Our Song Featured

 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
1427   1
Write Review
Our Song
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 02, 2013
ISBN
978-1595142689
Buy This Book
      

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place. Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession. Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Unique Romance With A Twist

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Our Song

I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She Stood For Freedom
Joan Trumpauer Mulholland grew up in Virginia in the 1950s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Capers! (LEGO DC Super Heroes: Reader)
It's summer in Gotham City, and Batman treats Robin, Beast...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
And The Trees Crept In
A stunning, terrifying novel about a house the color of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A World Without You
Seventeen-year-old Bo has always had delusions that he can...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Rocks Fall Everyone Dies
Twin Peaks meets Stars Hollow in this paranormal suspense...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller where...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Mirror and the Mage
Fourteen-year old Lucius Junius Brutus yearns to join the...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
The Darkest Hour
Never underestimate a pretty face. My name is Lucie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
51wP-G8MtPL__SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Haunting photographs and dark family secrets make this second...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Age of Myth: Book One of The Legends of the First Empire
Michael J. Sullivan's trailblazing career began with the breakout...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Today, he’s a high school dropout with no future. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Nate: Doodlepalooza
This third Big Nate activity book—now in paperback—is jam-packed with...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Top Prospect
Travis Gardner lives to play quarterback. He's a standout QB...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)