The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door Featured

 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
1176   1
Write Review
The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 21, 2013
ISBN
0670012750
Buy This Book
      
That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.

Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.

But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.

This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Engaging

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

  

   

   

   

   

  

   

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
Travel to the colorful and chaotic streets of India from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreams
Moving on is the hardest thing she’ll ever have to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kook
A heart-pounding love story that grips like a riptide,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Beneath Wandering Stars
After her soldier brother is horribly wounded in Afghanistan,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The One Left Behind: Magic
Many generations have passed since the Guardians crafted the world...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ferals
A sinister threat. A city in danger. A boy with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Black Cloak
“Never go into the deep parts of the forest, for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monstrous
The city of Bryre suffers under the magic of an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Thousandth Floor.jpg
New York City as you’ve never seen it before....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For This Life Only
A young man struggles to move forward after the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recoil
When a skilled gamer gets recruited as a sniper...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
An epic fantasy inspired by the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale, about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paddington Sets Sail
Paddington’s first trip to the beach is a day to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice: A Coloring Classic
Fall in love all over again with Jane Austen's Pride...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
AnnetteMarie_CTD.jpg
Piper Griffiths wants one thing in life: to become a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)