Bubble World

 
0.0
 
1.7 (1)
548   0
Write Review
Bubble World
Author(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
July 30, 2013
ISBN
978-0805095715
Buy This Book
      
Freesia’s life is perfect. She lives on the beautiful tropical island of Agalinas, surrounded by idyllic weather, fancy dress shops, and peacocks who sing her favorite song to wake her up in the morning. She has so many outfits she could wear a different one every day for a year and not run out.

Lately things on the island may have been a bit flippy: sudden blackouts, students disappearing, even Freesia’s reflection looking slightly . . . off. But in Freesia’s experience, it’s better not to think about things like that too much.

Unfortunately for her, these signs are more than random blips in the universe. Freesia’s perfect bubble is about to pop.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
1.7
Plot 
 
2.0  (1)
Characters 
 
1.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
2.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0

Horrible waste of my time

Stinkerific. The end.


Ok, I'll explain. This book managed to hit some of my bookish pet peeves, which ruined it for me. First off, I really get annoyed when books create words. I understand that sometimes this is needed to help create a setting (like in Scott Westerfield's series). Unfortunately, in Bubble World, instead of adding to the setting it just got annoying... and confused the mess out of me for a good portion of the book. For instance, what the H is "un-utter" supposed to be? Gah! And "scrummy"? You do not describe something that is supposed to be amazing as "scrummy". It looks too much like scummy; therefore, it's a terrible choice in made up words. If you're making crap up, at least make it make sense.


Pet peeve #2 that was breached: superficial characters. Not a single character in this book made an impact on me, except for maybe the 10 lines the English teacher had towards the end. Freesia/Francine is an idiot. Spending time in Bubble World just makes her more of one when she returns. I'm struggling to find something redeeming. Her family should be taken outside and tied to a tree and left to the elements. What a bunch of a-holes. I hated them all. Her dad might have been okay, but he wasn't around enough. Plus, he did everything the crazy mom wanted, which just made him seem spineless. Psycho mom was too much. She was horribly self-absorbed and all over the place. The phrase "sell out" comes to mind when thinking about her, which made her credibility plummet. Not that she had much/any to behind with. Then there is the sister- Angel. OMG. What a whiny brat. I would have slapped her. Several times.


Bad characters lead me to pet peeve #3: unanswered questions. There are so many things that were not resolved. For instance, what is up with Angel? Why does she keep saying no one likes her? A little explanation would be nice. Then there are the old friends/enemies of Freesia/Francine. Erin's role I understand, but what's the deal with the other girl? Why is Angel connected to this chick? I'd like that explained. This book also needs more back story for why the parents were okay with hooking their brilliant child up to a tube for 3 years without ever really following up. Even for a dystopian type book, that is not believable.


I could keep ranting, but I'm not finding this book very "de-vicious" (yeah, another stupid slang word). It's irking me to think about it. I do not recommend reading this book. In fact, you should probably go scrub your toilets or give the cat a bath instead of reading it. At the very least, get it from the library when you have nothing else to read. Do not waste your money on it.


** I'm sorry this sounds so harsh, but I was seriously let down with this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

61tbP2jpoXL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
When a glamorous family of teenage witches brings a mysterious...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51W7EOxIV9L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Exo
It’s been a century of peace since Earth became a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Lion Inside
From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Scotland is in my blood... All sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)