The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
1370   1
Write Review
The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 21, 2013
ISBN
0670012750
Buy This Book
      
That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.

Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.

But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.

This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Engaging

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

  

  

   

   

  

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Wildman
Lance Hendricks is homeward bound, four hundred highway miles from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Coloring Book of Cards and Envelopes
Get creative with this innovative coloring book full of beautifully...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
If I Were a Kangaroo
If I were a kangaroo, I'd pick...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
About Reptiles: A Guide for Children
A colorful and informative first glimpse into the diverse world...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Grimelda and the Spooktacular Pet Show
From author Diana Murray and illustrator Heather Ross, of Grimelda:...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blacksouls
Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I Love My Mommy
Sometimes mommies are funny and playful. Other times they are...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I love My Daddy
Sometimes daddies are loud and playful. Other times they are...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Takedown
Kyla Cheng doesn't expect you to like her. For...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Happily Ever After  (Cinder & Ella #2)
“Like it or not, Brian, the moment you gave...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blues Harp Green
The second Francie met Chet, her poetic memory danced....
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheShip.jpg
London is burning and Lalla has one hope for...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Other Breakable Things
According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
16 Ways to Break A Heart
Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart, sexy,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Earth to Skye
Buy direct from the publisher ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hubert in Heaven: A hi-tech angel gets his wings
A hologram in a video game, Hubert is accidentally transported...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)