Wasteland

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/19/7f/d3/_wasteland-susan-kim-laurence-klavan-1364048435.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
549   0
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 26, 2013
ISBN
006211851X
Buy This Book
      
Welcome to the Wasteland. Where all the adults are long gone, and now no one lives past the age of nineteen. Susan Kim and Laurence Klavan’s post-apocalyptic debut is the first of a trilogy in which everyone is forced to live under the looming threat of rampant disease and brutal attacks by the Variants —- hermaphroditic outcasts that live on the outskirts of Prin. Esther thinks there’s more to life than toiling at harvesting, gleaning, and excavating, day after day under the relentless sun, just hoping to make it to the next day. But then Caleb, a mysterious stranger, arrives in town, and Esther begins to question who she can trust. As shady pasts unravel into the present and new romances develop, Caleb and Esther realize that they must team together to fight for their lives and for the freedom of Prin.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
When I received this book in the mail I read he back and was like this sounds so amazing. I mean teens getting married at 15, having kids at 17 and dying at 19, .wow. I don’t know what I would do if I was alive in this world, I would only have 2 years of life left at maximum. Any way I ended up really liking the book, but it definitely wasn’t what I had expected from the summary.
I really liked the storyline. There were so many twists and turns that I hadn’t expected. So many layers to the plot to uncover. Not to mention the multifaced characters. They were all amazingly well written also with many layers to uncover. My favorite was Skar because although she’s not a main character she was pne that I saw evolve a lot. She matured the most I believe. I wish that there had been more written in about Michal. All of the characters were well written but they didn‘t really talk and act like the teenagers that they were supposed to be. But I can see why, if there were no adults and they had to assume the role of adults then they would act like it. I could see the world and the things that happened in the book happening in the future.
I like how there was a little bit of romance but not too much.
I would recommend Wasteland to anyone who likes Dystopia, obviously. And to fans of the Hunger Games, Divergent or any books similar to those.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Sasha Shamblen Reviewed by Sasha Shamblen April 05, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (44)

Not What I Was Expecting

When I received this book in the mail I read he back and was like this sounds so amazing. I mean teens getting married at 15, having kids at 17 and dying at 19, .wow. I don’t know what I would do if I was alive in this world, I would only have 2 years of life left at maximum. Any way I ended up really liking the book, but it definitely wasn’t what I had expected from the summary.
I really liked the storyline. There were so many twists and turns that I hadn’t expected. So many layers to the plot to uncover. Not to mention the multifaced characters. They were all amazingly well written also with many layers to uncover. My favorite was Skar because although she’s not a main character she was pne that I saw evolve a lot. She matured the most I believe. I wish that there had been more written in about Michal. All of the characters were well written but they didn‘t really talk and act like the teenagers that they were supposed to be. But I can see why, if there were no adults and they had to assume the role of adults then they would act like it. I could see the world and the things that happened in the book happening in the future.
I like how there was a little bit of romance but not too much.
I would recommend Wasteland to anyone who likes Dystopia, obviously. And to fans of the Hunger Games, Divergent or any books similar to those.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)