The Summer I Became a Nerd

The Summer I Became a Nerd

Featured
 
3.7
 
4.5 (4)
1717   0
Write Review
The Summer I Became a Nerd
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 07, 2013
ISBN
978-1620612385
Buy This Book
      

On the outside, seventeen-year-old Madelyne Summers looks like your typical blond cheerleader—perky, popular, and dating the star quarterback. But inside, Maddie spends more time agonizing over what will happen in the next issue of her favorite comic book than planning pep rallies with her squad. That she’s a nerd hiding in a popular girl's body isn’t just unknown, it's anti-known. And she needs to keep it that way. Summer is the only time Maddie lets her real self out to play, but when she slips up and the adorkable guy behind the local comic shop’s counter uncovers her secret, she’s busted. Before she can shake a pom-pom, Maddie’s whisked into Logan’s world of comic conventions, live-action role-playing, and first-person-shooter video games. And she loves it. But the more she denies who she really is, the deeper her lies become…and the more she risks losing Logan forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Prepare To Get Your Nerd On

What I liked: Fast-paced, entertaining, completely uh-dorable read! Maddie is a thoroughly enjoyable and relateable character whose journey is not an uncommon one. It can be hard to figure out who we are sometimes and the path is often fraught with hits, misses and mistakes.

Maddie makes her fair share of less-than-stellar choices but faces up to the consequences with grace and maturity. Terra and Dan are great examples of friendship and Logan is full of nerdilicious swoon! *fans face*

What left me wanting: I wanted more Logan! ;)

Final verdict: Prepare to get your Nerd on!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.8  (4)
Characters 
 
4.5  (4)
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Cute story!

Fast, cute story.

Good Points
Well this was a cute, funny, pick-me up story. Nice break from the YA books that I'm used to reading, nice concept, great characters and delivers a great message!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fun and Quirky Summer Read

I love this book so much. After reading a bunch of depressing books it was time to read something uplifting and The Summer I Became a Nerd was a perfect escape. It was funny. It was cute. I had a great leading character, interesting dialogs, a hot nerdy guy and entertaining sidekick.

Maddie is a popular cheerleader dating a quarterback who secretly LOVES to read comics and when she accidentally meets her secret crush in a comic store things get more complicated. She's trying to have fun and hang around her new crush, Logan but she doesn't want her friends to find about it because that would be a social suicide. Sooner or later every secret will be exposed but will she lose Logan in the process?

I really can't say anything bad about this book. It was perfect. Muller made me fall in love with Logan and I also liked Maddie, which is strange for me since most of the leading ladies in YA fiction are a bunch of airheads. Sure, Maddie had some issues about showing people who she really is but who doesn't?

I would recommend this book to those who are looking for a perfect summer book with a sweet romance and a lot of humor. Guys, you don't want to miss this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

I honestly had a lot of mixed emotions with this book. In some ways I loved it, but in other ways I didn't. In some ways I could absolutely connect with the main character while in other ways I wanted to shake her a couple of times.
To me, the best thing about the story was Logan. I LOVED him. He brought out (in my opinion) Maddie's best side. He was always himself and taught Maddie to be ok and comfortable in her own skin. Anyone that can bring out the best in someone is always worth it.
I liked Maddie because she was in some ways like me. When I first started blogging, I was embarrassed for anyone to know that not only was I blogging about books, I was blogging about YA books. I even kept it from my boyfriend, so I know all about the hiding from people you love. But just like Maddie I learned that not everyone will always accept you, you have to do what makes you happy. I can also relate to all her fandoms, love of reading, and the smelling of fresh book pages. This part was portrayed almost perfectly.
Which bring me to my next point. This was a very quick read, but I fear that it was too quick for me. I admit I don't like a lot of fluff (too many details) when I read, but not having enough is a problem for me too. I found myself flying through the book, but not really having an emotional connect to it. But I did like it enough to finish the story.
This was a great coming of age novel. Maddie learns not only who she is, but who her friends, family, and new boyfriend are as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Awesome.

It’s very rare when I read a book that is centered in Louisiana. It is even rarer when I find one that is written by a native Louisiana author.

That is the main reason I picked this book out.

The heart and soul I found when I started reading is what made me stick around.

The Summer I Became a Nerd is delightful! I instantly fell in love with Maddie’s world and I felt like I could relate to her hiding things she likes. It’s great to read about someone finding themselves and not caring what anyone else thinks.
I fell in step beside her and Logan whenever they were together. Their parts were my favorite. Hilarious and adorable.

The atmosphere of this book reminded me of a Sarah Dessen novel (whom I love) and the whimsy that surrounds this group of characters was reminiscent of a John Green book (ahem, who I may love more).

Dan. The. Freakin. Man.
He made the damn book for me. He was just great in every scene he stepped into. Charming. Witty. Sly. Dirty Mouth Dan.

Not only could I relate to all the geeky stuff, I absolutely related to the Louisiana aspects.

The gross, sticky warm weather.
The beauty in just a field speckled with Magnolia trees.
LSU Tigers!
The Festival of Lights in Natchitoches around Christmas time.

It was refreshing to say the least.

You want one word to sum this book up? One word to make you need no other reason to absolutely read it?

Awesome.

This book is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Phoenix Descending (Curse of the Phoenix #1)
 
5.0
"Phoenix Descending was a really interesting fantasy novel filled with action, adventure and a strong female character. Tori Kagari's family..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"It took me awhile to really get into this book. I think a big part of it was that..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."