How to Win at High School

How to Win at High School

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
1241   0
Write Review
how to win at high school.jpg
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
March 03, 2015
ISBN
978-0062336866
Buy This Book
      
Adam Higgs is a loser, and he's not okay with it. But starting as a junior in a new high school seems like exactly the right time to change things. He brainstorms with his best friend, Brian: What will it take for him to take over Nixon Collegiate? Adam searches for the A-listers' weak spot and strikes gold when he gets queen bee Sara Bryant to pay him for doing her physics homework. One part nerd, two parts badass, Adam ditches his legit job and turns to full-time cheating. His clients? All the Nixon Collegiate gods and goddesses. But soon his homework business becomes a booze business, which becomes a fake ID business. Adam's popularity soars as he unlocks high school achievements left and right, from his first kiss to his first rebound hookup. But something else is haunting him—a dark memory from his past, driving him to keep climbing. What is it? And will he go too far? How to Win at High School's honest picture of high school hierarchy combines with an over-the-top, adrenaline-charged story line, and Adam's rocket ride to the top of the social order (and his subsequent flameout) is by turns bawdy and sweetly emotional.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Graphic, dark, and a whole lot of Boom

Epic. Mic drop. IYF (in your face). Winning. Boom!

If there was ever a character voice that could reach through the black and white text of the page and palm-heel-strike you to the dome, it’s Adam Higgs. Seriously. How to Win at High School by Owen Matthews has the wickedest voice I’ve read in a long, long while. From page one, Adam jumps off the page and into your head.

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Adam Higgs is a loser. He’s not that tall, not really all that attractive, and is a total stoner. Adam’s brother was on his way to god status. Hockey powerhouse, good looking, and had it all. Then a bad hit put Adam’s brother in a wheelchair. God status = gone. Adam’s god by association status = also gone. But he’s going to get it back. Somehow.

Then it hits him. Tony Montana style. Scarface. Big Barney Bad Booty Colombian style. Adam is going to take over Nixon Collegiate (super fancy school with the Benz to match). No matter what. Go big or go home.

The problem is, and I say this because I’ve seen Scarface therefore know the ending, it ain’t gonna be easy. But that doesn’t deter our protag. He’s ballin.’ His going big. And he isn’t going home.

From the moment Adam decides his plan of attack-- I mean, Project: Attain God Status, my gut drops and I cover my mouth. That sinking feeling settles in and, in true train wreck fashion, I can’t look away. Even as Adam sinks in deeper within his lies and cover-ups, I keep reading. I have to! Even as Adam makes some of the worst decisions e-v-e-r, I can’t leave him. Why? Because deep down Adam is a good kid. He’s real. He’s just a guy trying to find himself amidst the excrement of the bad hand life dealt him.

There are 371 chapters in How to Win at High School. That’s a lot. But it’s so fast pace you forget. The writing style, told in a verse style (and a little weird at first, if I’m honest), flows so effortlessly, you’re burning through pages to see what completely crazy plan Adam has next. It’s a hefty read clocking in at 513 pages, but as I noted, it’s a great, fast read. Not even Matthew’s disregard for the forth wall (think Ferris Bueller’s Day Off or The Office) slowed me down. And he didn’t just break the forth wall, he kicked it in the chest all King of Sparta style.

How to Win takes place in Detroit suburbia and Matthews does a fantastic job of painting the setting with few details. It left me in awe. And it isn’t so much what is said, but HOW Adam sees everything in his life. From his sub-par computer, to his snot of a sister, to his Wal-Mart clothing, to his dead-beat father, to his brother who doesn’t stop by anymore, and his mom who busts her you-know-what to make ends meet. It’s real. I’ve seen it. And I was right there with Adam.

Let’s talk about character voice for a moment. Voice is what pulls you through the story. It’s what makes you want to cheer for the protagonist. It’s what makes that character real to you as a reader. Adam is very real. He’s lewd, he’s vulgar, he’s obsessed with material things, and he’s obsessed with losing his virginity. Guess what? That’s real. He does have a heart, though, and you see it in Adam’s interactions with Victoria and his brother, Sam. You know he’s a good kid, so you stick with him to see where he goes. You cheer when he wins, you yell at him when he pulls a total jerk move, and you cry when he hits his lows. And cry harder when he knows he’s hit his low.

Speaking of lows, that’s the only thing that really left me wanting more from this bit of awesome. After all the stuff Adam pulls, he kinda gets off easy. Like, really easy. Sure his compass might begin to point true north again, but I would have liked to see Adam get a more eye-opening revelation. In the end, he’s kind of meh. A good meh, but still a meh.

That didn’t stop me from l-o-v-i-n-g How to Win at High School, however. Owen Matthews has a clear voice. It’s dark. It’s troubled. It’s downright raunchy at times. But that’s high school for many teens out there. Adam is easily the kind of kid I went to high school with. He’s a materialistic teen living on the wrong side of the tracks who idolizes a less than noble icon on his journey to find out who he is. In short, Adam is real. How to Win at High School is gritty, it has dark corners containing the declining morale of many urban areas, but it also has a silver lining. Even the darkest of roads have a sliver of light. We only need to choose to see it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
 
4.0
"PROFESSOR RENOIR'S COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS primarily follows Babe, a fourteen-year-old girl who has gigantism. She already stands..."
Truman
 
5.0
"TRUMAN is an unbelievably sweet story about a tortoise. Truman the tortoise lives with his best friend and owner Sarah,..."
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
 
4.0
"THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD features cartoony planets and drawings along with poems on each page. Topical, clever,..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."