Luminosity Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/2f/37/d6/_luminosity-1364015074.jpg
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
497   0
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 11, 2012
ISBN
978-1620611272
Buy This Book
      
Beatrice, whose Visions are clearer than those of the other Seers, trains to defend the Institution and the City from the Dreamcatchers. As the City prepares for an invasion, a Dreamcatcher named Echo tells Beatrice that war is imminent, and they must save each other in order to survive. Beatrice keeps this information from her best friend, Gabe, jeopardizing her allegiance to him and the Seers. Now, threatened by both the Seers and the Dreamcatchers, Beatrice must learn who she can trust, and make decisions that may cause her to lose Gabe or Echo forever.

Editor reviews

The premise of LUMINOSITY intrigued me. A society of Seers whose dreams help their people against the dreaded Dreamcatchers. Beatrice is a Seer whose visions are the clearest of all the others in her community. Only she has a secret. She's seeing a Dreamcatcher, who is warning her of an upcoming battle. She knows she can't reveal this secret to her leader, the Keeper, or else she'll be executed. In the meantime she's struggling with her growing feelings toward Gabe, a childhood friend and falling in love with Echo, the Dreamcatcher who haunts her dreams.

What worked for this novel had to be the world of the Seers. The futuristic community is bleak and dark. The Seers have to have their first vision before being accepted into this society. Their trademark includes having raven tats placed next to their eyes. The action and pacing of the storyline moves along nicely. The dream sequences worked by delving deep into the other world of Echo. This is where the emotional pull tugs at the reader. It's also the unique twist in this dystopian novel. Beatrice starts to fall in love with a sworn enemy albeit one she only sees in dreams. Add to that her confusing emotions around Gabe. At times he comes across as being insensitive to her with his comments that she's holding something back from him. The banter between Beatrice and Gabe shows the insecurities both face in their growing relationship.

What I wished for though had to be more about this society. Sure, there were some explanation about how the Seers came to be but it felt almost rushed at times. The training that is thrust on the Seers felt almost too Hunger Games like at times though it did show the ugly side of a so-called society whose sole purpose is to help the citizens outside of the Institute. Toward the end, Echo comments that the Seers used the Citizens as slaves. I wanted to know why. There are glimpses of Citizens being fearful whenever the Seers showed up but it would have helped to get a little background on what their purpose was exactly.

Intriguing action filled paranormal tale where dreams can be dangerous in more ways than one. I really loved Echo and hope book two shows us more of not just him but his world of Aura. Also I want to know what are the consequences of Beatrice's choice at the end. Will she end up with Gabe, who she feels strongly for or Echo the boy that haunts her dreams? Hopefully book two will answer those and other questions.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor March 23, 2013
Last updated: March 23, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (382)

Intriguing Tale

The premise of LUMINOSITY intrigued me. A society of Seers whose dreams help their people against the dreaded Dreamcatchers. Beatrice is a Seer whose visions are the clearest of all the others in her community. Only she has a secret. She's seeing a Dreamcatcher, who is warning her of an upcoming battle. She knows she can't reveal this secret to her leader, the Keeper, or else she'll be executed. In the meantime she's struggling with her growing feelings toward Gabe, a childhood friend and falling in love with Echo, the Dreamcatcher who haunts her dreams.

What worked for this novel had to be the world of the Seers. The futuristic community is bleak and dark. The Seers have to have their first vision before being accepted into this society. Their trademark includes having raven tats placed next to their eyes. The action and pacing of the storyline moves along nicely. The dream sequences worked by delving deep into the other world of Echo. This is where the emotional pull tugs at the reader. It's also the unique twist in this dystopian novel. Beatrice starts to fall in love with a sworn enemy albeit one she only sees in dreams. Add to that her confusing emotions around Gabe. At times he comes across as being insensitive to her with his comments that she's holding something back from him. The banter between Beatrice and Gabe shows the insecurities both face in their growing relationship.

What I wished for though had to be more about this society. Sure, there were some explanation about how the Seers came to be but it felt almost rushed at times. The training that is thrust on the Seers felt almost too Hunger Games like at times though it did show the ugly side of a so-called society whose sole purpose is to help the citizens outside of the Institute. Toward the end, Echo comments that the Seers used the Citizens as slaves. I wanted to know why. There are glimpses of Citizens being fearful whenever the Seers showed up but it would have helped to get a little background on what their purpose was exactly.

Intriguing action filled paranormal tale where dreams can be dangerous in more ways than one. I really loved Echo and hope book two shows us more of not just him but his world of Aura. Also I want to know what are the consequences of Beatrice's choice at the end. Will she end up with Gabe, who she feels strongly for or Echo the boy that haunts her dreams? Hopefully book two will answer those and other questions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)