Dark Hope: Book One of the Archangel Prophecies

Dark Hope: Book One of the Archangel Prophecies

 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
1031   1
Write Review
DarkHope.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
July 29, 2014
ISBN
978-1938416675
Buy This Book
      
Book One of the Archangel Prophecies For years, Hope Carmichael, survivor of a shocking child abduction, has lived a sheltered existence under the protection of her fanatically religious father. Now, liberated by her mother, Hope prepares to start life over as a normal kid in an Atlanta, Georgia, high school. Normal, that is, until Hope meets Michael, a gorgeous emancipated teen with a mysterious past and a strong interest in her. Soon, Hope's life is filled with questions. What's behind the angry looks she gets from Lucas, leader of a gang of students? Who's responsible for sending Hope strange valentines inscribed with Bible quotations? How does this relate to the sinister business of human tracking that operates on the periphery of Hope's suburban world? And is Michael really a protector, or something more sinister-and just why does he seem so familiar? In an epic narrative that takes readers from the back streets of Atlanta to the height of Vegas penthouses and beyond, DARK HOPE introduces The Archangel Prophecies, a saga of extraordinary love, vast mythological scope, and great moral urgency.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Angelic Undiscovered Gem

I have received a free copy of this book thanks to NetGalley and Greenleaf Book Group in exchange for an honest review.

This is good! It got me intrigued and hooked from the prologue. I was like “Finally!” when I read this after putting down several eARCs. I’m so glad I got approved for this title and it’s sequel (which I’m definitely excited about) on NetGalley.

Dark Hope is an interesting take on paranormal fantasy, it gives a new perspective on angels and their “types”. I’ve tried reading a few series about angels and this is the most interesting one which is saying a lot because the others that I have read are fairly popular. This duology (at least I think it is) deserves more recognition than those eh-books I’ve read, which I will no longer mention, in my opinion.

There’s an intriguing set of characters which mostly clash in contrast with one another. The plot is interesting and still incorporates real-life problems like human trafficking despite of the book being a paranormal fantasy. Although some parts confused me and made me feel like the story was just going around in circles, it’s pretty good overall.

I loved the potential romance and the ending most of all. The flirting or whatever you can call it between Hope and Michael is cute BUT I think Michael isn’t a good love interest because SPOILER AHEAD one, he’s abusive and two, HE’S ABUSIVE. I get that he’s in pain because of his disobedience but there will never be a good enough excuse for hurting a woman. END OF SPOILER AMEN? The cute and hot scenes between them might make me smile and swoon but I always wipe the grin off my face whenever I remember how Michael acts most of the time.

I love love loved the ending which rarely happens to me these days, mind you. I just had this feeling while reading those last few words like WHOAAA.

SPOILER AHEAD Hope was reviewing in her head the crazy things that have happened and the even crazier angels she has met and how they have suddenly become a part of her life then she thinks, “But I had never felt so alone.” END OF SPOILER A kickass ending, agreed?

In conclusion, Dark Hope is a thrilling read. I recommend this if you want to try something new, this will surely give you one hell of a ride.

Favorite Quotes:

Words signify who or what we are. They tell us our past, and our destiny.

You aren’t afraid to say what you really think. There’s no pretense, no attempt to be someone you really aren’t. That’s rare.

Final Verdict:
Four out of five angelic stars. There’s little room for improvement with regards to the plot but still worth the read.

Good Points
-This is good! It got me intrigued and hooked from the prologue.
-It's an interesting take on paranormal fantasy, it gives a new perspective on angels and their “types”.
-There’s an intriguing set of characters which mostly clash in contrast with one another. The plot is interesting and still incorporates real-life problems despite of the book being a paranormal fantasy.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."