Books Young Adult Fiction Waking Storms (The Lost Voices Trilogy #2)

Waking Storms (The Lost Voices Trilogy #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ee/04/95/_waking-storms-1362953303.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
192   0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 03, 2012
ISBN
978-0547482514
Buy This Book
      
After parting ways with her troubled mermaid tribe, Luce just wants to live peacefully on her own. But her tranquility doesn’t last long: she receives news that the tribe is on the verge of collapse and desperately needs her leadership. The tribe’s cruel queen wants Luce dead. Dorian, the boy Luce broke mermaid law to save, is determined to make her pay for her part in the murder of his family. And while the mermaids cling to the idea that humans never suspect their existence, there are suddenly ominous signs to the contrary.

But when Luce and Dorian meet, they start to wonder if love can overpower the hatred they know they should feel for each other. Can Luce fulfill her rightful role as queen of the mermaids without sacrificing her forbidden romance with Dorian?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Finally, a sequel that didn't disappoint!

I've been having some serious issues with sequels lately, so I'm really happy to say that I enjoyed Waking Storms nearly as much as Lost Voices. Luce is still a strong, fierce character, though she does get distracted by a boy for a while...

I actually kind of liked Dorian and Luce's relationship. Not in the way that I was really pulling for them (I mean, it's nice if they stay together, but I'm not broken up over it if they don't), though. More in the sense that it was a rather toxic relationship, but it wasn't pretending not to be. Of course, they couldn't really see past their love for each other, but they would occasionally acknowledge the fact that what they had wasn't normal and had many reasons not to work out. At times, yes, I was rolling my eyes and berating Luce (and Dorian) for being so naive, but everyone's naive at some point, right? I actually really, really like where Porter went with their relationship in the end (no spoilers.)

I also really liked that this wasn't a love story. Luce and Dorian's relationship was a main focus, but it wasn't the only focus. There was the whole thing with the mermaids falling apart because Anais is a terrible leader, humans (like, government humans) discovering the existence of mermaids, Luce struggling with the decision to be the queen everyone believes her to be, and the thing with the person on the island (I should probably figure out how to use spoiler tags). At times it felt like there was a little imbalance to the story, but I think it also spoke about the all-consuming (and not in a healthy way) relationship Luce and Dorian shared.

Porter has this way with words that can make something seem beautiful that would most likely be silly otherwise. I mean, imagine an invisible mass of voices that can poke and prod. It sounds super weird, but Porter made it seem almost natural. And the way she describes the singing is fantastic. She makes it into something you can almost see and feel as well as hear. It's not too often I come across a book whose words I find beautiful, not just the story.

The Nutshell: Waking Storms really stood out to me in a sea of "meh" sequels. Before I started I was afraid the romance might ruin the story for me since the lack of romance was one of my favorite aspects of Lost Voices, but Porter handled it well. Luce doesn't completely turn into a stupid gooey-eyed girl. She's still brave and fierce and kind-hearted. The human population discovering the mermaids as well as Luce's own personal mind-blowing discovery were a complete surprise and I'm really looking forward to seeing where Porter takes it all in the final book.

Hit (erring on the side of Direct Hit because I'm indecisive like that.)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Jasmine Reviewed by Jasmine June 16, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (326)

Waking Storms review

Finally, a sequel that didn't disappoint!

I've been having some serious issues with sequels lately, so I'm really happy to say that I enjoyed Waking Storms nearly as much as Lost Voices. Luce is still a strong, fierce character, though she does get distracted by a boy for a while...

I actually kind of liked Dorian and Luce's relationship. Not in the way that I was really pulling for them (I mean, it's nice if they stay together, but I'm not broken up over it if they don't), though. More in the sense that it was a rather toxic relationship, but it wasn't pretending not to be. Of course, they couldn't really see past their love for each other, but they would occasionally acknowledge the fact that what they had wasn't normal and had many reasons not to work out. At times, yes, I was rolling my eyes and berating Luce (and Dorian) for being so naive, but everyone's naive at some point, right? I actually really, really like where Porter went with their relationship in the end (no spoilers.)

I also really liked that this wasn't a love story. Luce and Dorian's relationship was a main focus, but it wasn't the only focus. There was the whole thing with the mermaids falling apart because Anais is a terrible leader, humans (like, government humans) discovering the existence of mermaids, Luce struggling with the decision to be the queen everyone believes her to be, and the thing with the person on the island (I should probably figure out how to use spoiler tags). At times it felt like there was a little imbalance to the story, but I think it also spoke about the all-consuming (and not in a healthy way) relationship Luce and Dorian shared.

Porter has this way with words that can make something seem beautiful that would most likely be silly otherwise. I mean, imagine an invisible mass of voices that can poke and prod. It sounds super weird, but Porter made it seem almost natural. And the way she describes the singing is fantastic. She makes it into something you can almost see and feel as well as hear. It's not too often I come across a book whose words I find beautiful, not just the story.

The Nutshell: Waking Storms really stood out to me in a sea of "meh" sequels. Before I started I was afraid the romance might ruin the story for me since the lack of romance was one of my favorite aspects of Lost Voices, but Porter handled it well. Luce doesn't completely turn into a stupid gooey-eyed girl. She's still brave and fierce and kind-hearted. The human population discovering the mermaids as well as Luce's own personal mind-blowing discovery were a complete surprise and I'm really looking forward to seeing where Porter takes it all in the final book.

Hit (erring on the side of Direct Hit because I'm indecisive like that.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)