Taste Test

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/fb/7b/d2/_taste-1362944287.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.0 (1)
267   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 27, 2013
ISBN
978-0802728388
Buy This Book
      
If you can grill it, smoke it, or fry it, Nora Henderson knows all about it. Her father owns one of North Carolina’s most successful barbeque joints and she’s been shredding pork and basting baby back ribs since she could reach the counter. When Taste Test, a reality cooking show for teens, accepts her for their fifth season, it’s a chance for Nora to get out of her humble hometown and break into the big leagues of the culinary world.

When she shows up on set at the North American Culinary Academy, however, it’s not just the New England weather that’s ice cold. Fights with her high-society roommate and run-ins with the son of a famous chef force Nora to work even harder to prove she’s a force to be reckoned with. But, despite winning challenges and falling for a fellow contestant, Nora can’t ignore the mysterious accidents that are plaguing the kitchen arena. It seems like someone is conducting eliminations of their own and Nora’s determined to get to the bottom of the mystery before she, or anyone else, is “chopped” for good.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Originally posted at my blog (Take Me Away...) so the format has been lost.

I'm one of those people that will search for something on television and settle on one of three things: Re-runs of Criminal Minds, re-runs of Bones, and anything on The Food Network. Those things I will ALWAYS watch. That's exactly how I feel about this book. Not trying to say that its my last resort, but just saying that it made me feel comfortable.
With that being said, I fell right into the storyline. I was swept away by the competition and the characters. From the very beginning I knew who was going to be the love interest and who was going to be the "mean girl" and who was going to be the friend. What I wasn't expecting, was the mystery that popped up. But when it did, I began to see what was going on and who it dealt with. But, it was far more than I was expecting. Way more than I expected. I had let myself get too comfortable and missed it entirely. That's the kind of mystery I like.
One thing I did not like about this book was the characters. Nora definitely jumped on my last nerve a couple of times. Like when she went back and forth between liking him and not. This frustrated me because normal girls go through that, but at the same time, not to that caliber. It doesn't turn off and on everyday. I don't know, maybe it was just the competition, but it annoyed me. Then there was the fact that all she thought about was him. Like in the arena, outside the arena, just everywhere. I would much rather have heard more about Prescott and Joy vs hearing more of her thoughts about him.
I also loved that they put the recipes in the back of the book. That spicy casserole will definitely be one that I introduce to the boyfriend. I just wish that they had added them all. I would have loved to have that Lobster Roll one too. I'm from the South but would love to have a taste of the East Coast!
This book really surprised me. I honestly wasn't expecting to like it as much as I did. There were some minor hiccups, but overall it was a good, humorous debut. I look forward to reading more books by Fiore!
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Nikki H Reviewed by Nikki H August 20, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (99)

Taste Test by Kelly Fiore

Originally posted at my blog (Take Me Away...) so the format has been lost.

I'm one of those people that will search for something on television and settle on one of three things: Re-runs of Criminal Minds, re-runs of Bones, and anything on The Food Network. Those things I will ALWAYS watch. That's exactly how I feel about this book. Not trying to say that its my last resort, but just saying that it made me feel comfortable.
With that being said, I fell right into the storyline. I was swept away by the competition and the characters. From the very beginning I knew who was going to be the love interest and who was going to be the "mean girl" and who was going to be the friend. What I wasn't expecting, was the mystery that popped up. But when it did, I began to see what was going on and who it dealt with. But, it was far more than I was expecting. Way more than I expected. I had let myself get too comfortable and missed it entirely. That's the kind of mystery I like.
One thing I did not like about this book was the characters. Nora definitely jumped on my last nerve a couple of times. Like when she went back and forth between liking him and not. This frustrated me because normal girls go through that, but at the same time, not to that caliber. It doesn't turn off and on everyday. I don't know, maybe it was just the competition, but it annoyed me. Then there was the fact that all she thought about was him. Like in the arena, outside the arena, just everywhere. I would much rather have heard more about Prescott and Joy vs hearing more of her thoughts about him.
I also loved that they put the recipes in the back of the book. That spicy casserole will definitely be one that I introduce to the boyfriend. I just wish that they had added them all. I would have loved to have that Lobster Roll one too. I'm from the South but would love to have a taste of the East Coast!
This book really surprised me. I honestly wasn't expecting to like it as much as I did. There were some minor hiccups, but overall it was a good, humorous debut. I look forward to reading more books by Fiore!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)