The Infinite Sea (The Fifth Wave #2)

The Infinite Sea (The Fifth Wave #2)

Featured
 
3.0
 
4.0 (1)
2403   0
Write Review
The Infinite Sea (The Fifth Wave #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 16, 2014
ISBN
978-0399162428
Buy This Book
      
The riveting follow-up to the New York Times bestselling The 5th Wave, hailed by Justin Cronin as “wildly entertaining.” How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity. Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race. Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Not Quite The Story I Was Expecting

A HUGE thank you to Penguin for sending me a copy of this book! I was SO excited and SO surprised when this showed up on my doorstep the other day. (There may have been a lot of screaming.)

I went into THE INFINITE SEA wanting to know one thing: WHAT HAPPENED TO EVAN WALKER BECAUSE HOLY FREAKING ALIENS EVERYWHERE THE ENDING OF THE FIFTH WAVE WAS LIKE...WHAT EVEN?!

Actually, I had a few other unanswered questions too, but still. Evan. I needed to know what happened to him.

I expected THE INFINITE SEA to pick up where THE FIFTH WAVE left off, with Cassie anxious to find out what happened to Evan, and figuring out how to save humanity. So you can imagine my surprise when that didn't happen. In fact, the story opens with Ringer, a character I barely remembered from book one and honestly, didn't care all that much about. My bad. Because we end up spending 70% of the book with her.

Yes, we find out what happened to Evan.
Eventually.
And yes, we catch up with Cassie, Ben, Sam, Poundcake and Dumbo. But if you go into this expecting some kind of epic humalien reunion with lots of romance and lots of kissing, well---good luck with that.

As with THE FIFTH WAVE, there are multiple POVs that not only alternate between characters but switch tense too. (You risk getting lost if you aren't paying attention.) The action is sporadic and the intensity doesn't kick up until about the halfway mark. But even then it doesn't last long. We do find out what's really going on with Vosch and the Others, but only after wading through copious amounts of superfluous information and metaphors that employ the title of the book which was far more confusing than it was helpful.

And then there was the moment that won the award for Most Creative Escape Tactic Ever. And by creative, I mean, I just threw up in my mouth a little bit.

That was followed by a sequence of events that confused me even more--are we really doing this or is this just another metaphor for humanity because I can't really tell--and made me question what in the Hades these characters were thinking?!
And then it was over.
Finished.
Done.

As with Rick Yancey's other works, the writing in THE INFINITE SEA is impeccable, but the characters weren't as engaging as they were in THE FIFTH WAVE. I was also under the impression that this was a duology, but apparently, a third book is in the works. Good thing too, because while I am EXTREMELY grateful to have had the chance to read this early, I am frustrated. I feel like this was a filler book with parts that could have been included in book one or cut altogether, and now I'm right back where I started.
Again.



Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
(Updated: May 30, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

This was an amazing sequel!

This book was a great sequel. I already loved the first book and this was also amazing. Although I forgot a bit from the first book it wasn't hard to get back into at all.

It's also way more fast paced than the first book, with almost nonstop action through about the first half of the book. That and it's length made it really easy to read really quickly for me. I was pulled in from the start and couldn't stop reading from there. But still, I got confused in a lot of places, especially from Ringers narrative. I understood everything in the end but she thought about problems and said things that I took me a while to understand (but then again, maybe I'm the stupid one here:)).

Other than in the 5th Wave Ringer is the main narrative and in the course of this book I grew to love her more and more. She is a incredibly complex character and every time I thought I had figured her out she did or thought something I totally didn't expect.
There is so much more to her character than just strength. She is tough and strong, sure, but she is also smart , flirty and, even though she never smiles, really funny. In this book a lot about her past is revealed which explains a lot about how she is now.
Another character that got way more depth in this book is Poundcake. For me he wasn't really a remarkable character in the 5th Wave but in this book he also gets a lot more complex and interesting.
Unfortunately Cassie doesn't have the same character development as lots of the other characters. In the first book I thought of her as one of the strongest and most likable characters but here most of her attention was on Evan and even though I still like her she didn't seem as the strong, great character I loved in the 5th Wave.

There are a lot of sequels where nothing important really happens but that wasn't the case here at all. A lot of important things I thought I knew after reading the first book turned out to completely irrelevant or just false. There are also a lot of plot twists for a book this short and for most of them I didn't see them coming at all.

I hope I can get to the third book soon (which just came out a week ago!!!) because I really need to know what happens next and how Rick Yancey will wrap up this trilogy. I hope I'll like Cassie more in the next book and look forward to read more about Ringer.

To read more book reviews, follow my blog: http://meandmybookishwonderland.blogspot.de

Good Points
Ringer was awesome in this book
So many plot twists!
I only gave 4 stars for the characters because I didn't love Cassie like I did in the 5th Wave
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."
Dance of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #1)
 
5.0
"Absolutely fantastic! "Dance of Thieves" is a really wonderful YA fantasy that takes place in the world of 'The Remnant..."
10 Blind Dates
 
4.7
"10 BLIND DATES is the must-read romantic comedy of the fall! Sophie is staying with her grandparents and her very..."