The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door Featured

 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
1266   1
Write Review
The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 21, 2013
ISBN
0670012750
Buy This Book
      
That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.

Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.

But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.

This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Engaging

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

Ronit and Jamil
Pamela L. Laskin’s beautiful and lyrical novel in verse delivers...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Carve The Mark
On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Poison's Kiss, Final Cover final.jpg
Marinda has kissed dozens of boys. They all die...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Demigods and Monsters
Can Apollo’s curse be broken? Hope Nicholas is done...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Knew It Was You (Strange Truth, #1)
Twin Peaks meets Pretty Little Liars in acclaimed author...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freeks
Welcome to Gideon Davorin’s Traveling Sideshow, where necromancy, magical...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Odds of Lightning
A bolt of lightning inspires an incredible journey in...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hell & High Water
Mystery turns to mortal danger as one young man s...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
9780991371501.front.cov.ebook.jpg
14-year-old Andi Gazek, a lifelong car nut, mini-MacGyver, and expert...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
By Your Side
In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Frostblood
The Frost King will burn. Seventeen-year-old Ruby...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
This is a Serious Book
This is a very serious book. Nothing silly is allowed....
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Hidden Memory of Objects
The Hidden Memory of Objects is a highly original and...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ryder trudges apprehensively through the door, the same life-changing door...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
16-year-old Aurora Darlington is an orphan. Mistreated by her adopted...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl in...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)