Fat Angie

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1623   1
Write Review
fat angie.jpg
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 12, 2013
ISBN
978-0763661199
Buy This Book
      

Her sister was captured in Iraq, she’s the resident laughingstock at school, and her therapist tells her to count instead of eat. Can a daring new girl in her life really change anything? Angie is broken — by her can’t-be-bothered mother, by her high-school tormenters, and by being the only one who thinks her varsity-athlete-turned-war-hero sister is still alive. Hiding under a mountain of junk food hasn’t kept the pain (or the shouts of "crazy mad cow!") away. Having failed to kill herself — in front of a gym full of kids — she’s back at high school just trying to make it through each day. That is, until the arrival of KC Romance, the kind of girl who doesn’t exist in Dryfalls, Ohio. A girl who is one hundred and ninety-nine percent wow! A girl who never sees her as Fat Angie, and who knows too well that the package doesn’t always match what’s inside. With an offbeat sensibility, mean girls to rival a horror classic, and characters both outrageous and touching, this darkly comic anti-romantic romance will appeal to anyone who likes entertaining and meaningful fiction.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: May 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Beautifully written

There once was a girl. Her name was Angie. She was fat.

I totally fell in love with this story! The voice is unique and pulls the reader right into Fat Angie's life. Beautifully written contemporary tale with a heart. We meet Angie who is navigating through some tough things. Her older sister is missing in action in Iraq, her mother won't buy her new clothes unless she loses 29 pounds, school bullying, and her own memories when she 'lost' it during a rally at school.

Then a new girl shows up and Angie's life is turned topsy turvy. She's attracted to KC Romance who has her own secret. The romance between these two is honest as KC is the only one who doesn't call her 'Fat Angie'. Their relationship is ridiculed by peers in a small Ohio town and put to the test. Not only because KC is openly gay but because it adds to the ridicule the town shells out to Angie. This anti-romance is filled with sharp and dark at times humor. I totally loved it.

The turmoils that Angie faces such as bullying, eating disorders, and pain are so real. It seems no one 'get's her. Not her distant lawyer mother; her adopted brother Wang; or even her therapist. The bullying scenes with mean girl Stacy Ann Sloan made me wince more than a few times. And the memories Angie has of trying to 'off' herself are very painful. Angie tries to deal with her pain even when it seems the whole town ridicules and humiliates her.

KC is the gorgeous new girl in town. Her rapier wit takes no hostages. I loved how she refuses to shun and humiliate Angie like everyone else. Her love of Buffy the Vampire Slayer is a huge plus too! KC stands up to the bullies like Stacy Ann. Plus she makes no excuses about who she is.

I know readers will relate with Angie's struggles. The whole older sister missing in action premise is bittersweet but how Angie faces it later on will have readers cheering.

There's so much to love about this story!

There was a girl. Her name was Angie. You'll love her too.

Good Points
1. Amazing voice
2. I cheered. I wept. I fell in love with Angie!
3. Beautifully written
4. Anti-romance with a heart
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."