Luminosity Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/2f/37/d6/_luminosity-1364015074.jpg
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
578   0
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 11, 2012
ISBN
978-1620611272
Buy This Book
      
Beatrice, whose Visions are clearer than those of the other Seers, trains to defend the Institution and the City from the Dreamcatchers. As the City prepares for an invasion, a Dreamcatcher named Echo tells Beatrice that war is imminent, and they must save each other in order to survive. Beatrice keeps this information from her best friend, Gabe, jeopardizing her allegiance to him and the Seers. Now, threatened by both the Seers and the Dreamcatchers, Beatrice must learn who she can trust, and make decisions that may cause her to lose Gabe or Echo forever.

Editor reviews

The premise of LUMINOSITY intrigued me. A society of Seers whose dreams help their people against the dreaded Dreamcatchers. Beatrice is a Seer whose visions are the clearest of all the others in her community. Only she has a secret. She's seeing a Dreamcatcher, who is warning her of an upcoming battle. She knows she can't reveal this secret to her leader, the Keeper, or else she'll be executed. In the meantime she's struggling with her growing feelings toward Gabe, a childhood friend and falling in love with Echo, the Dreamcatcher who haunts her dreams.

What worked for this novel had to be the world of the Seers. The futuristic community is bleak and dark. The Seers have to have their first vision before being accepted into this society. Their trademark includes having raven tats placed next to their eyes. The action and pacing of the storyline moves along nicely. The dream sequences worked by delving deep into the other world of Echo. This is where the emotional pull tugs at the reader. It's also the unique twist in this dystopian novel. Beatrice starts to fall in love with a sworn enemy albeit one she only sees in dreams. Add to that her confusing emotions around Gabe. At times he comes across as being insensitive to her with his comments that she's holding something back from him. The banter between Beatrice and Gabe shows the insecurities both face in their growing relationship.

What I wished for though had to be more about this society. Sure, there were some explanation about how the Seers came to be but it felt almost rushed at times. The training that is thrust on the Seers felt almost too Hunger Games like at times though it did show the ugly side of a so-called society whose sole purpose is to help the citizens outside of the Institute. Toward the end, Echo comments that the Seers used the Citizens as slaves. I wanted to know why. There are glimpses of Citizens being fearful whenever the Seers showed up but it would have helped to get a little background on what their purpose was exactly.

Intriguing action filled paranormal tale where dreams can be dangerous in more ways than one. I really loved Echo and hope book two shows us more of not just him but his world of Aura. Also I want to know what are the consequences of Beatrice's choice at the end. Will she end up with Gabe, who she feels strongly for or Echo the boy that haunts her dreams? Hopefully book two will answer those and other questions.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor March 23, 2013
Last updated: March 23, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (389)

Intriguing Tale

The premise of LUMINOSITY intrigued me. A society of Seers whose dreams help their people against the dreaded Dreamcatchers. Beatrice is a Seer whose visions are the clearest of all the others in her community. Only she has a secret. She's seeing a Dreamcatcher, who is warning her of an upcoming battle. She knows she can't reveal this secret to her leader, the Keeper, or else she'll be executed. In the meantime she's struggling with her growing feelings toward Gabe, a childhood friend and falling in love with Echo, the Dreamcatcher who haunts her dreams.

What worked for this novel had to be the world of the Seers. The futuristic community is bleak and dark. The Seers have to have their first vision before being accepted into this society. Their trademark includes having raven tats placed next to their eyes. The action and pacing of the storyline moves along nicely. The dream sequences worked by delving deep into the other world of Echo. This is where the emotional pull tugs at the reader. It's also the unique twist in this dystopian novel. Beatrice starts to fall in love with a sworn enemy albeit one she only sees in dreams. Add to that her confusing emotions around Gabe. At times he comes across as being insensitive to her with his comments that she's holding something back from him. The banter between Beatrice and Gabe shows the insecurities both face in their growing relationship.

What I wished for though had to be more about this society. Sure, there were some explanation about how the Seers came to be but it felt almost rushed at times. The training that is thrust on the Seers felt almost too Hunger Games like at times though it did show the ugly side of a so-called society whose sole purpose is to help the citizens outside of the Institute. Toward the end, Echo comments that the Seers used the Citizens as slaves. I wanted to know why. There are glimpses of Citizens being fearful whenever the Seers showed up but it would have helped to get a little background on what their purpose was exactly.

Intriguing action filled paranormal tale where dreams can be dangerous in more ways than one. I really loved Echo and hope book two shows us more of not just him but his world of Aura. Also I want to know what are the consequences of Beatrice's choice at the end. Will she end up with Gabe, who she feels strongly for or Echo the boy that haunts her dreams? Hopefully book two will answer those and other questions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)