Books Young Adult Fiction The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f1/14/56/_000-1361543726.jpeg
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
541   1
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 21, 2013
ISBN
0670012750
Buy This Book
      
That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.

Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.

But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.

This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor February 22, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (392)

Engaging

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Mama Rabbit is too sick to leave her bed. Poor Mama! When Papa Rabbit leaves home to get her some...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
In this masterpiece about freedom, feminism, and destiny, Printz Honor author A.S. King tells the epic story of a girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Annith has watched her gifted sisters at the convent come and go, carrying out their dark dealings in the name...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After and Again
Category: Young Adult Indie
Centuries after a cataclysmic event drastically changed the world, fifteen-year-old Zack McQueen stumbles upon a cave filled with relics from...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
Category: Kids Fiction
This third book in the Alien in My Pocket series is the zaniest yet! Zack and Amp create a massive...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Connolly thought she'd left her human side behind when she dies five years ago and came back 178 minutes...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Category: Kids Fiction
With her birthday coming up, Jessica hopes that, just maybe, her present will be a real-live potbellied pig. Jessica can...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
An enchanting treasury of fairy lore! Around the corner, behind the bushes, and just out of sight...fairies have spent hundreds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
blue lily lily blue.jpg
There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up. Blue Sargent has found things. For...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Churchill the pig loses his precious tail, his friends help him hunt for a new one. But trying new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Three wishes go awry in a middle-grade debut as comical as it is spooky. Toxic Vapor Worms. Shark Hounds. King-Crab...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Peanut Butter and Jellyfish are best of friends and swim up, down, around, and through their ocean home. Crabby is...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
From talented illustrator Laura Bryant and gifted newcomer Aimee Reid comes a charming, heartwarming story about a little elephant's love...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
This kid-friendly book offers a first thoughtful glimpse into the world of birds: from eggs to nests, from song to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hooey Higgins and friends are back for another hilarious madcap adventure — this time, their dubious inventive skills are put...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gene. Sys. Book Cover
Category: Young Adult Indie
The world is supposed to end in about a year. For Atom, that means his quest is about to begin....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This novel-in-verse—at once literary and emotionally gripping—follows the unfolding friendship between two very different teenage girls who share a hospital...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day Human King Cover
Category: Young Adult Indie
After he inherited the power of the late sidhe king, Devin thought the battle to protect Nessa and proceed with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Core.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Are you brave enough to turn the page? Fight with Ava as she battles the blood-sucking shadows of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
How far would you go to save the one you love? Find Max. That's all Layla cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)