Books Young Adult Fiction Chinese Handcuffs

Chinese Handcuffs

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ec/cd/e3/1697_275840-1350403249.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
800   0
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 01, 1991
ISBN
0060598395
Buy This Book
      
Still troubled by his older brother's violent suicide, eighteen-year-old Dillon becomes deeply involved in the terrible secret of his friend Jennifer, who feels she can tell no one what her stepfather is doing to her

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

This is not a book for someone who likes reading about sunshine and innocence. "Chinese Handcuffs" is the dual story of Dillon (who's dealing with the emotional ramifications of his older brother's suicide, which he witnessed) and his almost-girlfriend Jennifer (who's dealing with brutal sexual abuse from her psycho step-father). Jennifer's situation keeps her from becoming close to Dillon in the usual teen relationship way, but when she tells him her secret, he decides to do something about it, even though this means breaking his vow to keep silent.

As usual from Crutcher, the ending is a bit over-the-top, and not exactly happily-ever-after, but it's satisfying. This book presents a stunning portrayal of some awful people, and the ways that the "good guys" manage to survive and overcome.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 22, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Chilling

Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

This is not a book for someone who likes reading about sunshine and innocence. "Chinese Handcuffs" is the dual story of Dillon (who's dealing with the emotional ramifications of his older brother's suicide, which he witnessed) and his almost-girlfriend Jennifer (who's dealing with brutal sexual abuse from her psycho step-father). Jennifer's situation keeps her from becoming close to Dillon in the usual teen relationship way, but when she tells him her secret, he decides to do something about it, even though this means breaking his vow to keep silent.

As usual from Crutcher, the ending is a bit over-the-top, and not exactly happily-ever-after, but it's satisfying. This book presents a stunning portrayal of some awful people, and the ways that the "good guys" manage to survive and overcome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)