Unnatural Creatures: Stories Selected by Neil Gaiman

Unnatural Creatures: Stories Selected by Neil Gaiman

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1223   0
Write Review
Unnatural Creatures: Stories Selected by Neil Gaiman
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 23, 2013
ISBN
978-0062236296
Buy This Book
      
"Unnatural Creatures" is a collection of short stories about the fantastical things that exist only in our minds - collected and introduced by beloved New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman.

The sixteen stories gathered by Gaiman, winner of the Hugo and Nebula Awards, range from the whimsical to the terrifying. The magical creatures range from werewolves to sunbirds to beings never before classified. E. Nesbit, Diana Wynne Jones, Gahan Wilson, and other literary luminaries contribute to the anthology.

Sales of "Unnatural Creatures" benefit 826DC, a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting students in their creative and expository writing, and to helping teachers inspire their students to write.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Splendidly Sophisticated Short Stories

I’ve never really liked short stories. They’re hard to get into and once you are in it’s not for long, and frankly, they're just not much fun. But what I do like is Neil Gaiman, he’s dark and he’s disturbing, there’s a certain wit and mysterious charm about his writing that works in any length he chooses. So can he write a fine engaging short story? Why yes he can, and does, some of my favorites, chosen from an admittedly small selection. But the real question about UNNATURAL CREATURES is can he pick out good short stories? Absolutely. Each one is a completely different and satisfying tale of things that will never be, but you believe deep down could happen. In short, these are good, exceptionally so.

This is a delightful collection of horror, mystery, modern myth, fantasy, and just plain I-don’t-know-what-to-call-it fun. The very first story was downright evil in a light humorous way, which really shouldn’t work, but it does. The ending was perfection in the form of blobs of ink on wood pulp. There’s also a nice little sci-fi jog with a unicorn, probably the funniest in the collection, but still sophisticated. The whole book is very sophisticated, with one exception, which suits the theme well. The theme being unnatural creatures, of course. This includes a Cockatoucan, a mermaid, a couple of very different werewolves, some safety pins, and Death herself. The feel and perspectives of the stories are about as different as can be, but I loved almost all of them. It’s the sort of book you carry around everywhere you go for a few days until it’s over. This book harbors what is very probably the best drunken dialogue to ever come from a (presumably) sober man, some cartographer wasps, and a very clever, if temporarily so, little girl. There was only one real dud in the whole collection. It’s about a plump, pretty girl who is obsessed with how fat and ugly she is, and that’s about it. The unnatural elements were hard to distinguish from the natural, it just sort of gets on the nerves.

Mr. Gaiman wrote a pleasant little intro for each story, as well as a somewhat disturbing tale himself, so although it was a little disappointing that he hadn’t written the whole book, he made up for it.

In a way, these weren’t actually short stories at all, they were mini stories, feeling more like a whole world summed up in less than a hundred pages than a chapter from a larger book, and not falling short in any way.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"This is a book that you wish you could just sit down and read without interruption! Keeps you..."
Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."