The Summer I Became a Nerd

The Summer I Became a Nerd

Featured
 
3.7
 
4.5 (4)
1634   0
Write Review
The Summer I Became a Nerd
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 07, 2013
ISBN
978-1620612385
Buy This Book
      

On the outside, seventeen-year-old Madelyne Summers looks like your typical blond cheerleader—perky, popular, and dating the star quarterback. But inside, Maddie spends more time agonizing over what will happen in the next issue of her favorite comic book than planning pep rallies with her squad. That she’s a nerd hiding in a popular girl's body isn’t just unknown, it's anti-known. And she needs to keep it that way. Summer is the only time Maddie lets her real self out to play, but when she slips up and the adorkable guy behind the local comic shop’s counter uncovers her secret, she’s busted. Before she can shake a pom-pom, Maddie’s whisked into Logan’s world of comic conventions, live-action role-playing, and first-person-shooter video games. And she loves it. But the more she denies who she really is, the deeper her lies become…and the more she risks losing Logan forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Prepare To Get Your Nerd On

What I liked: Fast-paced, entertaining, completely uh-dorable read! Maddie is a thoroughly enjoyable and relateable character whose journey is not an uncommon one. It can be hard to figure out who we are sometimes and the path is often fraught with hits, misses and mistakes.

Maddie makes her fair share of less-than-stellar choices but faces up to the consequences with grace and maturity. Terra and Dan are great examples of friendship and Logan is full of nerdilicious swoon! *fans face*

What left me wanting: I wanted more Logan! ;)

Final verdict: Prepare to get your Nerd on!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.8  (4)
Characters 
 
4.5  (4)
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Cute story!

Fast, cute story.

Good Points
Well this was a cute, funny, pick-me up story. Nice break from the YA books that I'm used to reading, nice concept, great characters and delivers a great message!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fun and Quirky Summer Read

I love this book so much. After reading a bunch of depressing books it was time to read something uplifting and The Summer I Became a Nerd was a perfect escape. It was funny. It was cute. I had a great leading character, interesting dialogs, a hot nerdy guy and entertaining sidekick.

Maddie is a popular cheerleader dating a quarterback who secretly LOVES to read comics and when she accidentally meets her secret crush in a comic store things get more complicated. She's trying to have fun and hang around her new crush, Logan but she doesn't want her friends to find about it because that would be a social suicide. Sooner or later every secret will be exposed but will she lose Logan in the process?

I really can't say anything bad about this book. It was perfect. Muller made me fall in love with Logan and I also liked Maddie, which is strange for me since most of the leading ladies in YA fiction are a bunch of airheads. Sure, Maddie had some issues about showing people who she really is but who doesn't?

I would recommend this book to those who are looking for a perfect summer book with a sweet romance and a lot of humor. Guys, you don't want to miss this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

I honestly had a lot of mixed emotions with this book. In some ways I loved it, but in other ways I didn't. In some ways I could absolutely connect with the main character while in other ways I wanted to shake her a couple of times.
To me, the best thing about the story was Logan. I LOVED him. He brought out (in my opinion) Maddie's best side. He was always himself and taught Maddie to be ok and comfortable in her own skin. Anyone that can bring out the best in someone is always worth it.
I liked Maddie because she was in some ways like me. When I first started blogging, I was embarrassed for anyone to know that not only was I blogging about books, I was blogging about YA books. I even kept it from my boyfriend, so I know all about the hiding from people you love. But just like Maddie I learned that not everyone will always accept you, you have to do what makes you happy. I can also relate to all her fandoms, love of reading, and the smelling of fresh book pages. This part was portrayed almost perfectly.
Which bring me to my next point. This was a very quick read, but I fear that it was too quick for me. I admit I don't like a lot of fluff (too many details) when I read, but not having enough is a problem for me too. I found myself flying through the book, but not really having an emotional connect to it. But I did like it enough to finish the story.
This was a great coming of age novel. Maddie learns not only who she is, but who her friends, family, and new boyfriend are as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Awesome.

It’s very rare when I read a book that is centered in Louisiana. It is even rarer when I find one that is written by a native Louisiana author.

That is the main reason I picked this book out.

The heart and soul I found when I started reading is what made me stick around.

The Summer I Became a Nerd is delightful! I instantly fell in love with Maddie’s world and I felt like I could relate to her hiding things she likes. It’s great to read about someone finding themselves and not caring what anyone else thinks.
I fell in step beside her and Logan whenever they were together. Their parts were my favorite. Hilarious and adorable.

The atmosphere of this book reminded me of a Sarah Dessen novel (whom I love) and the whimsy that surrounds this group of characters was reminiscent of a John Green book (ahem, who I may love more).

Dan. The. Freakin. Man.
He made the damn book for me. He was just great in every scene he stepped into. Charming. Witty. Sly. Dirty Mouth Dan.

Not only could I relate to all the geeky stuff, I absolutely related to the Louisiana aspects.

The gross, sticky warm weather.
The beauty in just a field speckled with Magnolia trees.
LSU Tigers!
The Festival of Lights in Natchitoches around Christmas time.

It was refreshing to say the least.

You want one word to sum this book up? One word to make you need no other reason to absolutely read it?

Awesome.

This book is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Solo
From award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Kwame Alexander,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Refugee.jpg
JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
SwingitSunnyjpg
Summer's over and it's time for Sunny Lewin to enter...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheWitchBoy.jpg
n thirteen-year-old Aster's family, all the girls are raised to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

See Fred Run
 
3.5
"'See Fred Run' by Kevin Bolger, and illustrated by Ben Hodson, is a story about main character Fred and his..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Flowers for Sarajevo
 
5.0
"Haunting and hopeful. The bombing one of the last working bakeries in the city of Sarajevo might have been..."
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
 
4.5
"If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting..."
Plankton Is Pushy
 
4.0
"A quick and comical read, rife with sarcasm. A particular plankton is used to eliciting a response from every..."
Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure
 
4.0
"DRAGONWATCH is a captivating, action-packed story that is filled with all type of creatures such as trolls, goblins, dragons, nipsies,..."
Once Upon a Cruise
 
4.0
"What I Loved: After Ainsley’s mom took a cruise director job aboard what is essentially a mockbuster Disney cruise, Ainsley..."
Five Elements #2: The Shadow City
 
4.0
"THE SHADOW CITY starts off where I expected it to. The elementals are trying to decide on their next move...."
Will Wilder #2: The Lost Staff of Wonders
 
4.0
"In THE LOST STAFF OF WONDERS, the legendary staff of Moses is stolen by a powerful demon named Amon who..."
Cavern of Secrets (Wing and Claw #2)
 
4.0
"Raffa, Kuma, and Garith have escaped Gilden with their animal companions in CAVERN OF SECRETS. Raffa has Echo the Bat..."
Black Moon Rising (The Library Book 2)
 
5.0
"Marcus, along with his friends Lu and Theo, are struggling to make it through middle school. Lu gets a bad..."
Pig the Winner
 
4.5
"This book is a winner (no pun intended). This hilarious story paired with the most perfect illustrations will definitely leave..."
Rolling Thunder
 
5.0
"A touching memorandum and homage to the armed forces—wrapped in a gentle and beautifully illustrated teaching tool. The premise..."