Books Young Adult Fiction Prisoner B-3087

Prisoner B-3087 Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/a1/ee/f1/14772_prisoner-2-1361818580.jpg
 
4.2 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
885   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
March 01, 2013
ISBN
054545901X
Buy This Book
      
Survive. At any cost.

10 concentration camps.

10 different places where you are starved, tortured, and worked mercilessly.

It's something no one could imagine surviving.

But it is what Yanek Gruener has to face.

As a Jewish boy in 1930s Poland, Yanek is at the mercy of the Nazis who have taken over. Everything he has, and everyone he loves, have been snatched brutally from him. And then Yanek himself is taken prisoner -- his arm tattooed with the words PRISONER B-3087.

He is forced from one nightmarish concentration camp to another, as World War II rages all around him. He encounters evil he could have never imagined, but also sees surprising glimpses of hope amid the horror. He just barely escapes death, only to confront it again seconds later.

Can Yanek make it through the terror without losing his hope, his will -- and, most of all, his sense of who he really is inside?

Based on an astonishing true story.

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.2
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)

Yanek's family is living in Krakow when the Germans invade. They, like most other people, thought that the Germans would be quickly turned away. When neighbors start being taken from their building, the entire family moves to a pigeon coop on the roof, where they manage to evade the Nazis, but not for long. Eventually, Yanek's entire family is taken away, and he is taken to ten concentraion camps over a six year period, when he is between the ages of 10 and 16. For a while, he is in a camp with an uncle, but he is soon killed. The uncle had cautioned him to take care of himself first so that he could survive, and Yanek takes this to heart. He works hard, keeps his head low, and survives evil kapos, starvation, death marches, working in the salt mines, and ten camps, including Aushwitz, Birkenau and Dachau. When the Americans finally liberate the camps, he finds a cousin who has survives and applies to go to
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Excellent Holocaust Story

Yanek's family is living in Krakow when the Germans invade. They, like most other people, thought that the Germans would be quickly turned away. When neighbors start being taken from their building, the entire family moves to a pigeon coop on the roof, where they manage to evade the Nazis, but not for long. Eventually, Yanek's entire family is taken away, and he is taken to ten concentraion camps over a six year period, when he is between the ages of 10 and 16. For a while, he is in a camp with an uncle, but he is soon killed. The uncle had cautioned him to take care of himself first so that he could survive, and Yanek takes this to heart. He works hard, keeps his head low, and survives evil kapos, starvation, death marches, working in the salt mines, and ten camps, including Aushwitz, Birkenau and Dachau. When the Americans finally liberate the camps, he finds a cousin who has survives and applies to go to

Was this review helpful to you? 
"If I had known what the next six years of my life would have been like, I would have eaten more." Yanek's, the narrator of Prisoner B-3087, words reverberate throughout the novel.

Prisoner B-3087 is a realistic description of life and death for the Jewish people during the Holocaust. It is based, to a certain degree, on the true story of Jack Gruener, though it is a novelization. It is historical fiction set in Poland 1939-1945.

While being realistic enough to impress the horrors of the young Yanek's ordeal, it isn't too graphic that it would be unsuitable for upper middle school and high school students.

Yanek is only 10 years old when Hitler's armies begin to invade Europe. He is kind -hearted and optimistic. His matter of fact narration allows the reader to experience his emotions without getting too caught up in tons of description. The simple account of the deplorable treatment of the Jewish people allows readers to get to the heart of the story.

Yeanke's survival through so many different camps is amazing and makes this book different from other Holocaust survivers' stories. The descriptions of each camp allows readers to see the vast network the Nazi Party created and how each camp and prisoner sometime had different experiences. Yanek's never ending fight to survive each camp urges the reader to keep turning the page. Readers will not want to put this book down.

Prisoner B 3087 does not go into the graphic depth describing the horrors of the camp, nor does it address many other key points about the time period. To some this may leave a feeling that the story is lacking. However this overall look at one man's fight for survival allows readers to question humanity and history. This will hopefully lead readers to fin other books and do research on their own. Overall a great read for middle school, high school and history buffs. A truly compelling read.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Joanne, Editor Reviewed by Joanne, Editor February 28, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (99)

Terrifyingly Account of the Horrors of the Holocaust

"If I had known what the next six years of my life would have been like, I would have eaten more." Yanek's, the narrator of Prisoner B-3087, words reverberate throughout the novel.

Prisoner B-3087 is a realistic description of life and death for the Jewish people during the Holocaust. It is based, to a certain degree, on the true story of Jack Gruener, though it is a novelization. It is historical fiction set in Poland 1939-1945.

While being realistic enough to impress the horrors of the young Yanek's ordeal, it isn't too graphic that it would be unsuitable for upper middle school and high school students.

Yanek is only 10 years old when Hitler's armies begin to invade Europe. He is kind -hearted and optimistic. His matter of fact narration allows the reader to experience his emotions without getting too caught up in tons of description. The simple account of the deplorable treatment of the Jewish people allows readers to get to the heart of the story.

Yeanke's survival through so many different camps is amazing and makes this book different from other Holocaust survivers' stories. The descriptions of each camp allows readers to see the vast network the Nazi Party created and how each camp and prisoner sometime had different experiences. Yanek's never ending fight to survive each camp urges the reader to keep turning the page. Readers will not want to put this book down.

Prisoner B 3087 does not go into the graphic depth describing the horrors of the camp, nor does it address many other key points about the time period. To some this may leave a feeling that the story is lacking. However this overall look at one man's fight for survival allows readers to question humanity and history. This will hopefully lead readers to fin other books and do research on their own. Overall a great read for middle school, high school and history buffs. A truly compelling read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)