Our Song Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/99/62/47/our-song-25-1367338802.jpg
 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
942   1
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 02, 2013
ISBN
978-1595142689
Buy This Book
      

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place. Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession. Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Editor reviews

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor April 30, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (408)

Unique Romance With A Twist

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Sara A. Reviewed by Sara A. February 02, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

Our Song

I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Michael completed the Path. What he found at the end turned everything he’d ever known about his life—and the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every little girl goes through her princess phase, whether she wants to be Snow White or Cinderella, Belle or Ariel....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
“Happy birthday, child. Careful not to shoot any grundwirgen.” Ever since she was a small girl, she has learned to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This quirky, narrative scrapbook gives readers a witty, honest look at what it means to be a teenager.Using mini-graphic novels,...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
In Bed Stuy, New York, a small misunderstanding can escalate into having a price on your head—even if you’re totally...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of Fault Line comes an edgy and heartbreaking novel about two self-destructive teens in a Sid and...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sammy Keyes has spent the last few years solving other people's mysteries; now her friends (and some foes) come together...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Charlie and Tommy have big plans for Halloween. They hope to get out of taking their little sisters around and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The reading scores at Ella Mentry School are way down, so Mr. Macky has decided to hire a special new...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A.J. and the gang from My Weird School star in this special series of after-school, holiday-themed chapter books featuring all-new...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Stanley is working at his garage today. From filling up Hattie's red sports car with gas to changing the tire...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Stanley's friend Myrtle buys a plot of land, she asks Stanley to build her a new house. He works...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Julie Kagawa's groundbreaking modern fantasy series, dragons walk among us in human form. Long ago, dragons were hunted to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
As the junior concierge at her father's posh hotel, thirteen-year-old Chloe escorts three troublemaking royals on their trip to New...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It's 1926, and the one thing eleven-year-old Lexie Lewis wants more than anything is to leave Portland, where she is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When an earthquake causes the deadly band of air that covers the post World War III Earth to begin to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1959 Virginia, the lives of two girls on opposite sides of the battle for civil...
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
blue lily lily blue.jpg
There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up. Blue Sargent...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)