Archivist Wasp

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1254   1
Write Review
Archivist Wasp
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 05, 2015
ISBN
9781618730978
Buy This Book
      
Wasp’s job is simple. Hunt ghosts. And every year she has to fight to remain Archivist. Desperate and alone, she strikes a bargain with the ghost of a supersoldier. She will go with him on his underworld hunt for the long-lost ghost of his partner and in exchange she will find out more about his pre-apocalyptic world than any Archivist before her. And there is much to know. After all, Archivists are marked from birth to do the holy work of a goddess. They’re chosen. They’re special. Or so they’ve been told for four hundred years. Archivist Wasp fears she is not the chosen one, that she won’t survive the trip to the underworld, that the brutal life she has escaped might be better than where she is going. There is only one way to find out. Reviews “A ravishing, profane, and bittersweet post-apocalyptic bildungsroman transcends genre into myth.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Young adults will be able to relate to Wasp’s inner turmoil and her battle to understand a world full of inexplicable hatred and violence. The fast pace and graphic action will draw in reluctant readers. VERDICT A must-have for dystopian fans who prefer to avoid love stories and pat endings.” — School Library Journal “My new favorite forthcoming YA SF. And that’s all I’m going to say, because this book needs to pull you in and spin you around a couple times before leading you down its path.” — Paula Willey, Baltimore County Public Library

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Ghost Hunter Meets Her Destiny

Archivist Wasp is truly one of a kind.

Wasp is a ghost hunter. She's one in a long line of girls who fight to the death. They're the ones who choose the "short straws" in an ancient trail that marks a new archivist. The Archivist is alone in the world. She doesn't have friends, save for ghosts and girls waiting to take her place. At the opening of the novel, Wasp is at a crossroads. She's the longest surviving Archivist. For three years she's had to defend her title. That means killing three girls each year. This year is different. While she's slower than when she started, she doesn't want to die. Yet, it seems she's had a fill of death. She does something completely unexpected, which lands her on the Catchkeep-priest's bad side. A side she was already on.

What worked for me:
Wasp is the only Archivist who challenges her role in the scheme of things. All of her actions (like letting ghosts go free) and her inaction (like ignoring the townspeople request for ghosts) becomes deliberate. There is a strong sense that Wasp has given up because her life is so routine, but also because her life is controlled by powers that she doesn't understand. There's a sense of fruitlessness in her day to day activities, like someone who has grown so accustomed with death that she wonders if it might just be better on the other side. While it wouldn't be the first time Wasp tries to run away from her duty, she does truly weigh the options: death for freedom, or maintaining this lonely miserable life.

I love that Wasp is unlike any other Archivist that's come along. This is why when she comes across "the ghost" as he's referred to the whole novel, she's the only one who takes him on on his challenge. He needs to find a ghost. Someone from his past, when the world was a different place, and Wasp's world had different names for the same stars she looks to now. It makes Wasp wonder if the myths about her calling are really just that--myth.

Some of my favorite scenes are between the ghost and Wasp. While they both come into this journey with their own lies, they commit themselves to the journey that lies ahead. Something incredible happens, a ghost and a ghost hunter find a kind of bond (it isn't quite friendship) after being alone for so long.

The scenes of the ghost and Wasp in the underworld are dreamlike, imaginative, and luxe. The worlds are created with a touch of whimsy and horror, and just enough realism to make the idea of death palatable. All of this works its way into the greater journey of Wasp discovering who is is and who she can be by breaking from her expected role, and finding that freedom that she longed for in the beginning.

There are many "memory" and flashback scenes, but I feel they are integrated well into the narrative so as to not weigh the story down.

What left me wanting more:
I felt myself wanting more from the ghost. Though I know the importance of his anonymity, his friendship with Wasp became so wonderful, it was like reading about two old friends.

Final Verdict:
This isn't your typical YA novel. With myth, mystery, and heart, it is a post-apocalyptic world unlike anything you've ever read. Perfect for fans of Anna Dressed in Blood and Science Fiction.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

 

   

    

    

   

 

   

   

   

    

Latest Book Listings Added

La primera fiesta de pijamas de Peppa
Peppa Pig is going to her very first sleepover at...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Secret Horses of Briar Hill
There are winged horses that live in the mirrors of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Judy Moody and the Bucket List
Judy is visiting Grandma Lou one day when she accidentally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#famous
In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Crazy Messy Beautiful
From National Book Award finalist Carrie Arcos--a fresh take on...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shakespeare Retold
A beautifully illustrated collection of prose retellings of seven Shakespeare...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
klutz-design-your-dream-room-cover.png
Design your room, your way! - Punch-out pieces...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fancy Nancy: Nancy Clancy Seeks a Fortune
Nancy Clancy learns all about starting a business and making...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Darth Vader: Sith Lord
Who is Darth Vader? How did the once great Jedi...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Runes (Book 1)
Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
FREEKS
Mara has become used to the extraordinary. Roaming from place...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy
Three kids. A hotel full of monsters. And a stolen...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Vigilante
A brutally honest, uncompromising story about a teen girl who...
 
2.7
 
0.0 (0)
Wanted, Book 1 of The Chase Ryder Series
The award-winning creator and screenwriter of ground-breaking BBC television show,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lost Girls
Yesterday, Rachel went to sleep listening to Taylor Swift, curled...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Alone (Generations #3)
In the final installment of an exhilarating sci-fi adventure trilogy...
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)