The Look Featured

 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
509   0
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
978-0545464383
Buy This Book
      

Can she be a supermodel and a super-sister? She finds her answer in just one look. Two sisters, both beautiful in different ways: Fifteen-year-old Ted has got "The Look." That's what the scout for the modeling agency tells her, and she can't believe her luck. But just as Ted's jet-setting off on her new career, Ava is diagnosed with cancer. Can Ted be a supermodel and a super-sister? Or will she have to choose between family and fame? With their worlds turned upside down, the girls have to look past appearances, look deep inside, to figure out what really matters.

Editor reviews

THE LOOK is trying to say something, it really is. It tends towards the theme that inner beauty is more important that outer beauty. Unfortunately this wasn’t done very strongly, so I got what was trying to be said but I didn’t actually believe them, it seemed more like an afterthought, something shoved in during the last chapter to pack in some extra meaning.

Which didn’t really work.

The main character’s (Ted) sister Ava is diagnosed with cancer at the beginning of the book. A lot of deep stuff could have come out of this, with bits of touching talks and great epiphanies about life. Instead it comes across as an excuse for Ted to do ridiculous things to entertain Ava. This is rather disappointing, because there was such potential, and also a bit exasperating, it just doesn’t seem like Ted really cares about Ava, she tells you she does, but it doesn’t feel like it.

The characters on a whole were a bit weak and flat, some of them hosting some of the most obnoxious dialogue I have ever witnessed to boot. Ted was genuinely funny at times, but I also wish she could have gotten more serious every now and then.

This book seemed to have a bit of an identity crisis. It’s written by an English author, about English people, in England. And yet, it felt very American. There are hardly any of the language quirks or slang that I would have expected. In the end it was just kind of distracting, because I had to keep reminding myself they weren’t in Mississippi or somewhere, opposed to being cultural.

All and all THE LOOK is a book about modeling and a girl trying to figure it out. She learns some life lessons and figures out what matters in life. It has a good message, and it could have been very inspirational to some people. It just would have been more powerful if it was done with a bit more feeling.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Almost Insperational

THE LOOK is trying to say something, it really is. It tends towards the theme that inner beauty is more important that outer beauty. Unfortunately this wasn’t done very strongly, so I got what was trying to be said but I didn’t actually believe them, it seemed more like an afterthought, something shoved in during the last chapter to pack in some extra meaning.

Which didn’t really work.

The main character’s (Ted) sister Ava is diagnosed with cancer at the beginning of the book. A lot of deep stuff could have come out of this, with bits of touching talks and great epiphanies about life. Instead it comes across as an excuse for Ted to do ridiculous things to entertain Ava. This is rather disappointing, because there was such potential, and also a bit exasperating, it just doesn’t seem like Ted really cares about Ava, she tells you she does, but it doesn’t feel like it.

The characters on a whole were a bit weak and flat, some of them hosting some of the most obnoxious dialogue I have ever witnessed to boot. Ted was genuinely funny at times, but I also wish she could have gotten more serious every now and then.

This book seemed to have a bit of an identity crisis. It’s written by an English author, about English people, in England. And yet, it felt very American. There are hardly any of the language quirks or slang that I would have expected. In the end it was just kind of distracting, because I had to keep reminding myself they weren’t in Mississippi or somewhere, opposed to being cultural.

All and all THE LOOK is a book about modeling and a girl trying to figure it out. She learns some life lessons and figures out what matters in life. It has a good message, and it could have been very inspirational to some people. It just would have been more powerful if it was done with a bit more feeling.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)