Books Young Adult Fiction Where Have All the Flowers Gone?: The Diary of Molly MacKenzie Flaherty, Boston, Massachusetts, 1968 (Dear America)

Where Have All the Flowers Gone?: The Diary of Molly MacKenzie Flaherty, Boston, Massachusetts, 1968 (Dear America)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/67/af/a0/1815_247965-1352733549.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.7 (3)
1254   0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 01, 2002
ISBN
0439148898
Buy This Book
      
An agonizing dilemma plagues these brother-sister diarists. He is a Marine stationed in Vietnam. She is at home in America, far away from her brother's war zone, fighting for peace. As the marine writes in his journal about his experiences as a soldier, fighting an enemy he can't see, his sister seeks peace. In these gripping installments of DEAR AMERICA and MY NAME IS AMERICA, Ellen Emerson White captures the unique time period when America was at war both in a far-off place, and at home where adults and children alike marched in the streets for peace and freedom. Poignant and complex, these two characters will give readers a glimpse into perhaps the most tumultuous time in modern American history.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.7  (3)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
A great way for kids to learn about history in general no matter what time period it is.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Susie Berry Reviewed by Susie Berry April 09, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (50)

a great tribute

A great way for kids to learn about history in general no matter what time period it is.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by PeaceChik

This is a good book, really good.

A girl who lives in Boston in 1968 has to deal with the fact that her broter is fighting in Vietnam. Her parents are frustrated and she doesnt know how she feels about the war at all. Is she for it or against it. This book also deals with civil rights & women's rights.
This is a true old skool book.

PEace
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 13, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Its all about the PEACE

Reader reviewed by PeaceChik

This is a good book, really good.

A girl who lives in Boston in 1968 has to deal with the fact that her broter is fighting in Vietnam. Her parents are frustrated and she doesnt know how she feels about the war at all. Is she for it or against it. This book also deals with civil rights & women's rights.
This is a true old skool book.

PEace

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by bookworm9

Molly Flaherty is a girl growing up during the Vietnam War-- and she's forced to grow up even faster when her older brother Patrick joins the Marines. Still, Molly doesn't let her worry for her brother consume her good nature and inquisitiveness as she tries to figure out what the war is all about. She also volunteers at a veterans' hospital, where her good nature is tested but doesn't break.

Once again, Ellen Emerson White presents a spunky heroine living in trying times. This was a great book, as was it's companion volume, the journal of Patrick Flaherty.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader May 27, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Very good book about a girl during the '60s

Reader reviewed by bookworm9

Molly Flaherty is a girl growing up during the Vietnam War-- and she's forced to grow up even faster when her older brother Patrick joins the Marines. Still, Molly doesn't let her worry for her brother consume her good nature and inquisitiveness as she tries to figure out what the war is all about. She also volunteers at a veterans' hospital, where her good nature is tested but doesn't break.

Once again, Ellen Emerson White presents a spunky heroine living in trying times. This was a great book, as was it's companion volume, the journal of Patrick Flaherty.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)