Our Song Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/99/62/47/our-song-25-1367338802.jpg
 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
1169   1
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 02, 2013
ISBN
978-1595142689
Buy This Book
      

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place. Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession. Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Editor reviews

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jen Reviewed by Jen April 30, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (415)

Unique Romance With A Twist

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Sara A. Reviewed by Sara A. February 02, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

Our Song

I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Keep calm and make it to prom night—without a legit panic attack. For seventeen-year-old Bree Hughes, it’s easier said than...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avatar meets The Terminator in this thrilling cyber-tech adventure. Crippled by muscular dystrophy, Adam spends his...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Narrated by an alternating unreliable group of teens, this dark thriller will have readers on the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
When Carolyn Lessing moves from New Jersey to Alabama with her mother, she rattles the status...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Printz Honor author Carolyn Mackler returns with this striking new novel that chronicles the lives of five teenagers through the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
For fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile, a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In a pursuit that has spanned continents, Iolanthe, Titus, and their friends have always managed to remain one step ahead...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
This charming story about the summer three California sisters spend on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One
Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it's normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and the...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
After almost a year in Japan, Katie Greene has finally unearthed the terrible secret behind her boyfriend Tomohiro's deadly ability...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned an easy summer of making art and hanging...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
“Do not ignore a call from me when you know I am feeling neurotic about a boy. That is Best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer has finally arrived and fifteen-year-old Harper McCallister intends to spend her days at the mall shopping or by the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
chain reactions.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
LEGO Chain Reactions is packed full of ideas, instructions, and inspiration for 10 LEGO machines that spin, swing, pivot, roll,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)