Our Song Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/99/62/47/our-song-25-1367338802.jpg
 
3.7
 
3.0 (1)
1082   1
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 02, 2013
ISBN
978-1595142689
Buy This Book
      

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place. Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession. Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Editor reviews

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor April 30, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (415)

Unique Romance With A Twist

What I liked: The cover is the reason I wanted to read this. *grins* This was a unique coming of age story with an interesting plot twist. I was able to read it fairly quickly but not because it was full of rainbows and unicorns. The issues these characters deal with are more mature than the average teen romance but the lessons they learn are life changing. Olive figures out what real love is supposed to look like and how essential it is to be able to love yourself first. Nick was full of tortured swoon without being over the top and the ending was movie worthy.

What left me wanting: I wanted to connect more with Olive.

Final verdict: Unique romance with a twist. (Fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen will want to check this out.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Sara A. Reviewed by Sara A. February 02, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

Our Song

I really loved the cover of this book and I am a sucker for a good love story. But I found myself not really connecting with the characters. The book was slow to start and really didn't pick up for me. I did really like how at the end the Character's own personal tragedies brought them together and they were both able to move on. I could not stand Derek but I don't think we were really meant to like him. I did swoon a bit over Nick. Who doesn't love an English accent? I am not sure why Olive kept hearing the song. I have my own idea as to why she heard it but I am not sure if I am correct. That is something that bothered me I would have liked the song bit to be explained a bit more. All in all is was coming of age story with a decent love story thrown in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Your Voice Is All I Hear by Leah Scheier + Giveaway (US/Canada)

      Hi, everyone! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for YOUR VOICE IS ALL I HEAR by Leah Scheier, releasing September 1, 2015 from Sourcebooks. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Leah:   Welcome to the cover reveal for my second novel, ...

  • YABC Book Haul - March 2015

    We are super excited! The March 2015 YABC Book Haul is here! Over 100 books of pure awesomeness.  This month, Clint from the Nerd Riders is hosting along with his special guest, Loki. What are your favorite titles in this month's YABC Book Haul? Let us know in the comments below ...

  • INSURGENT - Drive Through Movie Review

    *****NO SPOILERS***** Yay! It's another #YAMovieDay and this one is HUGE! YA lovers all over the world have been eagerly awaiting the big screen arrival of INSURGENT. Does it live up to the hype? Here's what the Nerd Riders think.  QUESTION: You are Divergent, but only in two Fa ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Strike by Delilah S. Dawson + Giveaway (US Only)

      Hello, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for STRIKE by Delilah S. Dawson, releasing March 2016 from Simon Pulse. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Delilah:   If you've seen the HIT cover, you know that it's utterly unique ...

  • Giveaway: Public School Superhero by James Patterson (US Only)

    PUBLIC SCHOOL SUPERHERO by James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts Illustrated by Cory Thomas In stores March 16, 2015   About the Book In this story about a good kid with a great imagination struggling in a less-than-ideal world, James Patterson brings his bestselling ...

  • An Ember in the Ashes - Character Trailer and Giveaway!

    On April 28th, AN EMBER IN THE ASHES will hit the shelves of your local bookstore. The staff at YABC are super excited about this story! Here's a peek at the synopsis:   I WILL TELL YOU THE SAME THING I TELL EVERY SLAVE.   THE RESISTANCE HAS TRIED TO PENETRATE THIS SCHOOL CO ...

  • CINDERELLA - Drive Through Movie Review

    *****NO SPOILERS******* Yay! It's another #YAMovieDay and The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, share their thoughts on the highly anticipated Disney live action film CINDERELLA.      QUESTION: If you could ask for one thing from your Fairy Godmother, what would ...

  • Author Jodi Meadows' Top 5

    Today we welcome Jodi Meadows, author of THE ORPHAN QUEEN and the INCARNATE trilogy, to the blog. She's giving us her top five reasons why she loves fantasy. We love fantasy too (especially Jodi's new book THE ORPHAN QUEEN, which is basically Batman meets Game of Thrones with some swoon thrown in ...

  • Giveaway: City Love by Susane Colasanti (US Only)

    City Love by Susane Colasanti Release Date: April 21, 2015   About the Book Sadie, Darcy, and Rosanna are living together in New York City the summer before their freshman year of college begins. With no parents, no rules, and an entire city to explore, these three girls ...

  • Giveaway: As White As Snow by Salla Simukka (US Only)

      As White As Snow by Salla Simukka Release Date: March 3, 2015   About the Book The heat of the summer sun bakes the streets of Prague, but Lumikki’s heart is frozen solid. Looking to escape the notoriety caused by the part she played in taking down Polar Bea ...

  • Giveaway: Things I’ll Never Say: Stories About Our Secret Selves by Ann Angel & Various Authors (US & CAN Only)

      Things I’ll Never Say: Stories About Our Secret Selves Written by: Ann Angel Kerry Cohen Louise Hawes Varian Johnson erica l. kaufman Ron Koertge E. M. Kokie Chris Lynch Kekla Magoon Zoë Marriott Katy Moran J. L. Powers Mary Ann Rodman Cynthia Leitich ...

  • THE DUFF - Drive Through Movie Review

    *****NO SPOILERS***** The Nerd Riders just saw an early screening of THE DUFF and are here to give you theirYA review.  Question: Would you rather be a DUFF or the DUFF's friend?      ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Order
Category: Young Adult Indie
Lana Crewe is a strong, fiercely driven seventeen year old living in a village ruled by fear. With their king...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
In his New York Times bestselling novel, David Levithan introduces readers to what Entertainment Weekly calls a "wise, wildly unique"...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Does it get better? The New York Times bestselling author of Crank and Tricks explores the highly charged landscapes of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)