The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door Featured

 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
1155   1
Write Review
The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 21, 2013
ISBN
0670012750
Buy This Book
      
That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.

Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.

But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.

This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Engaging

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She Stood For Freedom
Joan Trumpauer Mulholland grew up in Virginia in the 1950s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Capers! (LEGO DC Super Heroes: Reader)
It's summer in Gotham City, and Batman treats Robin, Beast...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
And The Trees Crept In
A stunning, terrifying novel about a house the color of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A World Without You
Seventeen-year-old Bo has always had delusions that he can...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Rocks Fall Everyone Dies
Twin Peaks meets Stars Hollow in this paranormal suspense...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller where...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Mirror and the Mage
Fourteen-year old Lucius Junius Brutus yearns to join the...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
The Darkest Hour
Never underestimate a pretty face. My name is Lucie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
51wP-G8MtPL__SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Haunting photographs and dark family secrets make this second...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Age of Myth: Book One of The Legends of the First Empire
Michael J. Sullivan's trailblazing career began with the breakout...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Today, he’s a high school dropout with no future. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Nate: Doodlepalooza
This third Big Nate activity book—now in paperback—is jam-packed with...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Top Prospect
Travis Gardner lives to play quarterback. He's a standout QB...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)