Our Song

Featured
 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
1995   1
Write Review
Our Song
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 02, 2013
ISBN
978-1595142689
Buy This Book
      

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place. Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession. Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Unique Romance With A Twist

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Our Song

I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Hidden Figures: The True Story of Four Black Women and the Space Race
Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson, and Christine Darden were...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World
"Well-behaved women seldom make history." —Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, Pulitzer Prize-winning...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Begin a fantastic journey with our hero, the Warrior from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fairy Mom and Me
From the bestselling author of the Shopaholic series and the...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Picture Us in the Light
Danny Cheng has always known his parents have secrets. But...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Time Tracers
Twelve-year-old Taj Carter is on a high-stakes mission to track...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until her...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Better Together (Heartwood Hotel, #3)
Spring has come to Fernwood Forest, and the Heartwood Hotel...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sky in the Deep
A 2018 Most Anticipated Young Adult book that is...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (2)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
All The Things We Lost
After her mother’s death, eighteen-year-old Katie finds herself in...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
White Rabbit
Caleb Roehrig, author of Last Seen Leaving, delivers another...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ada: Aegis Default
Newly famous and burdened with responsibility, Ada Anand has to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ada: Solstice Volition
When Ada Anand is given a very special gift for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Oshun Rising: Trinity Forest Book 2
 
4.0
"The story: Ember Trouve, missing for three years in Trinity Forest, has been “rebirthed”, in the form of a..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
Shadow Wings
 
5.0
"Summary King Irdelron is dead. Lord Irrik is now Lord Tyrrik and free from his blood oath. Ryn is..."
 
4.8
"I'm not a big fan of Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones or most Fantasy. There is nothing..."
Seventeen
 
5.0
"I loved this novel, I liked the way it was written and it had me hooked. The plot flowed smoothly..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
5.0
"LEGACY OF LIGHT picks right up where the first one left off. They're all mourning Davi's death and are still..."
Something of Substance
 
5.0
"A heartbreaking look into a real-life problem. The story: Grace has lived her life feeling as if she wasn't..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.0
"A fun enemies to lovers romance. The story: Emma wants to find love... or at the very least, a..."
Ignited (Dance of the Elements, #1)
 
3.8
"The Republic is located in the desert and is ruled by the Thirteen. When Jura discovers a blood chain on..."
The Wing Collector
 
5.0
"Wow oh wow. Where to start? THE WING COLLECTOR is a completely original take on a faerie story and is..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"SORAYA is a prequel that introduces the reader to how the all-female Ixtrayu tribe came to be. After reading PAWNS,..."
Queens (The Wielders of Arantha Book 2)
 
5.0
"QUEENS picks up right where PAWNS left off . The message Maeve received from her husband in the first book..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Maeve and her son Davin find themselves stuck on a primitive planet that holds secrets they'll soon uncover. In PAWNS,..."
Seventeen
 
4.7
"I enjoyed the fact that this story was set in Australia. I liked the characters and enjoyed seeing them face..."
Acceptance The Jewel Trilogy Book one
 
5.0
"What I Liked: This was amazing! This is easily one of the best books I have read this year...."
Into Darkness
 
4.3
"The story: Fifteen-year-old Alexandra Spencer has led a life of privilege. That all disintegrates when her boyfriend Marcus..."
Fracture
 
5.0
"'Fracture' by Melanie Hooyenga was a fantastic sequel to 'Flicker,' the first in the book series. Biz's ability to flicker..."
Fathom
 
4.0
" FATHOM is a haunting and alluring story with the undeniable presence of Kira's mother who's supposed to be..."