Belonging (Temptation #2)

Belonging (Temptation #2) Featured

 
3.3
 
3.0 (1)
670   1
Write Review
Belonging (Temptation #2)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 30, 2013
ISBN
978-0373210817
Buy This Book
      
I left everything I knew behind. But it was worth it. He was worth it. No one thought an ordinary girl like me would last two minutes living with the Amish, not even me. There are a lot more rules and a lot less freedom, and I miss my family and the life I once had. Worst of all, Noah and I aren't even allowed to see each other. Not until I've proven myself. If I can find a way to make it work, we'll be Noah & Rose together forever. But not everybody believes this is where I belong.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Amish Romeo and Juliet saga continues.

What I liked: The cover is what piqued my interest followed closely by the plot, like an Amish Romeo and Juliet. It's well written with a clear distinction between the dialect of the Amish verses the English (anyone who isn't Amish) and of course, there's plenty of romantic tension.

BELONGING provides more of an inside look into the world of the Amish as Rose adjusts to her new life. Everyone expects her to fail and even Noah begins to have his doubts but her willingness to prove herself is admirable. Rose and Noah have their issues but I found them enjoyable and their struggle to balance the Amish old-fashioned ways with their desires was entertaining.

What left me wanting: I wanted to love this, I really did, but the insta-love that happened in Temptation, bordered on obsession and the drama wore on me after a while. I know the Amish have their issues but I was hoping for more HEA and less, "Dateline Special". The ending didn't surprise me at all which was a bit of a letdown.

Final verdict: If you loved Temptation, you 'll no doubt enjoy this sequel.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Could have been better


Belonging is the second book in the Temptation series. After reading Temptation in May, I was quite eager to read Belonging after seeing it in the bookstore plenty of times. Though I was quite eager to buy myself my own, I resisted and decided to wait until the library had it available (I was actually second on the wasting list.)

I didn't particularly like Temptation, because of the insta love that happened between Rose and Noah. But, I did like the whole premise of forbidden love in Temptation which made it quite addicting.

In Belonging, Rose gives up everything - basically her old life- in order to be with Noah. She is put into a situation where she cannot date Noah or in their case "courting" until she becomes Amish. The both of them are followed in with challenges and loads of twists and turns.

There were two thing that frustrated me in this book:

1) Noah

You thought Noah was selfish in Temptation? Well, in this one he goes beyond selfish. I'm not joking. I don't understand why Rose is in love with him in the first place. Everything has to go Noah's way, if not, he gets incredibly angry and makes irrational choices that only benefit him.

Here's an example of Noah's selfishness:

"For Rose's sake I didn't want her to be with child, but for my sake, I silently prayed she was."

When I read this, I was furious - furious to the point where I wanted to throw the book at Noah. No wait, I don't want throw a book, I'd love to throw my fist at his oh so handsome face instead. Noah doesn't care what she's going to go through with, the only thing he cares about is himself. Being pregnant under the age of eighteen is one emotional wreck, I've witnessed it myself. Noah wants her pregnant so that their families have no choice but to let them be together. But wait, doesn't this sound familiar? Didn't Noah suggest this in the first book? In fact he did.

"In a course voice I (Noah) suggested, "Maybe if your father thought you were pregnant he'd agree." (Temptation, Book 1)

Well, people, this is exactly what Noah did. He made her pregnant. Obviously, Rose wasn't aware what his real intentions were.

2) "Amish Way"

I'm sorry, but I have a hard time absorbing this. When you're being sexually abused, you don't just wait and see what the Amish leaders of your church and let them think what the punishment should be. Instead, you bring them right to the police and have them deal with the criminal themselves. People like them should be handled by the police so that rapists like them don't get a chance of raping another person.

Overall, this book reminded me of those badly aired tv soap operas. Though I was majorly disappointed, I will be reading the last book, hoping that the author will surprise and sweep me off my feet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

   

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)