Archivist Wasp

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2350   1
Write Review
Archivist Wasp
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 05, 2015
ISBN
9781618730978
Buy This Book
      
Wasp’s job is simple. Hunt ghosts. And every year she has to fight to remain Archivist. Desperate and alone, she strikes a bargain with the ghost of a supersoldier. She will go with him on his underworld hunt for the long-lost ghost of his partner and in exchange she will find out more about his pre-apocalyptic world than any Archivist before her. And there is much to know. After all, Archivists are marked from birth to do the holy work of a goddess. They’re chosen. They’re special. Or so they’ve been told for four hundred years. Archivist Wasp fears she is not the chosen one, that she won’t survive the trip to the underworld, that the brutal life she has escaped might be better than where she is going. There is only one way to find out. Reviews “A ravishing, profane, and bittersweet post-apocalyptic bildungsroman transcends genre into myth.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Young adults will be able to relate to Wasp’s inner turmoil and her battle to understand a world full of inexplicable hatred and violence. The fast pace and graphic action will draw in reluctant readers. VERDICT A must-have for dystopian fans who prefer to avoid love stories and pat endings.” — School Library Journal “My new favorite forthcoming YA SF. And that’s all I’m going to say, because this book needs to pull you in and spin you around a couple times before leading you down its path.” — Paula Willey, Baltimore County Public Library

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Ghost Hunter Meets Her Destiny

Archivist Wasp is truly one of a kind.

Wasp is a ghost hunter. She's one in a long line of girls who fight to the death. They're the ones who choose the "short straws" in an ancient trail that marks a new archivist. The Archivist is alone in the world. She doesn't have friends, save for ghosts and girls waiting to take her place. At the opening of the novel, Wasp is at a crossroads. She's the longest surviving Archivist. For three years she's had to defend her title. That means killing three girls each year. This year is different. While she's slower than when she started, she doesn't want to die. Yet, it seems she's had a fill of death. She does something completely unexpected, which lands her on the Catchkeep-priest's bad side. A side she was already on.

What worked for me:
Wasp is the only Archivist who challenges her role in the scheme of things. All of her actions (like letting ghosts go free) and her inaction (like ignoring the townspeople request for ghosts) becomes deliberate. There is a strong sense that Wasp has given up because her life is so routine, but also because her life is controlled by powers that she doesn't understand. There's a sense of fruitlessness in her day to day activities, like someone who has grown so accustomed with death that she wonders if it might just be better on the other side. While it wouldn't be the first time Wasp tries to run away from her duty, she does truly weigh the options: death for freedom, or maintaining this lonely miserable life.

I love that Wasp is unlike any other Archivist that's come along. This is why when she comes across "the ghost" as he's referred to the whole novel, she's the only one who takes him on on his challenge. He needs to find a ghost. Someone from his past, when the world was a different place, and Wasp's world had different names for the same stars she looks to now. It makes Wasp wonder if the myths about her calling are really just that--myth.

Some of my favorite scenes are between the ghost and Wasp. While they both come into this journey with their own lies, they commit themselves to the journey that lies ahead. Something incredible happens, a ghost and a ghost hunter find a kind of bond (it isn't quite friendship) after being alone for so long.

The scenes of the ghost and Wasp in the underworld are dreamlike, imaginative, and luxe. The worlds are created with a touch of whimsy and horror, and just enough realism to make the idea of death palatable. All of this works its way into the greater journey of Wasp discovering who is is and who she can be by breaking from her expected role, and finding that freedom that she longed for in the beginning.

There are many "memory" and flashback scenes, but I feel they are integrated well into the narrative so as to not weigh the story down.

What left me wanting more:
I felt myself wanting more from the ghost. Though I know the importance of his anonymity, his friendship with Wasp became so wonderful, it was like reading about two old friends.

Final Verdict:
This isn't your typical YA novel. With myth, mystery, and heart, it is a post-apocalyptic world unlike anything you've ever read. Perfect for fans of Anna Dressed in Blood and Science Fiction.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Girl Who Wanted to be Big
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, follows...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Diamond and the Boy
Told in a unique dual-narrative format, The Diamond and the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Little Penguin Stays Awake
A charming companion to Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Merry Christmas, Little One
Christmas comes but once a year - Time...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hi-Five Animals
What's the best way to say hello to anyone you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Three Little Superpigs
After defeating the Big Bad Wolf, the Three Little Superpigs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twice Dead
Naya, the daughter of a sea merchant captain, nervously undertakes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I, Sofia-Elisabete, Love Child of Colonel Fitzwilliam: A Perfect World in the Moon
In 1815, a 5-year-old girl searches for Utopia in a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way I Used to Be
The main character Eden is raped by her brother's best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Agony House
Denise Farber has just moved back to New Orleans with...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
PortalsByAnnChristy.jpg
The world sees the portals as an invasion. For Lysa,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
ONE RULE. DON'T FALL FOR THE BAD BOY. Sixteen-year-old Jasmine...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Island of Monsters (Spirit Hunters #2)
The perfect spooky read for Halloween, this pulse-pounding adventure will...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four Three Two One
Golden “Go” Jennings wasn’t supposed to be on Bus 21...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Lines We Cross
Michael likes to hang out with his friends and play...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Max Tilt: 80 Days or Die
When thirteen-year-old Max Tilt stumbled across his great-great-great-grandfather Jules Verne’s...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Twice Dead
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this story! This book was never boring and always kept me wanting more. The beginning..."
Turtles All the Way Down
 
4.7
"Great book - one of my favorites by John Green, for sure."
Wink Poppy Midnight
 
4.7
"Definitely worth the read! A fun book even though it has some creepier turns, and loved Tucholke's writing style!..."
All The Crooked Saints
 
5.0
"Loved this book from start to finish. Stiefvater was at her best with her prose here and the novel was..."
Carve The Mark
 
4.7
"A good read. A bit confusing in the beginning, but as with many fantasy novels, it works itself out...."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.7
"Interesting, quick read. You're held a bit at a distance because of the nature of this narrator, but it's worth..."
Before I Fall
 
5.0
"Love this book! One of my favorites."
We Were Liars
 
5.0
"I loved this book!"
The Princesses of Iowa
 
5.0
"I really enjoyed this book!"
Warcross
 
5.0
"Hello you guys! So I have read a few more books that I want to review (one is a reread)..."
Speak
 
3.7
"It's a fast read."
The Agony House
 
4.0
"Denise Farber and her mother and stepfather have moved back to New Orleans. Denise lost her grandmother and father to..."
Four Three Two One
 
4.7
""Chandler and Golden versus the world" has been the motto of Chan and Go since they were 11. As seventeen-year-olds,..."
The Lines We Cross
 
4.3
"Michael likes to hang with his friends. His parents are very active in speaking out against refugees settling in Australia...."
Heretics Anonymous
 
5.0
"Michael is angry enough at his parents that they have moved him and his sister yet again for his father's..."
Riding Chance
 
3.7
"It seems repetitive to mention the need for books like these when I was a youth--but I can still see..."
One of Us is Lying
 
3.3
"WHAT I LOVED: One of Us Is Lying presents us with a remarkably strong base for the mystery to come:..."
Antisocial
 
3.3
"WHAT I LOVED: I’ve always tried to be my best self online, but even I’m terrified at the idea of..."
Prince in Disguise
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Dusty and Dylan, each one named after one of their mother’s favorite singers, are pretty opposite...."
When the Moon Was Ours
 
3.0
"WHAT I LOVED: If you’re asking book bloggers to recommend you gorgeously written books, there’s a very good chance Anna-Marie..."