Cinders & Sapphires (At Somerton #1)

Cinders & Sapphires (At Somerton #1) Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1094   0
Write Review
Cinders & Sapphires (At Somerton #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 22, 2013
ISBN
1423171179
Buy This Book
      
One house, two worlds...

Rose Cliffe has never met a young lady like her new mistress. Clever, rich, and beautiful, Ada Averley treats Rose as an equal. And Rose could use a friend. Especially now that she, at barely sixteen, has risen to the position of ladies’ maid. Rose knows she should be grateful to have a place at a house like Somerton. Still, she can’t help but wonder what her life might have been had she been born a lady, like Ada.

For the first time in a decade, the Averleys have returned to Somerton, their majestic ancestral estate. But terrible scandal has followed Ada’s beloved father all the way from India. Now Ada finds herself torn between her own happiness and her family’s honor. Only she has the power to restore the Averley name—but it would mean giving up her one true love . . . someone she could never persuade her father to accept.

Sumptuous and enticing, the first novel in the At Somerton series introduces two worlds, utterly different yet entangled, where ruthless ambition, forbidden attraction, and unspoken dreams are hidden behind dutiful smiles and glittering jewels. All those secrets are waiting . . . at Somerton.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Sweeping Historical

What I Loved:

As an avid fan of Downton Abbey, I really enjoyed CINDERS & SAPPHIRES. The story swings from the privileged (but tension-filled) life of the Earl of Westlake's family to the difficult (and no less tension-filled) lives of the servants who take care of the family. The writing is clear and crisp and never gets in the way of the story itself. I thoroughly enjoyed the entire reading experience. The author has created a book that makes historical fiction feel accessible for younger YA readers or readers who are just trying out historical fiction.

The world-building is superb. I could see every scene, and I felt like I was living inside the world of Somerton (or London, depending). The story takes place in the difficult age of old social etiquette meeting new ideas of modernity (motor cars and women being educated) and that tension grows taut as the book progresses.

I enjoyed the characters, for the most part. I certainly found myself caught up in the narrative. I especially longed for Ada, the Earl's oldest daughter, to figure out a way to follow her dreams of being educated and her feelings for her first love without losing her family home or compromising her family's tenuous social position. While I didn't feel the all-consuming love for Ada or the other characters that I do when a book doesn't focus on such a large cast, I really loved the deft story-telling and sweeping plot.

What Left Me Wanting More:

As much as I love the way Downton Abbey skips from one character's narrative/storyline to another, I was less enamored of that approach while reading. The end result of seeing bits of the story through so many different eyes is that I never fully connected with any of the characters the way I wanted to. I'm sure that spending more time with the characters in future books in this series will remedy that, as I truly did enjoy the story as a whole.

Final Verdict:

Accomplished story-telling and superb world-building make this sweeping historical a welcome addition to the historical fiction genre.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)