Our Song

Featured
 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
1784   1
Write Review
Our Song
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 02, 2013
ISBN
978-1595142689
Buy This Book
      

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place. Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession. Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Unique Romance With A Twist

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Our Song

I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Tracker's Canyon
Thanks to his dad’s coaching, sixteen-year-old Tristan is one of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ride: Kit Meets Covington
Trying to move on from her mother’s death and afraid...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Pandora (An Assassin Fall novel)
Tyler Bennett trusts no one. Just another foster kid bounced...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Max Tilt: Fire the Depths
When thirteen-year-old Max Tilt happens upon his great-great-great-grandfather Jules Verne's...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: The Stone Cold Age (Lucy and Andy Neanderthal)
Neanderthal siblings Lucy and Andy are back to their paleo...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Knowing
Samara is one of the Knowing, and the Knowing...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Monster (Gone #7)
It’s been four years since a meteor hit Perdido...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Slider
David can eat an entire sixteen-inch pepperoni pizza in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genuine Fraud
The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Expelled
A secret Twitter account An anonymous photo Everyone is...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but you've...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them: The Nightmares! Handbook
A handbook for beating nightmares from the New York Times...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Code 7: Cracking the Code for an Epic Life
Life at Flint Hill Elementary School may seem normal, but...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Rebel's Blade
War. Secrets. Betrayal. Katniss meets Lord of the Rings...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Confidentially Yours #6: Vanessa's Design Dilemma
In the sixth installment of the series that readers of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Tuned Into You
 
3.8
"A story detailing the pain that can sometimes come with young love. The story: Wrong place, wrong time. Lydia..."
Earthweeds
 
5.0
" I'm not wordy in my reviews, but if you like action, you'll like this one. The Bohai character, the..."
The Vampire Wish (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 1)
 
5.0
"THE VAMPIRE WISH has it all. There are witches, shifters, humans, vampires, and even someone that resembles a genie. The..."
The Dragon Orb
 
5.0
"The magical barrier is diminishing and people are looking to take advantage of it. Some people don't like the Chief..."
Choices-The True Story Of One Family's Daring Escape to Freedom
 
4.7
"'Choices: The True Story of One Family's Daring Escape to Freedom' by J.E. Laufer is a short, yet instantly compelling..."
A Game Worth Watching
 
4.5
"A tear-jerking story of bullying and finding strength when it seems there's none to be found. The story: Emma..."
This Body Won't Break
 
4.3
"The truth doesn’t always set you free. The story: In a post-apocalyptic world where only the Eastern coast..."
All Is Silence
 
4.5
"In a world of constant noise and busy lives, it is horrifying to think it could be silenced by a..."
Ember Burning: Trinity Forest Book 1
 
4.8
"WOW. Just wow. I'll be honest ... I dove into this book after skimming the synopsis. But I..."
Amaskan's Blood
 
4.8
"I love sister stories, regardless of genre. But an epic fantasy featuring a badass, blade-wielding assassin and a princess destined..."
Reap the Shadows (Steel & Stone Book 4)
 
4.7
"I don’t think I’ll ever not love this series. It came out of nowhere, demanded my attention and has kept..."
A Penny Lost
 
3.0
"‘A Penny Lost’ is the story of Penelope Grace (Penny) a high school student who can read other’s emotions. Penny..."
The Subjects, Aim
 
4.0
"I really enjoyed AIM. Even though I don't usually like sci fi books, it's more action based with a little..."
 
3.3
"REFLECTIONS by Clifton Kenny follows Shane Sullivan as he discovers that he has the ability to talk to people from..."
Ignite
 
5.0
"It's everything you'd expect from the description and so much more. It's thrilling, magical, funny, inspiring, and will suck you..."
At Water's Edge
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! In At Water's Edge there is a parallel world called Coldivor. Coldivor is a world filled with..."
HUNTRESS (Life After Book 1)
 
4.0
"Huntress is a young adult novel set in the afterlife. It was a captivating, interesting and adventurous novel. It had..."
 
N/A
"Marked is a YA Urban Fantasy and is the first book in a completed trilogy. It contains some mild language,..."
HUNTRESS (Life After Book 1)
 
N/A
""With fantastic world-building, Julie Hall has created an interesting and desirable afterlife. I love the unique take on angels, demons,..."
The Anchor Clankers
 
3.5
"'The Anchor Clankers' by Renee Garrison has an interesting premise. The main character, Suzette, is shuttled around with her parents..."