Symptoms of Being Human

Symptoms of Being Human

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
936   2
Write Review
Symptoms of Being Human
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 02, 2016
ISBN
9780062382863
Buy This Book
      
The first thing you’re going to want to know about me is: Am I a boy, or am I a girl? Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. The thing is . . . Riley isn’t exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley’s so-called “normal” life. On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it’s REALLY like to be a gender-fluid teenager. But just as Riley’s starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley’s real identity, threatening exposure. Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything. “With a main character who truly deserves to be called unique, combined with heartbreak and triumphs that are universal, this unforgettable book made me laugh and also cry. Garvin’s powerful new voice rocks!” – Lissa Price, International bestselling author of Starters

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

good start to learn more about the Q for queer in QUILTBAG

What I Liked:

Riley explains genderfluidity as a dial. It’s somewhere in the middle on some days, all the way on one side on the others, but can honestly go anywhere on the spectrum and change at any time. That clear, solid explanation is hard to forget or get confused, so you won’t get lost easily by the concept of it. It likely does get more complicated than that in real life, but it’s a good start for an introduction.

Anyway, the writing is lovely–especially in Riley’s blog posts–and Riley’s own voice is spot-on as well as the pressures present as a closeted teen who already got pulled out of one school after a little… incident. aka suicide attempt. Riley has a lot going on in life and is very isolated at first, especially since most of the support from Riley’s parents is more about them not wanting another suicide attempt than anything, but watching the support network grow is enough to bring tears to your eyes. Riley’s novel is no happy journey either. Our main character is in for a very difficult ride.

What Left Me Wanting:

At the same time, Symptoms of Being Human feels more like a pamphlet than a novel at times. Flat-out recitations of statistics are abound and it’s a very didactic experience meant for readers trying to do Gender Identity 101. Like the QUILTBAG equivalent of 2 + 2 = 4. If you already know a lot about each letter of QUILTBAG and want higher-level discussion, you won’t find it here. His story is 100% about his identity. Nothing else. As someone represented by the letter A in the above acronym, I wouldn’t want a novel starring an asexual character to be entirely about their identity. We live, we have other things going on, and we happen to be ace and deal with those issues sometimes. Riley doesn’t seem to have anything other than being genderfluid going on.

Now, about the sexual assault,… Late in the novel, Riley is sexually assaulted. Review after review call this book a mirror, so it makes you wonder whether this supposed mirror book–meaning intended for the portrayed group to read so they can see themselves in fiction–really needs to reflect the harsh reality of high rates of sexual assault back at trans/nonbinary readers who likely already know from experience. Don’t they deserve some escapism too? To me, admittedly a cisgender woman, it felt unnecessary. A close call wouldn’t have left as bad of a taste in my mouth as the full-on assault did.

Before I reviewed this, I did intend for someone close to me to read it first. My roommate’s boyfriend is genderfluid and he had interest in reading it, but I took my copy home during a visit and left it on accident, so I’ll likely never know how someone of the group portrayed would think of their portrayal. It happens. Just keep in mind this is a book written by a cisgender man (nothing indicated otherwise) likely for a cisgender audience and adjust your expectations appropriately.

Final Verdict:

If you don’t know much about QUILTBAG people and lives outside the original four letters of LGBT, Symptoms of Being Human is a good start to learn more about the Q for queer in QUILTBAG (and maybe the U, which I say stands for “Ummm…” and covers both more complex identities like agender that may not fit the other groups according to who’s talking as well as people questioning their identity).

Good Points
*good introduction to genderfluidity
*gorgeous writing, especially in Riley's blog posts
*very voice-driven novel
*tough ride but worth it in the end
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."