Books Young Adult Fiction Waking Storms (The Lost Voices Trilogy #2)

Waking Storms (The Lost Voices Trilogy #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ee/04/95/_waking-storms-1362953303.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
226   0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 03, 2012
ISBN
978-0547482514
Buy This Book
      
After parting ways with her troubled mermaid tribe, Luce just wants to live peacefully on her own. But her tranquility doesn’t last long: she receives news that the tribe is on the verge of collapse and desperately needs her leadership. The tribe’s cruel queen wants Luce dead. Dorian, the boy Luce broke mermaid law to save, is determined to make her pay for her part in the murder of his family. And while the mermaids cling to the idea that humans never suspect their existence, there are suddenly ominous signs to the contrary.

But when Luce and Dorian meet, they start to wonder if love can overpower the hatred they know they should feel for each other. Can Luce fulfill her rightful role as queen of the mermaids without sacrificing her forbidden romance with Dorian?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Finally, a sequel that didn't disappoint!

I've been having some serious issues with sequels lately, so I'm really happy to say that I enjoyed Waking Storms nearly as much as Lost Voices. Luce is still a strong, fierce character, though she does get distracted by a boy for a while...

I actually kind of liked Dorian and Luce's relationship. Not in the way that I was really pulling for them (I mean, it's nice if they stay together, but I'm not broken up over it if they don't), though. More in the sense that it was a rather toxic relationship, but it wasn't pretending not to be. Of course, they couldn't really see past their love for each other, but they would occasionally acknowledge the fact that what they had wasn't normal and had many reasons not to work out. At times, yes, I was rolling my eyes and berating Luce (and Dorian) for being so naive, but everyone's naive at some point, right? I actually really, really like where Porter went with their relationship in the end (no spoilers.)

I also really liked that this wasn't a love story. Luce and Dorian's relationship was a main focus, but it wasn't the only focus. There was the whole thing with the mermaids falling apart because Anais is a terrible leader, humans (like, government humans) discovering the existence of mermaids, Luce struggling with the decision to be the queen everyone believes her to be, and the thing with the person on the island (I should probably figure out how to use spoiler tags). At times it felt like there was a little imbalance to the story, but I think it also spoke about the all-consuming (and not in a healthy way) relationship Luce and Dorian shared.

Porter has this way with words that can make something seem beautiful that would most likely be silly otherwise. I mean, imagine an invisible mass of voices that can poke and prod. It sounds super weird, but Porter made it seem almost natural. And the way she describes the singing is fantastic. She makes it into something you can almost see and feel as well as hear. It's not too often I come across a book whose words I find beautiful, not just the story.

The Nutshell: Waking Storms really stood out to me in a sea of "meh" sequels. Before I started I was afraid the romance might ruin the story for me since the lack of romance was one of my favorite aspects of Lost Voices, but Porter handled it well. Luce doesn't completely turn into a stupid gooey-eyed girl. She's still brave and fierce and kind-hearted. The human population discovering the mermaids as well as Luce's own personal mind-blowing discovery were a complete surprise and I'm really looking forward to seeing where Porter takes it all in the final book.

Hit (erring on the side of Direct Hit because I'm indecisive like that.)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Jasmine Reviewed by Jasmine June 16, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (327)

Waking Storms review

Finally, a sequel that didn't disappoint!

I've been having some serious issues with sequels lately, so I'm really happy to say that I enjoyed Waking Storms nearly as much as Lost Voices. Luce is still a strong, fierce character, though she does get distracted by a boy for a while...

I actually kind of liked Dorian and Luce's relationship. Not in the way that I was really pulling for them (I mean, it's nice if they stay together, but I'm not broken up over it if they don't), though. More in the sense that it was a rather toxic relationship, but it wasn't pretending not to be. Of course, they couldn't really see past their love for each other, but they would occasionally acknowledge the fact that what they had wasn't normal and had many reasons not to work out. At times, yes, I was rolling my eyes and berating Luce (and Dorian) for being so naive, but everyone's naive at some point, right? I actually really, really like where Porter went with their relationship in the end (no spoilers.)

I also really liked that this wasn't a love story. Luce and Dorian's relationship was a main focus, but it wasn't the only focus. There was the whole thing with the mermaids falling apart because Anais is a terrible leader, humans (like, government humans) discovering the existence of mermaids, Luce struggling with the decision to be the queen everyone believes her to be, and the thing with the person on the island (I should probably figure out how to use spoiler tags). At times it felt like there was a little imbalance to the story, but I think it also spoke about the all-consuming (and not in a healthy way) relationship Luce and Dorian shared.

Porter has this way with words that can make something seem beautiful that would most likely be silly otherwise. I mean, imagine an invisible mass of voices that can poke and prod. It sounds super weird, but Porter made it seem almost natural. And the way she describes the singing is fantastic. She makes it into something you can almost see and feel as well as hear. It's not too often I come across a book whose words I find beautiful, not just the story.

The Nutshell: Waking Storms really stood out to me in a sea of "meh" sequels. Before I started I was afraid the romance might ruin the story for me since the lack of romance was one of my favorite aspects of Lost Voices, but Porter handled it well. Luce doesn't completely turn into a stupid gooey-eyed girl. She's still brave and fierce and kind-hearted. The human population discovering the mermaids as well as Luce's own personal mind-blowing discovery were a complete surprise and I'm really looking forward to seeing where Porter takes it all in the final book.

Hit (erring on the side of Direct Hit because I'm indecisive like that.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)