Our Song Featured

 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
1419   1
Write Review
Our Song
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 02, 2013
ISBN
978-1595142689
Buy This Book
      

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place. Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession. Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Unique Romance With A Twist

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Our Song

I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

    

    

   

  

   

   

   

   

   

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Summers
ONE SUMMER in the French countryside, among sun-kissed fields of...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Memory Book
They tell me that my memory will never be...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Breaker
Kyle Henry has a new name, a new school, and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first in a new fantasy series from the New...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gutless
With good speed and good hands, wide receiver Brock Ripley...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Savage Song
There’s no such thing as safe in a city...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
51sV8+OAQSL__SX321_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
A charming and imaginative new YA novel about getting...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Million Times Goodnight
A teen Sliding Doors. One choice creates parallel dual...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Black River Falls
Seventeen-year-old Cardinal has escaped the virus that ravaged his...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Metropolis
Peruse the postcard-like pages to discover cultural treasures, amazing architecture...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ignite: Book Three of the Resistance Series
The Greatest Risk Is To Take No Risk At...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Other Boy
A beautifully heartfelt story about one boy’s journey toward acceptance....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tiger Tail (Or What Happened to Anya On Her First Day of School)
From the creative mind of rising star Mike Boldt comes...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Insert Coin to Continue
Bryan Biggins wakes up to find that his life has...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Love to Sing Along
The perfect first book for every preschooler! Introduce children to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shining Sea Cover
Falling in love shouldn’t feel like drowning. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)