Our Song Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/99/62/47/our-song-25-1367338802.jpg
 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
910   1
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 02, 2013
ISBN
978-1595142689
Buy This Book
      

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place. Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession. Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Editor reviews

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor April 30, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (408)

Unique Romance With A Twist

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Sara A. Reviewed by Sara A. February 02, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

Our Song

I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Emmeline knows she’s not supposed to explore the woods outside her settlement. The enemy that wiped out half her people...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover2.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
How do you want to feel today? In 2041, the choice is yours. San Francisco is deserted, the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The riveting follow-up to the New York Times bestselling The 5th Wave, hailed by Justin Cronin as “wildly entertaining.” How...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danger is hard to resist in this sexy thriller from Becca Fitzpatrick, the New York Times bestselling author of the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
amazon_cover.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Katie and Anna are MAJOR best friends. And when they take an ill-advised trip down to Tijuana, Mexico hilarity ensues....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finn Easton sees the world through miles instead of minutes. It’s how he makes sense of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
In the future, bioengineered animals provide organs for human transplantation. Grafts of animal skin have replaced tattoos in popularity, which...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leon Harris is perfectly satisfied being a slacker. In fact, he's embraced it. But when Anna...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
According to the guys at Fairfield Academy, there are two types of girls: the kind you hook up with, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If life were fair, Jam Gallahue would still be at home in New Jersey with her sweet British boyfriend, Reeve...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
four.jpg
Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, the sixteen-year-old son of Abnegation’s faction leader did the same. Tobias’s transfer...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
messenger of fear.jpg
I remembered my name – Mara. But, standing in that ghostly place, faced with the solemn young man in the...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New York Times bestselling author of Halo comes the start of a beautiful and...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Can you love someone, understand them, without knowing basic information about them? Like maybe their real name? This is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What really happened after the clock struck midnight? Jane Montjoy is tired of being a lady....
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jenna and Ryder are far from friends—until a storm stirs up their passion in this contemporary...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Two years ago, Ben Greenwood's parents walked out the door and never returned. The police have all but given up...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)