Archivist Wasp

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2557   1
Write Review
Archivist Wasp
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 05, 2015
ISBN
9781618730978
Buy This Book
      
Wasp’s job is simple. Hunt ghosts. And every year she has to fight to remain Archivist. Desperate and alone, she strikes a bargain with the ghost of a supersoldier. She will go with him on his underworld hunt for the long-lost ghost of his partner and in exchange she will find out more about his pre-apocalyptic world than any Archivist before her. And there is much to know. After all, Archivists are marked from birth to do the holy work of a goddess. They’re chosen. They’re special. Or so they’ve been told for four hundred years. Archivist Wasp fears she is not the chosen one, that she won’t survive the trip to the underworld, that the brutal life she has escaped might be better than where she is going. There is only one way to find out. Reviews “A ravishing, profane, and bittersweet post-apocalyptic bildungsroman transcends genre into myth.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Young adults will be able to relate to Wasp’s inner turmoil and her battle to understand a world full of inexplicable hatred and violence. The fast pace and graphic action will draw in reluctant readers. VERDICT A must-have for dystopian fans who prefer to avoid love stories and pat endings.” — School Library Journal “My new favorite forthcoming YA SF. And that’s all I’m going to say, because this book needs to pull you in and spin you around a couple times before leading you down its path.” — Paula Willey, Baltimore County Public Library

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Ghost Hunter Meets Her Destiny

Archivist Wasp is truly one of a kind.

Wasp is a ghost hunter. She's one in a long line of girls who fight to the death. They're the ones who choose the "short straws" in an ancient trail that marks a new archivist. The Archivist is alone in the world. She doesn't have friends, save for ghosts and girls waiting to take her place. At the opening of the novel, Wasp is at a crossroads. She's the longest surviving Archivist. For three years she's had to defend her title. That means killing three girls each year. This year is different. While she's slower than when she started, she doesn't want to die. Yet, it seems she's had a fill of death. She does something completely unexpected, which lands her on the Catchkeep-priest's bad side. A side she was already on.

What worked for me:
Wasp is the only Archivist who challenges her role in the scheme of things. All of her actions (like letting ghosts go free) and her inaction (like ignoring the townspeople request for ghosts) becomes deliberate. There is a strong sense that Wasp has given up because her life is so routine, but also because her life is controlled by powers that she doesn't understand. There's a sense of fruitlessness in her day to day activities, like someone who has grown so accustomed with death that she wonders if it might just be better on the other side. While it wouldn't be the first time Wasp tries to run away from her duty, she does truly weigh the options: death for freedom, or maintaining this lonely miserable life.

I love that Wasp is unlike any other Archivist that's come along. This is why when she comes across "the ghost" as he's referred to the whole novel, she's the only one who takes him on on his challenge. He needs to find a ghost. Someone from his past, when the world was a different place, and Wasp's world had different names for the same stars she looks to now. It makes Wasp wonder if the myths about her calling are really just that--myth.

Some of my favorite scenes are between the ghost and Wasp. While they both come into this journey with their own lies, they commit themselves to the journey that lies ahead. Something incredible happens, a ghost and a ghost hunter find a kind of bond (it isn't quite friendship) after being alone for so long.

The scenes of the ghost and Wasp in the underworld are dreamlike, imaginative, and luxe. The worlds are created with a touch of whimsy and horror, and just enough realism to make the idea of death palatable. All of this works its way into the greater journey of Wasp discovering who is is and who she can be by breaking from her expected role, and finding that freedom that she longed for in the beginning.

There are many "memory" and flashback scenes, but I feel they are integrated well into the narrative so as to not weigh the story down.

What left me wanting more:
I felt myself wanting more from the ghost. Though I know the importance of his anonymity, his friendship with Wasp became so wonderful, it was like reading about two old friends.

Final Verdict:
This isn't your typical YA novel. With myth, mystery, and heart, it is a post-apocalyptic world unlike anything you've ever read. Perfect for fans of Anna Dressed in Blood and Science Fiction.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Quinton Wyatt's summer break before high school should be nothing...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Delicate Wings
Mia Walters is optimistic that her final high school...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Only A Breath Apart
Bestselling author Katie McGarry’s trademark wrong-side-of-the-tracks romance is given...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is quite the different place after the loss...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Pretty in Punxsutawney
A Groundhog Day meets Pretty in Pink mashup from...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Through Fathoms Dark and Deep
What’s a pirate without her crew? Abandoned on an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
99 Lies (100 Hours, #2)
Getting kidnapped over spring break was definitely memorable. But...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ray Vs the Meaning of Life
Grandma’s Last Will and Testament names Ray to inherit...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
51uDXTa8hxL._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Celebrate the weird, wonderful, and the downright bizarre in this...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Next to Last Mistake
Tess Goodwin's life in rural Iowa is sheltered and uncomplicated....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
A moment of distraction has cost him his freedom...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
Dragons are just legends from the past... Felicia’s life...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Penderwicks at Last
The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Over Raging Tides
The pirate crew of the Lady Luck lives by...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Positively Izzy
Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Onyx and Ivory
They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Wings of Olympus
 
4.0
"WINGS OF OLYMPUS is a middle grade fantasy that those who love horses and Greek mythology won't want to miss...."
The Ark Plan (Edge of Extinction)
 
5.0
"Over all this is like a mix between The Hunger Games (tyrannical and evil government willing to kill children) and..."
Ocean Renegades! (Earth Before Us #2): Journey through the Paleozoic Era
 
4.0
"In OCEAN RENEGADES, Ronnie takes a trip into the Paleozoic Era with Miss Lernin. Here, she learns all there is..."
The Key to Everything
 
4.0
"Eleven-year-old Tash has been carted off to camp against her will, and she'll be there for a month while her..."
Shine of the Silver Dragon: A Branches Book (Dragon Masters #11)
 
5.0
"This one picks up where the last one ended. Maldred the evil sorcerer is back and wants to gain control..."
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
 
5.0
"Edward Tulane is a distinguished, but vain, china rabbit. Edward’s girl Abilene loves him and he loves her right back...."
The Competition Begins (Junior Ninja Champion #1)
 
4.0
"Ty Santiago's family runs a gym that has a ninja training obstacle course, so when there is a junior competition..."
UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
Watch Hollow
 
5.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker's father repairs clocks for a living, but the business isn't doing well. After the death of..."
Courageous
 
4.0
"Aidan lives in a fishing village in England. His one brother has died in the war, but George is still..."
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
 
5.0
"The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot..."
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
 
4.0
"Thorn, a baboon, Sky, an elephant, and Fearless, a lion, have been friends since childhood. Due to the evil influence..."
Tales from the Inner City
 
4.0
"In this heavily illustrated short story collection, Tan explores the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world. Using animals to..."
The Unteachables
 
5.0
"Mr. Kermit is entering his 30th year of teaching, and he's already put in for early retirement. He started his..."