Archivist Wasp

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426   1
Write Review
Archivist Wasp
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 05, 2015
ISBN
9781618730978
Buy This Book
      
Wasp’s job is simple. Hunt ghosts. And every year she has to fight to remain Archivist. Desperate and alone, she strikes a bargain with the ghost of a supersoldier. She will go with him on his underworld hunt for the long-lost ghost of his partner and in exchange she will find out more about his pre-apocalyptic world than any Archivist before her. And there is much to know. After all, Archivists are marked from birth to do the holy work of a goddess. They’re chosen. They’re special. Or so they’ve been told for four hundred years. Archivist Wasp fears she is not the chosen one, that she won’t survive the trip to the underworld, that the brutal life she has escaped might be better than where she is going. There is only one way to find out. Reviews “A ravishing, profane, and bittersweet post-apocalyptic bildungsroman transcends genre into myth.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Young adults will be able to relate to Wasp’s inner turmoil and her battle to understand a world full of inexplicable hatred and violence. The fast pace and graphic action will draw in reluctant readers. VERDICT A must-have for dystopian fans who prefer to avoid love stories and pat endings.” — School Library Journal “My new favorite forthcoming YA SF. And that’s all I’m going to say, because this book needs to pull you in and spin you around a couple times before leading you down its path.” — Paula Willey, Baltimore County Public Library

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Ghost Hunter Meets Her Destiny

Archivist Wasp is truly one of a kind.

Wasp is a ghost hunter. She's one in a long line of girls who fight to the death. They're the ones who choose the "short straws" in an ancient trail that marks a new archivist. The Archivist is alone in the world. She doesn't have friends, save for ghosts and girls waiting to take her place. At the opening of the novel, Wasp is at a crossroads. She's the longest surviving Archivist. For three years she's had to defend her title. That means killing three girls each year. This year is different. While she's slower than when she started, she doesn't want to die. Yet, it seems she's had a fill of death. She does something completely unexpected, which lands her on the Catchkeep-priest's bad side. A side she was already on.

What worked for me:
Wasp is the only Archivist who challenges her role in the scheme of things. All of her actions (like letting ghosts go free) and her inaction (like ignoring the townspeople request for ghosts) becomes deliberate. There is a strong sense that Wasp has given up because her life is so routine, but also because her life is controlled by powers that she doesn't understand. There's a sense of fruitlessness in her day to day activities, like someone who has grown so accustomed with death that she wonders if it might just be better on the other side. While it wouldn't be the first time Wasp tries to run away from her duty, she does truly weigh the options: death for freedom, or maintaining this lonely miserable life.

I love that Wasp is unlike any other Archivist that's come along. This is why when she comes across "the ghost" as he's referred to the whole novel, she's the only one who takes him on on his challenge. He needs to find a ghost. Someone from his past, when the world was a different place, and Wasp's world had different names for the same stars she looks to now. It makes Wasp wonder if the myths about her calling are really just that--myth.

Some of my favorite scenes are between the ghost and Wasp. While they both come into this journey with their own lies, they commit themselves to the journey that lies ahead. Something incredible happens, a ghost and a ghost hunter find a kind of bond (it isn't quite friendship) after being alone for so long.

The scenes of the ghost and Wasp in the underworld are dreamlike, imaginative, and luxe. The worlds are created with a touch of whimsy and horror, and just enough realism to make the idea of death palatable. All of this works its way into the greater journey of Wasp discovering who is is and who she can be by breaking from her expected role, and finding that freedom that she longed for in the beginning.

There are many "memory" and flashback scenes, but I feel they are integrated well into the narrative so as to not weigh the story down.

What left me wanting more:
I felt myself wanting more from the ghost. Though I know the importance of his anonymity, his friendship with Wasp became so wonderful, it was like reading about two old friends.

Final Verdict:
This isn't your typical YA novel. With myth, mystery, and heart, it is a post-apocalyptic world unlike anything you've ever read. Perfect for fans of Anna Dressed in Blood and Science Fiction.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

  

   

   

   

   

   

 

   

   

  

  

   

   

   

   

   

    

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Fashion Committee
Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sandcastle Empire
When all hope is gone, how do you survive? ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting
When middle schooler Kelly Ferguson’s Halloween plans switch from party-going...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex & Eliza: A Love Story
Their romance shaped a nation. The rest was history. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shadow of a Doubt
Fyfe Flynn lives on a modest farm in the shadows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beast and Crown
Boot boy Ji is tired of scrubbing soles and untangling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
No More Goddesses
Jordan Lake discovers an ancient bracelet in her grandmother's house...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goddesses Can Wait (Myths & Mayhem) Volume 2
Jordan Lake, a fifteen-year-old Audrey Hepburn-olic who’s a magnet for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hearts We Sold
A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Katana at Super Hero High (DC Super Hero Girls)
Sword-wielding Katana isn’t like most high school students—but with classmates...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
True North (True Born Trilogy)
Abandoned by her family in Plague-ridden Dominion City, eighteen-year-old Lucy...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights
Here is the story of extraordinary leader Alice Paul, from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Laugh-Out-Loud Awesome Jokes for Kids (Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids) Paperback
The #1 bestselling Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids series returns with...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Superstar
Lester’s first days as a fifth grader at Quarry Elementary...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)