Wasteland

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/19/7f/d3/_wasteland-susan-kim-laurence-klavan-1364048435.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
486   0
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 26, 2013
ISBN
006211851X
Buy This Book
      
Welcome to the Wasteland. Where all the adults are long gone, and now no one lives past the age of nineteen. Susan Kim and Laurence Klavan’s post-apocalyptic debut is the first of a trilogy in which everyone is forced to live under the looming threat of rampant disease and brutal attacks by the Variants —- hermaphroditic outcasts that live on the outskirts of Prin. Esther thinks there’s more to life than toiling at harvesting, gleaning, and excavating, day after day under the relentless sun, just hoping to make it to the next day. But then Caleb, a mysterious stranger, arrives in town, and Esther begins to question who she can trust. As shady pasts unravel into the present and new romances develop, Caleb and Esther realize that they must team together to fight for their lives and for the freedom of Prin.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
When I received this book in the mail I read he back and was like this sounds so amazing. I mean teens getting married at 15, having kids at 17 and dying at 19, .wow. I don’t know what I would do if I was alive in this world, I would only have 2 years of life left at maximum. Any way I ended up really liking the book, but it definitely wasn’t what I had expected from the summary.
I really liked the storyline. There were so many twists and turns that I hadn’t expected. So many layers to the plot to uncover. Not to mention the multifaced characters. They were all amazingly well written also with many layers to uncover. My favorite was Skar because although she’s not a main character she was pne that I saw evolve a lot. She matured the most I believe. I wish that there had been more written in about Michal. All of the characters were well written but they didn‘t really talk and act like the teenagers that they were supposed to be. But I can see why, if there were no adults and they had to assume the role of adults then they would act like it. I could see the world and the things that happened in the book happening in the future.
I like how there was a little bit of romance but not too much.
I would recommend Wasteland to anyone who likes Dystopia, obviously. And to fans of the Hunger Games, Divergent or any books similar to those.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Sasha Shamblen Reviewed by Sasha Shamblen April 05, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (44)

Not What I Was Expecting

When I received this book in the mail I read he back and was like this sounds so amazing. I mean teens getting married at 15, having kids at 17 and dying at 19, .wow. I don’t know what I would do if I was alive in this world, I would only have 2 years of life left at maximum. Any way I ended up really liking the book, but it definitely wasn’t what I had expected from the summary.
I really liked the storyline. There were so many twists and turns that I hadn’t expected. So many layers to the plot to uncover. Not to mention the multifaced characters. They were all amazingly well written also with many layers to uncover. My favorite was Skar because although she’s not a main character she was pne that I saw evolve a lot. She matured the most I believe. I wish that there had been more written in about Michal. All of the characters were well written but they didn‘t really talk and act like the teenagers that they were supposed to be. But I can see why, if there were no adults and they had to assume the role of adults then they would act like it. I could see the world and the things that happened in the book happening in the future.
I like how there was a little bit of romance but not too much.
I would recommend Wasteland to anyone who likes Dystopia, obviously. And to fans of the Hunger Games, Divergent or any books similar to those.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)