The Islands at the End of the World (Islands at the End of the World #1)

The Islands at the End of the World (Islands at the End of the World #1)

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
1724   0
Write Review
The Islands at the End of the World (Islands at the End of the World #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
11+
Release Date
August 05, 2014
ISBN
978-0385744027
Buy This Book
      
In this fast-paced survival story set in Hawaii, electronics fail worldwide, the islands become completely isolated, and a strange starscape fills the sky. Leilani and her father embark on a nightmare odyssey from Oahu to their home on the Big Island. Leilani’s epilepsy holds a clue to the disaster, if only they can survive as the islands revert to earlier ways. A powerful story enriched by fascinating elements of Hawaiian ecology, culture, and warfare, this captivating and dramatic debut from Austin Aslan is the first of two novels. The author has a master’s degree in tropical conservation biology from the University of Hawaii at Hilo.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A blockbuster film in the making.

This is a spectacular book. It is action-packed, thrilling, mystical, and will keep you guessing until the end. The plot is well-written and perfectly paced. The dialogue is unique to the locale and really authentic. The use of Hawaiian myths and folklore in the plot is simply outstanding. Aslan really knows his stuff.

The characters are complex and interesting, especially Leilani, the protagonist. She is half-white and half-Hawaiian, but she identifies strongly with her Hawaiian heritage. Lei is also an epileptic, and if she misses her medication or ingests too much aspartame she will have violent seizures. It was really amazing meeting a character as diverse as Leilani!

There are a couple of things that may turn some readers away from the book: there is no romance, no love triangle, no love interest at all; the frequent use of the native Hawaiian language. Frankly, I loved both of these things. It was extremely refreshing to not have a main character whose thoughts were all about the love interest.

The well-integrated use of the Hawaiian language and folklore was also so interesting. I am a lover of languages, and while I found it hard to determine the meaning of some words from context clues, it just made me feel even more immersed in the story.

Aslan's debut is a blockbuster film in the making. Fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and sci-fi novels like Lynne Matson's Nil and Jessica Khoury's Origin will love this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

  

   

   

   

   

   

 

   

   

  

  

   

   

   

   

   

    

    

  

Latest Book Listings Added

On The Spectrum
Growing up in the shadow of a famous mother, Clara...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex & Eliza: A Love Story
Their romance shaped a nation. The rest was history....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fashion Committee
Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Unforgettables
The summer vacation of The Unforgettables... Neighbors and best...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Deacon Locke Went to Prom
The love life of an awkward teen takes an...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
True North (True Born Trilogy)
Abandoned by her family in Plague-ridden Dominion City, eighteen-year-old...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Sandcastle Empire
When all hope is gone, how do you survive?...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
US In Progress: Short Stories About Young Latinos
Acclaimed author and Pura Belpré Award honoree Lulu Delacre’s beautifully...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The March Against Fear: The Last Great Walk of the Civil Rights Movement and the Emergence of Black Power
James Meredith's 1966 march in Mississippi began as one man's...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting
When middle schooler Kelly Ferguson’s Halloween plans switch from party-going...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shadow of a Doubt
Fyfe Flynn lives on a modest farm in the shadows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beast and Crown
Boot boy Ji is tired of scrubbing soles and untangling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
No More Goddesses
Jordan Lake discovers an ancient bracelet in her grandmother's house...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goddesses Can Wait (Myths & Mayhem) Volume 2
Jordan Lake, a fifteen-year-old Audrey Hepburn-olic who’s a magnet for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)