Books Young Adult Fiction The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f1/14/56/_000-1361543726.jpeg
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
551   1
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 21, 2013
ISBN
0670012750
Buy This Book
      
That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.

Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.

But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.

This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor February 22, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (392)

Engaging

What I Loved:

Celia is smart, well-read, and sometimes funny. She's also broken inside in ways I think any reader who's been bullied or who has lost the security of family or friendships can relate to. Despite the fact that Celia is rarely insightful or perceptive when it comes to the other characters in the book, her voice works as a strong, compelling narrator. I was interested in her outcome, and near the end of the book when we finally understand what happened to start her on this path of heartbreak and revenge, I felt totally connected to and invested in her.

Which brings me to my next point. The author handles the plot arc about bullying with a deft, authentic touch. Every instance felt absolutely familiar. It was like being back inside high school, trapped by cliques and a social hierarchy that refuses to give second chances. Readers will recognize themselves (either as the bully, the sidekick, or the outcast) in this book and hopefully find a way to begin thinking about a different outcome to their own situation.

Finally, I really loved Celia's poetry. This is where we truly see how her mind and heart work, and it is through her poetry that she has rare insight into other people rather than tunnel vision on her own difficult life.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I enjoyed Celia, the other characters fell flat for me. Most of the time the other students and the members of Celia's family were one-dimensional and easily dismissed. This may be because Celia was so caught up in her own personal misery that she failed to notice the kind of nuances that really flesh out a character. I especially wanted more from Drake, her new best friend. I was pleased that he wasn't stereotypical, but he spent most of the story obsessed with a self-help book, and unfortunately this turned a compelling character into a one-note tune that quickly got irritating. However, near the end of the story, Drake redeems himself and becomes the friend I'd hoped he'd be all along.

I also wanted a bit more closure at the end of the book. We tread water with Celia for a long time--living through mean girls at school and a broken family at home--and when she finally begins to move through it emotionally, the book ends. I felt like just when the emotional arc started to really matter, it was over. However, that doesn't take away from the fact that Celia's experiences feel very authentic, and that this book is one that will resonate with many readers.

Final Verdict:

A compelling narrator, concise prose, and an emotional journey that will resonate with many make THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR a story worth reading.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
The Men in the Trees centers around a teen mother, Meryl Panagos, who’s barely out of high school, living on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Michael completed the Path. What he found at the end turned everything he’d ever known about his life—and the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every little girl goes through her princess phase, whether she wants to be Snow White or Cinderella, Belle or Ariel....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
“Happy birthday, child. Careful not to shoot any grundwirgen.” Ever since she was a small girl, she has learned to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This quirky, narrative scrapbook gives readers a witty, honest look at what it means to be a teenager.Using mini-graphic novels,...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
In Bed Stuy, New York, a small misunderstanding can escalate into having a price on your head—even if you’re totally...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means...
 
3.3
 
3.7 (1)
From the author of Fault Line comes an edgy and heartbreaking novel about two self-destructive teens in a Sid and...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sammy Keyes has spent the last few years solving other people's mysteries; now her friends (and some foes) come together...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Charlie and Tommy have big plans for Halloween. They hope to get out of taking their little sisters around and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The reading scores at Ella Mentry School are way down, so Mr. Macky has decided to hire a special new...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A.J. and the gang from My Weird School star in this special series of after-school, holiday-themed chapter books featuring all-new...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Stanley is working at his garage today. From filling up Hattie's red sports car with gas to changing the tire...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Stanley's friend Myrtle buys a plot of land, she asks Stanley to build her a new house. He works...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Julie Kagawa's groundbreaking modern fantasy series, dragons walk among us in human form. Long ago, dragons were hunted to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
As the junior concierge at her father's posh hotel, thirteen-year-old Chloe escorts three troublemaking royals on their trip to New...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It's 1926, and the one thing eleven-year-old Lexie Lewis wants more than anything is to leave Portland, where she is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When an earthquake causes the deadly band of air that covers the post World War III Earth to begin to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1959 Virginia, the lives of two girls on opposite sides of the battle for civil...
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)