Our Song Featured

 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
1452   1
Write Review
Our Song
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 02, 2013
ISBN
978-1595142689
Buy This Book
      

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place. Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession. Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Unique Romance With A Twist

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Our Song

I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

 

   

    

   

   

   

   

   

   

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Avenging the Owl
A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Interference
As a Congressman's daughter in Washington, DC, Kate Hamilton is...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winning
Who ever said being nice would get you to the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Mans Up
All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beast
Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History Book (Big Ideas Simply Explained)
The History Book is a fascinating journey through the most...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Faerie Guardian
Protecting humans from dangerous magical creatures is all in a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unforgiven (Fallen #5)
It’s the book FALLEN fans have been waiting for: Cam’s...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Forced to spend the summer of 1976 with relatives, Chris...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Poet of the Wrong Generation
“It’s not that I don’t love you, and my tears...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Like A River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy #2)
After a harrowing journey across the country, Leah Westfall and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phoenix
Magic never ceased to bring Violetta joy, until the day...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark and Fevered Dreams, Volume 1: The Boy in the Black Coat
Zac Dryden is a titan among teenagers. Popular, handsome and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Draw It 3d
Learn how to make your art POP off the page...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cruel Crown
Two women on either side of the Silver and Red...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
FAETE
They say your life can turn on a dime. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)