Falling For Alice

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
926   0
Write Review
Falling For Alice
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 24, 2015
ISBN
978-0994283702
Buy This Book
      
Writing our stories for Falling For Alice was an amazing journey. Below is a short blurb of each of our stories. DRUNK, Dawn Dalton: ALICE is thirsty--and no matter how much she drinks, nothing can satiate her need. But when she meets Lewis, the tall, scary boy with the cat-like hazel eyes, her emotions spiral out of control. Is he the cure to her thirst--or the final catalyst that will send Alice down the rabbit hole of madness? WHITE RABBIT RX, Denise Jaden: In a desperate attempt to lose weight, Alice takes an experimental drug, WHITE RABBIT, which comes with side effects like heightened senses and the chance to see who her true friends are...and are not. WORMHOLE TO WONDERLAND, Kitty Keswick: Alice is one of the elite humans chosen to repopulate a New Earth, traveling to Kepler­-22b a planet six hundred light years from Earth. The Originators blended her DNA with that of famous authors to produce a perfect human, each with a specific job needed to make their new home habitable. Humans are flawed by nature. Alice's creative and curious character isn't something they planned. When flashes of disturbing images clog her memories, Alice is desperate to do anything, to go anywhere, to find the answers...Even if it means losing her mind. ALICE AT WOODSTOCK, Shari Green: Seventeen-year-old Alice's punk band Mad Cat is primed for its inaugural tour, when the other members--including Alice's boyfriend--team up and cut her from the band. Humiliated and raging-mad, Alice stashes her guitar in the back of a closet and retreats from both music and social life. But when she falls down a proverbial rabbit hole, landing in the midst of the largest peace-and-music event in history, Alice must confront the question that's been eating at her all summer: if she isn't a musician, who is she? WONDER IN THE STARS, Cady Vance: When Alice Dodgson's long-term boyfriend, Wyatt, enrolls in the first teen program to spend six months aboard the international space station Wonder, Alice is quick to sign up so she can join him on his epic adventure. But Wyatt breaks up with Alice just after launch, and she's left to navigate this strange new world of zero gravity alone.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: June 28, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Falling For Alice

I'm a huge fan of analogies. Why? They are perfect for those who feel that they're too busy or have the time to read a novel.

What worked: This is a fun collection of shorts based on an Alice in Wonderland theme.

Some examples: ALICE AT WOODSTOCK by Shari Green has her Alice part of MAD CAT, a rock group only she gets dumped the day before a tour. Add a mystical album that transports her back to Woodstock and you have a very engaging surreal tale.

WHITE RABBIT RX by Denise Jaden has a pharmacist with an experimental drug called White Rabbit that he prescribes to Alice, who wants to lose weight. Fun twists that also include a high school named Hatter High. Well, Alice, should have known better to trust anyone with a med called White Rabbit to help with losing weight. A true case on being careful for what you wish for!

WORMHOLE TO WONDERLAND by Kitty Keswick is a futuristic twist on Alice in Wonderland with a girl chosen as an embryo to be one of twelve to inhabit a new world. There's a little backstory on the story Alice in Wonderland and then we watch as the futuristic Alice has her falling in a hole while following a white rabbit and being chased by R.E.D. Q.U.E.E.N. Lots of fun twists and turns in this short that brings new magic to an ageless tale.

There's two other shorts in this collection that make this analogy a must read for fans of Alice in Wonderland or those who enjoy twists on classic tales.

Good Points
1. Fun collection of short tales with a twist on the Alice In Wonderland theme.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."
Challenge Accepted
 
3.8
"CHALLENGE ACCEPTED alternates POV between the nerdy Emma and the popular Logan. After messing up Emma's chances at a summer..."
Soul Catchers
 
5.0
"When her mom is attacked by a wolf, Wren has no choice but to use her magic to try to..."
The Last First Game
 
5.0
"Lila has everything going for her and she's on the path to be a doctor. At least that's what people..."
Colliding Skies
 
N/A
""Brilliant pacing, sizzling romance, and a storyline I absolutely devoured!" Victoria Scott, author of Fire and Flood."
Gamemaster (The Biodome Chronicles #3)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"DISCLAIMER: I am a member of the Advance Reader team for this book! This review is only for the ARC..."
Any Way You Slice It
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A wonderful, sweet sweet romance. The story: Penelope loves to skate and has..."
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
 
4.0
"Larna is hurt when her father doesn't return home because the assumption is he's abandoned them or worse. It's so..."
Oshun Rising: Trinity Forest Book 2
 
4.0
"The story: Ember Trouve, missing for three years in Trinity Forest, has been “rebirthed”, in the form of a..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
Shadow Wings
 
5.0
"Summary King Irdelron is dead. Lord Irrik is now Lord Tyrrik and free from his blood oath. Ryn is..."
 
4.8
"I'm not a big fan of Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones or most Fantasy. There is nothing..."
Seventeen
 
5.0
"I loved this novel, I liked the way it was written and it had me hooked. The plot flowed smoothly..."