Flowers in the Sky Featured

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
860   1
Write Review
Flowers in the Sky
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
March 05, 2013
ISBN
0060297948
Buy This Book
      
Just about everyone from my country, República Dominicana, dreams of moving to New York City, except for me. On the flight to New York, my first time on a plane, my first time away from Mami, I was finally free to cry. But nothing came out. I watched as the green mountains of my beloved island slipped away far below.

Fifteen-year-old Nina Perez is faced with a future she never expected. She must leave her Garden of Eden, her lush island home in Samana, Dominican Republic, when she's sent by her mother to live with her brother, Darrio, in New York, to seek out a better life. As Nina searches for some glimpse of familiarity amid the urban and jarring world of Washington Heights, she learns to uncover her own strength and independence. She finds a way to grow, just like the orchids that blossom on her fire escape. And as she is confronted by ugly secrets about her brother's business, she comes to understand the realities of life in this new place. But then she meets him—that tall, green-eyed boy—one that she can't erase from her thoughts, who just might help her learn to see beauty in spite of tragedy.

From the acclaimed author of The Color of my Words comes a powerful story of a girl who must make her way in a new world and find her place within it.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Insightful and Compelling

What I Loved:

FLOWERS IN THE SKY isn't the kind of book I'd usually be drawn to, but I'm so glad I read it. I loved so many things about it. First of all, the setting (both the seaside town of Samana in the Dominican Republic and the neighborhood of Washington Heights in New York City) come to vivid life on the page. I now have a burning desire to visit Samana myself just to see the artists lined up on the boardwalk by the sea. Ms. Joseph weaves gorgeous sensory details all throughout her narrative which serve to bring the reader fully into the world of the story.

The characters each feel unique and fully fleshed-out as well. Readers will immediately connect with Nina and her struggle with finding a new way to be herself after being transplanted from everything she's ever known and loved. Ms. Joseph also does a masterful job of exploring the excitement and confusion of first love as well as the painfully gained wisdom of learning to see one's family members for who they really are instead of who we've built them up to be. Nina's journey from flower girl in Samana to emerging young woman in Washington Heights is compelling and feels absolutely authentic.

The story itself is written in clean prose and is an easy, fast read. The few mentions of more mature content (drug dealers, theft) are brushed over quickly with no violence or glorification of crime. This is a story that both mature YA readers and younger readers just approaching the YA genre could both enjoy.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Because Nina is our narrator, we're left to learn the pieces of the story (and the mystery surrounding her brother and the boy she's starting to love) in bits and pieces as she learns it. This didn't bother me, but there were times when I was frustrated that Nina never came out and just asked her brother or Luis for the truth. However, I think a lot of that reluctance had to do with the culture Nina was raised in, and that would make for an excellent discussion question in a reading group or classroom setting.

Final Verdict:

FLOWERS IN THE SKY is a compelling story full of beauty, heartbreak, and flashes of wisdom. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)