Fifteenth Summer

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2680   1
Write Review
Fifteenth Summer
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 07, 2013
ISBN
978-1442472662
Buy This Book
      
Love blossoms by the lake in this sweet summer romance, in the tradition of Seventeeth Summer and Sixteenth Summer.Chelsea isn’t looking forward to her summer at the lake. It’s the first time her family has been there since her grandmother died, and she can’t break out of her funk. But her summer takes a turn for the better when she meets a boy who works in the bookstore. Josh is cute, sweet, funny…and best of all, seems to like her as much as she likes him. As the days pass by in a blur of boat rides, picnics, and stolen kisses, she can’t believe how lucky she is. No one has ever made her feel so special, or so beautiful.

But Chelsea knows her days with Josh are numbered. She’ll be heading home at the end of the summer—and he’ll be staying behind. Will this be Chelsea’s summer of love? Or will it be the summer of her broken heart?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: March 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Sweetly Romantic.

Cute, funny and sweetly romantic, Fifteenth Summer is perfect for readers of all ages! Chelsea has mixed feelings about spending her summer at her family's cottage because it will be the first time she does so without Granly, her beloved grandmother who not only shared Chelsea's love of books but her fiery red hair too. Her two older sisters are focused on finding and rekindling their romances from the summer before but much to everyone's surprise, Chelsea is the one who finds love, in the cute bookstore-boy, Josh.

Her days begin to fly by in a whirl of row boats, books, kissing and mayonnaise, and before her summer comes to an end, Chelsea will learn what it means to be unique, to follow your dreams and just how perilous first love can be.

What I loved: The character's witty banter is funny without being cheesy or over the top and it's a clean read but still has plenty of romance and swoonworthy kissing. I really enjoyed the family dynamic and the bond Chelsea shares with her sisters made me wish I had sisters of my own. Josh and Chelsea felt like mature fifteen year olds but that was OK because I think their life experiences dictated that they weren't your average teenagers. I thought their relationship was sweet and the way they had to work through a few things made them relateable. I LOVED that Josh worked in a bookstore! Score one for the nerdish boys!

What left me wanting: I wanted more of Josh and Chelsea! Did they keep in touch? Did they rekindle their romance the following summer? I need to know these things... *hint hint* Michelle Dalton. :D

Final Verdict: This was a quick, lighthearted read but really enjoyable! I would feel comfortable giving this to any of the young (and not so young) readers I know.

Good Points
Love the cover!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Max Tilt: Fire the Depths
When thirteen-year-old Max Tilt happens upon his great-great-great-grandfather Jules Verne's...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lucy & Andy Neanderthal: The Stone Cold Age (Lucy and Andy Neanderthal)
Neanderthal siblings Lucy and Andy are back to their paleo...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Knowing
Samara is one of the Knowing, and the Knowing do...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but you've...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Everything You Need to Know About NIGHTMARES! and How to Defeat Them: The Nightmares! Handbook
A handbook for beating nightmares from the New York Times...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Code 7: Cracking the Code for an Epic Life
Life at Flint Hill Elementary School may seem normal, but...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Confidentially Yours #6: Vanessa's Design Dilemma
In the sixth installment of the series that readers of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Big Family (Fly Guy #17)
In the latest installment of Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Luna and the Lost Shell (Fairy Hill #2)
Fairy Hill is a magic forest where fairies live, play,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby and the Magic Garden (Fairy Hill #1)
Fairy Hill is a magic forest where fairies live, play,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
20316920_1595609687178811_492401856_o.jpg
This is the true story of a young family of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Stealing Liberty
When Reed Paine is sent to a secret detention school...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monster (Gone #7)
It’s been four years since a meteor hit Perdido Beach...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sink or Swim: A Novel of World War II
It's been a month since the bombing of Pearl Harbor....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The White Tower
When Livy's accepted at Temple College, an exclusive school for...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Enhanced
 
5.0
"After the events of Flying, Mana is back, and her situation hasn't improved. Her father is still deceased, her mother..."
The Knowing
 
4.7
"New Canaan is home to the Knowing, a group of people descended from colonists from the planet Earth--sent to a..."
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
 
4.7
"I love short story anthologies. So when I heard that there was a collection of YA shorts by some of..."
These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
 
4.0
"I’ll admit I was a bit hesitant to pick this one up. First of all, it sounded a bit like..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"Let me start by saying that while this is the seventh (yes, seventh!) book in a series, I haven't ever..."
Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"This is my first book by E. Lockhart and boy did it stress me out! Told in reverse, I flipped..."
First Came Forever (The Angelheart Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I am totally blown away by this book! It’s just absolutely adorable! I was hooked from the very first page..."
The Last Namsara
 
5.0
"The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year. I mean, a princess who slays..."
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
 
5.0
"APEX is the epic, action-packed finale to the Hunter Series. Joy is now a member of the Elite Hunter Command..."
Bad Girl Gone
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Echo Stone wakes up and finds herself in a dark house with other kids. Middle House is the home..."
An Ember in the Ashes
 
4.3
"Looooooved this book. I devoured each page. Savored every word. The writing is gorgeous. The characters are flawed but sympathetic...."
Three Dark Crowns
 
5.0
"LOVE. THIS. BOOK. Looooooooove! I'm not sure I'll make it to September when the second book is released. ..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.0
"What a ride! As a Poe enthusiast, I found this book irresistible. I struggled to put it down. And, when..."
Siege and Storm (Grisha Trilogy #2)
 
5.0
"I'm in love with this book series. LOVE. The world building, the story, the characters... *book nerd heart sigh* ..."
Ruin and Rising (Grisha Trilogy #3)
 
5.0
"I am now officially in a state of end-of-book-series mourning. I shall don my book nerd black armband and grapple..."
Caraval
 
3.7
"**spoiler alert** This. Was. AMAZING! I love psychological thrillers and gothic tales. However, the ending left me ... uncomfortable. ..."
The Scorpio Races
 
5.0
"I'm struggling for words to adequately describe my experience while reading this phenomenal story. All I know is that..."
On A LARP
 
5.0
"“And you want to know something else, something truly freaky? It is absolutely amazing how much stuff can flit through..."
Slider
 
5.0
"David is interested in competitive eating-- he can eat a pizza pretty quickly, and he's watched a lot of competitions..."
Candidate (The Black Mage Book 3)
 
4.3
"A wild, heart-pounding fantasy. The Story: Ryiah is no longer a student and she's no longer just a..."