Rise (Eve Trilogy #3)

Rise (Eve Trilogy #3) Featured

 
3.7
 
3.3 (1)
1225   1
Write Review
Rise (Eve Trilogy #3)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 02, 2013
ISBN
978-0062048578
Buy This Book
      

How far will you go when you have nothing left to lose?

When she lost her soul mate, Caleb, Eve felt like her world had ended. Trapped in the palace, forced to play the part of the happy, patriotic princess of The New America—and the blushing bride of her father's top adviser—Eve's whole life is a lie. The only thing that keeps her going is Caleb's memory, and the revolution he started. Now, Eve is taking over where Caleb left off. With the help of Moss, an undercover subversive in the King's court, she plots to take down The New America, beginning with the capital, the City of Sand. Will Eve be able to bring about a new, free world when she's called upon to perform the ultimate act of rebellion—killing her father? In Rise, Eve must choose who to leave behind, who to save, and who to fight as Anna Carey's epic tale of romance and sacrifice in the chilling dystopia of The New America comes to a stunning conclusion.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: February 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

I don't want this to be the end.

Thank you YABC and Harper Teen for this ARC.

Let me just say, that this review is incredibly difficult to write without been spoilerish but I will do my best.

What I loved: Rise picks up where Once leaves off and the action, suspense and adventure are virtually non-stop. Carey's prose is beautiful, her dystopian New America engulfing, and the characters engaging. If you've followed this series you'll most likely find yourself turning the pages with your heart in your throat as you wait to find out if the gut-wrenching cliffhanger Once left us with is true or not. All I'll say about that is that yes, it does get answered, however, it may not be what you are expecting.

What left me wanting: I had two specific theories going into Rise and I was right on both accounts but that's where things got frustrating because I waited 308 pages...and then, it ended. IT.ENDED. I know this is ultimately Eve's story but Caleb played such an important role in the first two books and the ending of this left me feeling short-changed. *cries*

Final verdict: This needed an epilogue.

Good Points
This is my favorite cover of the three. Beautiful colors!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

A Disappointing Ending

Rise by Anna Carey
ARC received from Harper Teen
Release Date: 4-2-2013
Reviewed by: Middle Sis Jenn
The Sisters Say: Sadly, a great story with a very disappointing ending

Okay….so I’m not even sure where to start with this one. I loved Eve and Once and read them both in one sitting (and back to back). After that horrible cliffhanger in Once, I ran straight to my copy of Rise hoping that all would be revealed and explained. Unfortunately, I was extremely disappointed in the revelations that awaited me in this book. While there was plenty of action and the story was still interesting, it was missing the flare and passion that books 1 and 2 had, and once I was done, I was left in a bitter mood.

Prepare yourself for sadness—I’ll start there. There is heartbreak after heartbreak, loss after loss in this one. This is realistic, but it got to the point where I was wondering what horrible thing is going to happen next? It’s really hard for me to review this one because I don’t want to spoil it, but it’s the spoilers that really disappointed me!

One of the things that really bugged me is that most of the characters we knew and had developed a love for were gone. We had to get to know all new characters, and unfortunately, the love for them just wasn’t there like it was for others. I mean, characters like Arden—show up or are mentioned maybe once or twice while we get to know an entirely new set of girls. I just wasn’t a fan of this, and I wanted Anna to bring back the people that we had watched bleed and care for each other.

I also hated the lack of romance—I understand there is a war going on and there is little time for love, but romance is my favorite part of a book. I like my romance with a side of dystopian, and not the other way around. So, I was frustrated through most of the book because the passion and love were gone, replaced by hatred, fear, and hopelessness.

I will say I was impressed by how much Eve had grown up in this one. No more (extremely) rash decisions. She was entirely focused on survival and saving as many people as she can. She was strong and endearing in her fortitude, and I found myself really admiring her strength. She was placed in the hardest of circumstances, and she didn’t give up. She pushed forward, no matter the pain, and didn’t look back. I was definitely rooting for her the entire way through!
There is a ton of action in this book, and I never did get bored with it. Like I said before, I was more just upset and frustrated with things I can’t name (because of the spoilers). I think some people will like the brokenness of the characters and the revelations, but I think most people will reaction like myself, not feeling satisfied with this final book.

Finally, the things that threw me the most—the ending. I was not a fan. So many important things were left unresolved—who survived, who died, who was punished for their crimes—much of it was just left out in the air. This would be acceptable if there were another book in the series, but there isn’t! So, instead I’m left with an unresolved feeling. The story needed an epilogue, badly; and once you read the ending, you’ll understand why. The final page just kind of hits you in the face, “Wham!” and then its over with no other explanation. There are no words for it…I hate to say this because I loved the first two books, but this one just fell down like 20 flights of stairs, got up, and then fell down 20 more.

I read all 3 of these books in 3 days, and I was all excited to recommend the entire series to my friends—until the ending. Hopefully things will be changed a bit in the final book so that maybe I’ll rethink recommending it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

61tbP2jpoXL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
When a glamorous family of teenage witches brings a mysterious...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51W7EOxIV9L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Exo
It’s been a century of peace since Earth became a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Lion Inside
From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Scotland is in my blood... All sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)