Paradox

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/30/e5/f0/_paradox-1362954011.jpg
 
0.0
 
2.7 (1)
228   0
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
June 25, 2013
ISBN
978-0375869624
Buy This Book
      
Fans of James Dashner's Maze Runner series will love this postapocalyptic adventure about a girl who must survive an alien planet in order to save Earth.

Ana only knows her name because of the tag she finds pinned to her jumpsuit. Waking in the featureless compartment of a rocket ship, she opens the hatch to discover that she has landed on a barren alien world. Instructions in her pocket tell her to observe and to survive, no doubt with help from the wicked-looking knives she carries on her belt. But to what purpose?

Meeting up with three other teens--one boy seems strangely familiar--Ana treks across the inhospitable landscape, occasionally encountering odd twists of light that carry glimpses of people back on Earth. They're working on some sort of problem, and the situation is critical. What is the connection between Ana's mission on this planet and the crisis back on Earth, and how is she supposed to figure out the answer when she can't remember anything?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
2.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
The premise sounded really interesting. I love science fiction so I was a bit excited! But it didn't really turn out to be what I thought it was going to be. I kept zoning out while reading and didn't really care that much about the characters. It moved really quickly. I feel that if it was a bit longer, it could have become so much more layered. And in addition, it kind of felt like two different stories instead of one.

The planet was wonderfully imagined. In fact, the imagery used throughout the whole novel is excellent. But once we leave the planet and we start to learn all the secrets is when it went downhill for me. I kind of felt like the author was trying to cram as much science as she could into the science fiction. And while that's not really a bad thing, I mean the word "science" is in the name, but it kind of seemed to be solution to everything. The ending didn't really do it for me either. It was a little too open ended and then we get some random explanation at the end.

And the worm. I understand the purpose of the worm, but... I don't know. It's a giant worm. Seriously. All I could think of was the alaskan bull worm from Spongebob.

In the end, I was kind of disappointed. The characters were kind of meh and the story was okay. It feels to me that the author was trying to get some deep underlying message that would have worked better if it wasn't in a sci-fi setting. However, this would make a terrific movie; I think it reads more like a screenplay any way.
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Caroline Foxwell Reviewed by Caroline Foxwell October 02, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

Paradox ARC Review

The premise sounded really interesting. I love science fiction so I was a bit excited! But it didn't really turn out to be what I thought it was going to be. I kept zoning out while reading and didn't really care that much about the characters. It moved really quickly. I feel that if it was a bit longer, it could have become so much more layered. And in addition, it kind of felt like two different stories instead of one.

The planet was wonderfully imagined. In fact, the imagery used throughout the whole novel is excellent. But once we leave the planet and we start to learn all the secrets is when it went downhill for me. I kind of felt like the author was trying to cram as much science as she could into the science fiction. And while that's not really a bad thing, I mean the word "science" is in the name, but it kind of seemed to be solution to everything. The ending didn't really do it for me either. It was a little too open ended and then we get some random explanation at the end.

And the worm. I understand the purpose of the worm, but... I don't know. It's a giant worm. Seriously. All I could think of was the alaskan bull worm from Spongebob.

In the end, I was kind of disappointed. The characters were kind of meh and the story was okay. It feels to me that the author was trying to get some deep underlying message that would have worked better if it wasn't in a sci-fi setting. However, this would make a terrific movie; I think it reads more like a screenplay any way.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)