Books Young Adult Fiction The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f1/14/56/_000-1361543726.jpeg
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
520   1
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 21, 2013
ISBN
0670012750
Buy This Book
      
That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.

Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.

But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.

This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor February 22, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (378)

Engaging

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Big baking plans turn into tiny little cupcakes when Mia gets a fairy’s help for her neighborhood bake sale. Tinker...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
College was supposed to be perfect. She was supposed to be perfect. For Lily Drummond, life is about following...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For fans of The Guild and Scott Pilgrim comes a story of Xbox, Denny’s, and awkward beginnings… Not too...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
You're Stormy Jones, a pregnant 17-year-old punk rock chick with "sky eyes" and a pink tipped blond Mohawk with spear...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NEWNokosee Front CoverMorePix.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Cultures clash, sparks fly, love blooms, people die, and two kids, one a little bit punk and the other way...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Rayne is bored with life, until a new family moves in next door. Why do they look so happy? Rayne...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
James Patterson introduces the best selling "illustrated fiction" format to teens! It's "Middle School" for high schoolers! In James Patterson's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everlong Cover 2 Amazonprint.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
When love is a matter of life and death, it's not about losing your heart, but saving it. On...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has high hopes that the new year will bring a fresh start for her and her best friend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has got it made -- a supportive, loving family, a cause she believes in, and her new boyfriend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alan Rivers wakes up one morning and discovers all the adults in his neighborhood and worldwide are in a deep...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a plane crashes in the woods near Jess’s home, the boy of her dreams falls out of the sky—literally....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Experience the wonder of the river in this haunting debut novel, where family is lost, friends are found, and hope...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Post tornado, the Soccer Tommies and Baseball Mommies compete for home field advantage. Is it ‘Win-Win’ or, will the community...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, sixteen-year-old Jamie Henry breathed a sigh of relief when a judge sentenced his older sister to juvenile...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Like watching a movie frame by frame, we watch Lexi is come unglued in this novel in verse. She's alienated...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of Reader's Favorite 5-Star Seal Reader’s Favorite reviewer Patricia Reding says it best: “Just sixteen, pregnant, betrayed by boyfriend...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Night with the Prince
The rules were simple:. 15 girls were chosen from royal bloodlines to be with the Prince. They are given one...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
live performance by YA author
Category: Young Adult Indie
Love can make you do crazy things as Ruby Parker discovers when she dies and returns from the grave to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Its king murdered in cold blood by friend and foe alike, the once magnificent kingdom of Arenhed has fallen to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)