I was supposed to do. Please tell me there is a sequel to follow where it ended because I'd really like to see what happens in the aftermath.

Good Points
- kept me wondering what's going to happen
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."