Fat Angie Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/18/10/4f/fat-angie-98-1367628557.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
764   0
fat angie.jpg
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 12, 2013
ISBN
978-0763661199
Buy This Book
      

Her sister was captured in Iraq, she’s the resident laughingstock at school, and her therapist tells her to count instead of eat. Can a daring new girl in her life really change anything? Angie is broken — by her can’t-be-bothered mother, by her high-school tormenters, and by being the only one who thinks her varsity-athlete-turned-war-hero sister is still alive. Hiding under a mountain of junk food hasn’t kept the pain (or the shouts of "crazy mad cow!") away. Having failed to kill herself — in front of a gym full of kids — she’s back at high school just trying to make it through each day. That is, until the arrival of KC Romance, the kind of girl who doesn’t exist in Dryfalls, Ohio. A girl who is one hundred and ninety-nine percent wow! A girl who never sees her as Fat Angie, and who knows too well that the package doesn’t always match what’s inside. With an offbeat sensibility, mean girls to rival a horror classic, and characters both outrageous and touching, this darkly comic anti-romantic romance will appeal to anyone who likes entertaining and meaningful fiction.

Editor reviews

There once was a girl. Her name was Angie. She was fat.

I totally fell in love with this story! The voice is unique and pulls the reader right into Fat Angie's life. Beautifully written contemporary tale with a heart. We meet Angie who is navigating through some tough things. Her older sister is missing in action in Iraq, her mother won't buy her new clothes unless she loses 29 pounds, school bullying, and her own memories when she 'lost' it during a rally at school.

Then a new girl shows up and Angie's life is turned topsy turvy. She's attracted to KC Romance who has her own secret. The romance between these two is honest as KC is the only one who doesn't call her 'Fat Angie'. Their relationship is ridiculed by peers in a small Ohio town and put to the test. Not only because KC is openly gay but because it adds to the ridicule the town shells out to Angie. This anti-romance is filled with sharp and dark at times humor. I totally loved it.

The turmoils that Angie faces such as bullying, eating disorders, and pain are so real. It seems no one 'get's her. Not her distant lawyer mother; her adopted brother Wang; or even her therapist. The bullying scenes with mean girl Stacy Ann Sloan made me wince more than a few times. And the memories Angie has of trying to 'off' herself are very painful. Angie tries to deal with her pain even when it seems the whole town ridicules and humiliates her.

KC is the gorgeous new girl in town. Her rapier wit takes no hostages. I loved how she refuses to shun and humiliate Angie like everyone else. Her love of Buffy the Vampire Slayer is a huge plus too! KC stands up to the bullies like Stacy Ann. Plus she makes no excuses about who she is.

I know readers will relate with Angie's struggles. The whole older sister missing in action premise is bittersweet but how Angie faces it later on will have readers cheering.

There's so much to love about this story!

There was a girl. Her name was Angie. You'll love her too.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor May 03, 2013
Last updated: May 03, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (382)

Beautifully written

There once was a girl. Her name was Angie. She was fat.

I totally fell in love with this story! The voice is unique and pulls the reader right into Fat Angie's life. Beautifully written contemporary tale with a heart. We meet Angie who is navigating through some tough things. Her older sister is missing in action in Iraq, her mother won't buy her new clothes unless she loses 29 pounds, school bullying, and her own memories when she 'lost' it during a rally at school.

Then a new girl shows up and Angie's life is turned topsy turvy. She's attracted to KC Romance who has her own secret. The romance between these two is honest as KC is the only one who doesn't call her 'Fat Angie'. Their relationship is ridiculed by peers in a small Ohio town and put to the test. Not only because KC is openly gay but because it adds to the ridicule the town shells out to Angie. This anti-romance is filled with sharp and dark at times humor. I totally loved it.

The turmoils that Angie faces such as bullying, eating disorders, and pain are so real. It seems no one 'get's her. Not her distant lawyer mother; her adopted brother Wang; or even her therapist. The bullying scenes with mean girl Stacy Ann Sloan made me wince more than a few times. And the memories Angie has of trying to 'off' herself are very painful. Angie tries to deal with her pain even when it seems the whole town ridicules and humiliates her.

KC is the gorgeous new girl in town. Her rapier wit takes no hostages. I loved how she refuses to shun and humiliate Angie like everyone else. Her love of Buffy the Vampire Slayer is a huge plus too! KC stands up to the bullies like Stacy Ann. Plus she makes no excuses about who she is.

I know readers will relate with Angie's struggles. The whole older sister missing in action premise is bittersweet but how Angie faces it later on will have readers cheering.

There's so much to love about this story!

There was a girl. Her name was Angie. You'll love her too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)