Books Young Adult Fiction The Twice Lost (The Lost Voices Trilogy #3)

The Twice Lost (The Lost Voices Trilogy #3)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/27/ec/3c/_twice-1362953566.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
302   0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 02, 2013
ISBN
978-0547482521
Buy This Book
      
Mermaids have been sinking ships and drowning humans for centuries, and now the government is determined to put an end to the mermaid problem—by slaughtering all of them. Luce, a mermaid with exceptionally threatening abilities, becomes their number-one target, hunted as she flees down the coast toward San Francisco.

There she finds hundreds of mermaids living in exile under the docks of the bay. These are the Twice Lost: once-human girls lost first when a trauma turned them into mermaids, and lost a second time when they broke mermaid law and were rejected by their tribes. Luce is stunned when they elect her as their leader. But she won’t be their queen. She’ll be their general. And they will become the Twice Lost Army—because this is war.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
The story of a brave and sweet mermaid, Luce, who wants to change the ways of her fellow mermaids from death to peace.
First of all, I love the cover is absolutely gorgeous. This is the last book on the Lost Voices trilogy. Even though I didn't read the first two books, I really liked this book, as a solitary is great, but with the other books , I'm sure it's going to be wonderful. I need to read the whole trilogy, I just need it (started saving to buy the first two books). Twice Lost is Peter Pan Lost Boys meets the mermaids for The Pirates of the Caribbean meets Ariel. I love the simplicity and sweetness of the story that makes the reader want to be one of those mermaids and want to be there with Luce to help her out.
Sarah Porter intake on the mermaid mythology is surreal and perfect. Girls who have suffered to much turned into mermaids as a way of escape for the horrible humanity can be. The Twice Lost submerged you in a world of forgiveness and what it means to be human (even if you're a mermaid like Luce who is more human then most humans on the story). Porter writing makes it easy to understand and get involved in the story. I love her writing style, how she describes the mermaids in detail, their singing and their surroundings. What I love more was the ending; I thought that it was going to be the typical happy ending in fairy tales but, I turned out to be something completely different and beautiful. I really enjoy reading this book full of emotions and beauty. 4.5 Stars.

I won this book for an honest review, it doesn't influenced in my opinion
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Viviana Ortiz Reviewed by Viviana Ortiz July 18, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (46)

Mermaids

The story of a brave and sweet mermaid, Luce, who wants to change the ways of her fellow mermaids from death to peace.
First of all, I love the cover is absolutely gorgeous. This is the last book on the Lost Voices trilogy. Even though I didn't read the first two books, I really liked this book, as a solitary is great, but with the other books , I'm sure it's going to be wonderful. I need to read the whole trilogy, I just need it (started saving to buy the first two books). Twice Lost is Peter Pan Lost Boys meets the mermaids for The Pirates of the Caribbean meets Ariel. I love the simplicity and sweetness of the story that makes the reader want to be one of those mermaids and want to be there with Luce to help her out.
Sarah Porter intake on the mermaid mythology is surreal and perfect. Girls who have suffered to much turned into mermaids as a way of escape for the horrible humanity can be. The Twice Lost submerged you in a world of forgiveness and what it means to be human (even if you're a mermaid like Luce who is more human then most humans on the story). Porter writing makes it easy to understand and get involved in the story. I love her writing style, how she describes the mermaids in detail, their singing and their surroundings. What I love more was the ending; I thought that it was going to be the typical happy ending in fairy tales but, I turned out to be something completely different and beautiful. I really enjoy reading this book full of emotions and beauty. 4.5 Stars.

I won this book for an honest review, it doesn't influenced in my opinion

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)