Darius & Twig Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
987   0
Write Review
Darius & Twig
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 23, 2013
ISBN
978-0061728235
Buy This Book
      

New York Times bestselling author and Printz Award winner Walter Dean Myers once again connects with teenagers everywhere in Darius & Twig, a novel about friendship and needing to live your own dream.

Darius and Twig are an unlikely pair: Darius is a writer whose only escape is his alter ego, a peregrine falcon named Fury, and Twig is a middle-distance runner striving for athletic success. But they are drawn together in the struggle to overcome the obstacles that Harlem life throws at them. The two friends must face down bullies, an abusive uncle, and the idea that they’ll be stuck in the same place forever in this touching and raw new teen novel from Walter Dean Myers, award-winning author of "Monster," "Kick," "We Are America," "Bad Boy," and many other celebrated literary works for children and teens.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Made Me Want to Look Outside My Own Bubble

It is so easy for us to get stuck inside our personal little bubbles. I rarely ever escape outside of my Los Angeles world, going to the same restaurants and hanging out at the same spots over and over. Reading Walter Dean Myers’s “Darius & Twig” reminded me how important it is to think about worlds outside of my own, even if it is just through a book.

“Darius & Twig” focuses on two boys (you guessed it, Darius and Twig) who live in Harlem. They live in a neighborhood that sees a lot of violence, and they are surrounded by people who don’t want them to succeed. Darius has a lot of skill as a writer, Twig is a long distance running champ, and they both want nothing more than to show not only the world, but themselves, that they aren’t the Harlem stereotype of gun-wielding thugs.

Myers shows through Darius’s inner thoughts and his dialogue with Twig just how strongly stereotypes can affect us. Even though Darius and Twig both know they have gifts within themselves to not become what America expects them to be, they both have seeds of doubt that make them wonder if they really have potential to succeed.

Experiencing these seeds of doubt through Darius and Twig made me realize how quickly I can be to judge people and places outside of my own Los Angeles bubble. When I think of Harlem, I don’t think of brilliant boys such as Darius and Twig, but of the crime that is so often highlighted in media. This judgment only compounds onto the doubt that kids reminiscent of Darius and Twig experience in real life. This book has helped me understand that America as a whole needs to support all of our communities by looking past stereotypes and supporting success regardless of what media tell us people from a certain area are like. From the gun-wielding thug stereotype of Harlem to the country hick stereotype of the South, it’s time we all start helping each other reach our potential as opposed to keep each other down.

Good Points
Negates stereotypes of the Harlem community.
Offers two teenage boy characters for male readers to relate to without alienating female readers.
Moments where you can't help but whoop out loud as you cheer on protagonists.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)